Buy the Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A. image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Binoculars & Telescopes
Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Quality lenses(8), Strong construction(7), Works well with glasses(3)
Cons:
Heavy / bulky(3)
Best Uses:
Astronomy(4), Bird watching(7), Wildlife viewing(4)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(4), Birder(3), Casual/ recreational(5)
 
These are wonderful
By BiftonVerified Reviewer from Stillwater MN on 7/24/2010
Pros:
Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

These binoculars are really nice. It is amazing when you push the button and the IS system comes on. Everything gets very steady and easy to look at. Although they are expensive and a bit heavy, they are tremendous quality. I like the fact that the IS system stays on and you don't have to hold down the button.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nearly the all-around glass, except.....
By spyglassVerified Reviewer from OKC on 7/27/2009
Pros:
Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

Purchased in Apr 03....not one whit of trouble except eyecups....too stiff and eventually fatigued so cut them off level w/eyepiece...much better as I see better w/glasses on. Just enuf eye relief. Seldom use the IS (maybe for just 5-10 sec at a time) and find this to be the easiest hi-power bino to hold steady of any I've tried (to include the Swaro 15x and my Nikon 12x SE). I guess it's the shape, but with a thumbs-up grip, I can i.d. planes at 35k w/no trouble (not only which airline, but what kind and which model - A310 or A320, 737-700 or -800, etc). Optics near perfect but touchy focus and very stiff diopter and IPD adjustments (probably for water resistance). Use the IS very much you will use lotsa batteries....can't have everything, I guess. In short, they are definite keepers and the most versatile bino I have (I have 7 others). BUT....they're no good for warblers or the woods.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
All Weather? Canon 15X50 IS binoculars
By ridurall from SW Oklahoma on 6/5/2009
Cons:
Bulky, Not weather resistant, Poor Construction, Unstable
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Hunting, Sporting Events/Concerts, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

In June or July 2005 I purchased a pair of Canon 15X50 "All Weather" Image Stabilized Binoculars. I thought they would be great for birding and some astronomy. Until recently I had enjoyed great service but a couple of weekends ago I had a bunch of friends come to our property for a camp out over Memorial day and we got caught in a rain storm.

I ended up with some water in the "All Weather" binoculars and sent them back for repair. I got a notice from them saying that the repair cost would be $1568.48. Man do I feel taken advantage of and will no longer being doing business with Canon in any shape of form. They obliviously do not value their customers or stand behind their products. Anyone else had this problem?

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fun to use; not as bulky as I'd expected
By John RVerified Purchaser from Lake Worth, FL on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I've owned these binoculars for less than a month. So far I've used them for viewing birds and wildlife, and also plan to use them for stargazing. I used them comfortably on a trip to several wildlife areas in Delaware where I viewed shorebirds, warblers, eagles, and foxes. They are heavy but did not seem as heavy as I'd expected them to feel based on other reviews I'd seen. I did install a professional quality neck strap with a thick pad, instead of the one supplied in the box. Since the objectives are threaded I also added some clear UV filters to protect the lenses while handling them (they don't come with covers for the objectives). The best feature is the image stability, especially for the 15X power. When you turn on the stabilizer the image just "snaps" into place. I'm looking forward to looking at the night sky with them; only reason I haven't yet is that it's been raining steadily for nearly 3 weeks now.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Telescopes away!
By Sue from Central Florida on 1/9/2008
Pros:
Close Focus, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Astronomy
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

Great for astronomical use. My two telescopes are gathering dust in the attic thanks to these binoculars. While they are easy to use, they are a bit bulky from most binoculars. However, for what you receive from this product you can't really complain. The ISB is fantastic. Great all around product.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Versatile and Sharp
By The Stabilized Viewer from Berkeley, CA on 4/2/2007
Pros:
High power stability, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching, General Spotting, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer, Birder, Resources Consultant
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

The Canon IS Binoculars are a real winner! They have met my expectations for a versatile/flexible instrument that can be used as a pair of binoculars and/or a low-power spotting scope (w/o having to carry a tripod). It has the optical quality to easily discern the details required in my visual resources survey work (in which a pair of wide field 8x Nikon Premier Lx binos are also carried) as well as the flexibility for birding and astronomical use. Purchased the 15x over the 18x because of the wider FOV and the greater relative effect of the vari-angle prisms (presumably the same used in both binos) upon the stability of the lower-power image.

The binoculars are somewhat heavy, but a good two-inch neoprene strap (OpTech "Super Classic") helps greatly when carrying them for lengthy periods of time. Couldn't find a reasonable carrying case so the included Canon case was modified by sewing on a (detachable) carrying strap with a pad for comfort. Use lithium batteries if you're using the stabilization feature for extended periods of time though battery life hasn't been too bad with alkaline batteries.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Steady View
By KJVerified Purchaser from Chadds Ford, PA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Quality Lenses, Steady view, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Cons:
Bulky, Heavy
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Security
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer, Birder, Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

The IS system works very well.
Dyed in the wool birders refuse to acknowledge that IS helps so you get some dirty looks when out with other birders. But when alone I love these binocs. The image is sharp but not quite as crisp as Swarovski (my other binocs) or Zeiss. Also closer focusing would be helpful.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
CANON 15 X 50 IS
By medinabritVerified Purchaser from medina ohio on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Quality Lenses
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Birder, Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

These are probably the most usable binocular on the market.
Exellent optics .Hand holdable ,no tripod needed .
Its like having a spotting scope & binocular in one instrument.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Why spend more?
By NMDeepSkyVerified Purchaser from New Mexico on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Close Focus, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 15 x 50 IS, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Image Stabilized Binocular with 4.5 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

The ISB makes these binoculars truly "handheld." I sold my tack sharp 12x80s and 10x50s after purchasing these. My birding friends with expensive German glass had buyer's remorse after looking through my Canon ISBs. My use is primarily astronomical. I chose the 15x over the 18x because of the FOV. The 15x will take in all of Orion's belt. Birders might consider the 18x.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.