Buy the Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Bushnell
Located in: Binoculars & Telescopes
Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.4 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
67% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate(3), Great reception(3), Large screen(4), Simple controls(7)
Cons:
Loses signal(3), Unreliable(3)
Best Uses:
Hiking(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5)
How are you with directions:
Great w/directions(7)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Safety at a small price
By John 3Verified Purchaser from Cameron Park, CA on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Large Screen, Quick Navigation, Reliable Reception, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Backup navigation
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
How are you with directions:
Great w/Directions
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

I bought this as a backup navigation method for hikes. Should my compass fail or I lose my way, BackTrack it will point the way home. At the trail head I record my location with a press of a button, then turn it off and stow it in my pack.This is not suited as your primary navigation, but it does a good job pointing the way back.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellant gps for the money
By DocVerified Purchaser from Sewaren NJ on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Quick Signal, Reliable Reception, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Cycling, Hiking, In Car, Jogging
Describe Yourself:
Power User
How are you with directions:
Great w/Directions
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

Every day I. the woods.along the shore.Hiking Shopping Three locations make it a useful tool

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
ShopFox
By "Vetteman"Verified Purchaser from Franklin, Ohio on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Accurate
Best Uses:
Hiking
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
How are you with directions:
Great w/Directions
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

This does what it is designed to do, I have a rino with topo maps for serious wilderness in the Rockies, but for a hike in the state park or zoo this is great. I would recommend it based on this use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Junk, Don't bother with this
By MikeVerified Reviewer from Virginia on 7/13/2009
Cons:
Loses Signal, Unreliable
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
How are you with directions:
Great w/Directions
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

This thing is just junk. The compass is often 30 or more degrees off and the pointer which should point to the waypoint is generally 45 degees off. It jumps around so much it is unusuable. Save you money and get a better unit from a different manufacturer. Wish I had.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sorry we bought one of these.
By rebelVerified Reviewer from South Bend, IN on 7/12/2009
Pros:
Intuitive Menu, Large Screen, One Hand Control
Cons:
Buggy Software, Loses Signal, Unreliable
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
How are you with directions:
Great w/Directions
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

We bought this because of the good ratings on this site but we should've looked on the web first. The actual unit we received is buggy and will not reliably point to the stored destinations. It is incapable of leading a walker back home. The compass is just as unreliable. We tried to contact Bushnell for help and finally gave up. We should've checked on the web first for THAT too. I will never buy another another Bushnell product.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buying this was a big mistake.
By rebelVerified Purchaser from South Bend, IN on 7/8/2009
Pros:
Intuitive Menu, Large Screen, One Hand Control
Cons:
Buggy Software, Loses Signal, Unreliable
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
How are you with directions:
Great w/Directions
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

This was supposed to be an easy to use way for lost seniors to find their way back, and the Backtrack would be exactly what we needed if it worked reliably. It's easy to read and extremely simple to operate. The problem is that the directions it comes up with are completely unreliable because the poor quality receiver settles for even the most minimal satellite signals. The direction arrow swings wildly from moment to moment and rarely points in the true direction, sending the walker this way or that way or around in loops. Even sitting still, it has a hard time giving true directions. The included compass is just as unreliable. This product was a total waste of our time and money and trying to contact Bushnell about it soured us on buying any Bushnell products ever again.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use. Simple but effective.
By Howard the TruckerVerified Purchaser from Alpine, Arizona on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Large Screen, One Hand Control, Quick Navigation, Quick Signal, Reliable Reception
Best Uses:
Cycling, Geocaching, Hiking, In Car
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
How are you with directions:
Bad w/Directions
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

I will use it more often because it is simple. You do not have to scroll through complicated menus to find what you want.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Refreshingly straightforward and useful
By TucoVerified Purchaser from Phoenix on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Compact, Easy To Read, Easy To Set Up, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Adventure, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast
How are you with directions:
Great w/Directions
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

I previously owned a Garmin GPS and, aside from being too large and comparitively heavy, found it waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too complicated. The Garmin simply had too many buttons and screens to keep track of, and using it was a convoluted hassle. By contrast, the Backtrack is small and light, and contains no superfluous features of dubious merit.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tool for Outdoors a Must A Lifsavr
By Billy the HunterVerified Purchaser from Malakoff Texas on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Compact, Easy To Read, Easy To Set Up, Long Battery Life, Reliable Performance, Simple Controls, Strong Construction, Versatile
Best Uses:
Adventure, Boating, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Power User
How are you with directions:
Bad w/Directions
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Bushnell Bushnell Backtrack, Personal GPS Location Finder, English Version with Measurement in Yards, Color: Gray / Orange:

I hunt fish get lost in the woods on purpose this has been a great tool especially hunting in the upper in Michigan and in Texas Lakes and woods!!!Easy to use a toddler could not get lost with this tool.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.