Buy the LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode image
 
(based on 19 ratings)
Brand: LG Electronics
Located in: Audio Visual
LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 19 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Attractive(12), Easy to setup(13), Energy efficient(4), Good connection options(10), Good connections(3)
Best Uses:
Attached to computer(3), Bedroom(6), Gaming(5), Home(11), Home theater(9)
Describe Yourself:
Casual user(5), Enthusiast(8), Power user(4)
 
Almost perfect
By Lola323 from Dallas, TX on 6/29/2010
Cons:
Confusing / Bad Remote Control, Size
Best Uses:
Home Office
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

As my first HD TV, I think this is a pretty good buy. I thought the TV would be lighter/slimmer based on the LED claim in the product title.

Remote menu is a little confusing, but perhaps it takes some time to get use to. Overall, happy with this purchase.

 
Great TV for the money
By DaveVerified Reviewer from Minneapolis, MN on 5/26/2010
Pros:
All the connections options I could ever need, Energy Efficient, Great Picture Quality, Reduced Glare
Cons:
Poor Lip sync
Best Uses:
Attached to Computer, Home Theater, Movies
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

This is a great TV for watching movies (blu-Ray and DVD) and broadcast TV. It's also a fine monitor for HTPC use. I don't have a game system, so I can't comment on that.

Invest in a calibration disk (DVE or similar), and spend some time adjusting the many settings. You'll get a picture that rivals much more expensive TV's. It took some time, but OTA HDTV, Blue-ray and my HTPC are all set up and looking great.

On the minus side, the viewing angle "sweet spot" is narrower than some competitors. The TV can have lip sync issues in certain configurations. Also, the 240Hz motion processing (True Motion) is only so-so. This can be disabled, so I don't consider this a serious problem.

 
good picture, poor software
By bp-txVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 5/18/2010
Pros:
Outstanding picture clarity/resolution
Cons:
Confusing / Bad Remote Control
Best Uses:
Home, Home Theater
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

This TV has one of the best pictures out there for a LED TV, however, the intelligent sensor mode is rendered useless due to its poor color settings (unless you like everyone's skin to have a purplish hue). Also, the remote contol along with the on screen menu structure is far from being the best out there. I've seen remotes that are worse, but not many.

 
Awesome
By GirVerified Purchaser from Oregon on 5/10/2010
Pros:
All the connections options I could ever need, Energy Efficient, Good Remote Control, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound Quality, Outstanding picture clarity/resolution, Reduced Glare, Setup is as easy as it gets
Best Uses:
Attached to Computer, Bedroom, Home, Video Games
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

I finally upgraded from a CRT set. It was fully worth it to pay for this upgrade. The set is awesome, great picture, no motion blurs, looks good with low and hi def sources, energy efficient, great black quality, great colors. No complaints at all.

 
[...]
By wins75Verified Purchaser from fortlauderdale, fl on 5/9/2010
Pros:
Energy Efficient, Good Remote Control, Great Sound Quality
Cons:
Difficult To Set Up
Best Uses:
Bedroom
Describe Yourself:
Power User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

I actually was expenting more from these tv, and I did a lot of reserched online,[...] you have to know how to calibrate color and sound it's no bad for the price, product it's ok[...]

 
TV is perfect, [...]
By AndyVerified Reviewer from Austin, TX on 5/7/2010
Pros:
All the connections options I could ever need, Energy Efficient, Great Picture Quality, Outstanding picture clarity/resolution, Reduced Glare, Setup is as easy as it gets
Cons:
Poor Sound Quality
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Home, Movies
Describe Yourself:
Power User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

This TV is gorgeous. Viewing Planet Earth (BBC version) on Blu-Ray on this set looks fantastic after some adjustments to the settings. It really can display a stunning picture if the video source is a quality "High def" source. Gaming is so-so for me. I notice a very small amount of input lag, but this set handles that pretty well. Avatar looks ridiculous (good).[...]

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
So far so good....
By Worlds Tallest MidgetVerified Purchaser from Stow, OH on 3/1/2010
Pros:
Great Picture Quality, Great Sound Quality
Best Uses:
Home, Home Theater, Movies
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

I am getting my U-Verse conneected todaoy, so we will see how this TV stands up with an HD signal.

I bought it online because no local stores carried a 42", only the 47" and 55" which were too big for my room.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Incredible Performance for the Price
By theengineerVerified Purchaser from Sapawe Ontario on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Good Connection Options, Good Remote Control, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound Quality, Reduced Glare
Cons:
Stand Issues
Best Uses:
Home, Movies, Video Games, Wall Mounting
Describe Yourself:
Casual User

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

We live off the grid, so energy consumption was an issue. We are monitoring the energy consumption of the LED Backlit LG 90 and so far its been very reasonable, particularly compared to a regular LCD and a Plasma (which we've tried).

When looking at other LED Backlit LCD's we were turned off by price. Most units would have been about 40" and costing us around $1600. So this unit was a bargain.

There was a little hiccup when placing the TV on the stand, but aside from that the TV went together easily. Just be cautious about finger placement when guiding the TV onto the stand.

And the performance has been excellent. I am very pleased with this purchase. If you are looking for a blend of performance, price, and power consumption, this is ideal. Additionally, if you are confused about what to buy, and want to buy soon, this is a safe purchase.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply Simple !
By JohnLVerified Purchaser from Spring Lake NJ on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Bedroom
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

Best price from someone I have done business before ! This is an excellent TV and easier to set up than the 32" LG it replaced !

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Deal on amazing TV
By HegemonVerified Purchaser from Salt Lake City, UT on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality
Cons:
Poor Sound Quality
Describe Yourself:
Power User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

The full LED back light makes all the difference. The black level in movies are perfect, while the contrast ratio is out of this world. LG is ahead of the curve and this TV is better than any set you can buy for twice the price.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice!!!!
By JDVerified Purchaser from US on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Great Picture Quality
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

Great!!! I love this TV So far.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm happy with it
By EdVerified Purchaser from Bronx, Ny on 2/3/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Good Remote Control, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Home
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

The difference between this and previous regular television is incredible. The only problem is that I now watch more television than I did before, and I'm not sure whether that is a good thing or not.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great TV
By FloidsVerified Reviewer from Virginia on 2/2/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Home Theater, Movies
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

My wife and I are pleased with this purchase (from Adorama). [...] The picture is fantastic (though we're going from an old CRT) and this is our first trip into HDTV land. It's and easy set up and the menu is straight forward. It's well worth the price.

 
Excellent TV and Great Price
By kahunaVerified Reviewer from Fort lauderdale, FL on 1/16/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Good Remote Control, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound Quality, Reduced Glare
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Business, Home, Home Theater, Movies, Video Games, Wall Mounting
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

Now I know why it gets such high ratings.

 
Great LED at a great price!
By PMacVerified Purchaser from St. Paul, MN on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound Quality
Best Uses:
Home, Movies
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

Picture quality if fantastic and the sound is not bad. Well worth the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent buy...cant beat the price!
By sladdyVerified Reviewer from houston, tx on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality, Reduced Glare
Best Uses:
Home Theater, Movies, Video Games, Wall Mounting
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

my wife and i got this to replace our old tube HD screen and it is worth every penny. as most of the reviews that i read around the web had said, the picture quality is stellar. it's easy to setup and the overall picture quality is pretty good right out of the box. i'm going to do some tweaking to it but it's not terrible if you're a novice and don't feel like fooling around with any of the advanced options.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply Remarkable!
By BubbleflubberVerified Purchaser from Southwest VA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Good Remote Control, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound Quality, Reduced Glare
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Bedroom, Home, Home Theater, Movies, Video Games, Wall Mounting
Describe Yourself:
Power User
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

Honestly, this TV with its next generation LED local dimming and 100% COMPLETELY customizable picture settings is possibly the best, bar none, LED TV in its class. For Adorama's great price, it cannot be beaten. HDTV is superb with 720p/1080i broadcast signal, and BluRay is honestly so crystal clear that in many CGI movies, it's fun to actually SEE the green screen. No kidding, it's that delicate. When pushing true 1080p, you can walk directly up to the screen and not see one tiny bit of pixelation. LG's remote is super easy to use, the TV comes with many standard presets, and the availability to tweak any and everything regarding the picture. This is extremely helpful for non-HD programming, so that even standard definition material is excellent. The sound from the internal speakers is far better than any other in its class that I have tested. Tons of HDMI, Component, Composite, USB and PC hookups make for an almost endless amount of configurable home theater components. Another really nice thing to show off to your friends is the ability to pop in a USB stick to show off pictures, music AND videos... yep, comes with abilities to natively support Divx/Xvid and x264/h264 encoded videos in mpg, avi, divx, mov AND MKV file containers. Although the average user might not have a lot of use for this, power downloaders understand this means A HUGE reduction in video prep time, so you can indeed "Plug and Play" nearly anything you want. Firmware is upgradable via a factory USB stick, if you should ever need it. Superb LED TV!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome TV!!
By JeffVerified Purchaser from Colorado Springs, CO on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality, Great Sound Quality, Reduced Glare
Best Uses:
Home, Home Theater, Movies, Wall Mounting
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

TV was very easy to set up. Menus and options were easy to understand. The picture quality is excellent, and we were very surprised about the sound quality and loudness for TV speakers. This TV is perfect in every way except I wish it had an S-Video connection.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice TV for a very good price
By RJKVerified Reviewer from Madison, WI on 1/9/2010
Pros:
Attractive Design, Fast Setup, Good Connection Options, Good Resolution, Great Picture Quality, Reduced Glare
Cons:
Bezel glare
Best Uses:
Attached to Computer, Home, Home Theater, Wall Mounting
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about LG Electronics LG 42LH90 42" Full High Definition LED Backlit LCD TV with 1080p Resolution, TruMotion 240Hz Technology and Intelligent Sensor Mode:

Very reasonably price LED-backlit TV with many connections and options. We chose this for the matte finish screen, LED backlight and perfect size for our family room. We did not realize that the bezel was gloss plastic that reflects surroundings.

Overall, an excellent TV and very good value.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.