Buy the Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A. image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Binoculars & Telescopes
Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Close focus(4), Compact(6), Lightweight(3), Quality lenses(8), Strong construction(8)
Best Uses:
Bird watching(8), Sporting events/concerts(4), Wildlife viewing(5)
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ recreational(6)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
too expensive
By best buyerVerified Purchaser from los angeles on 2/20/2011
Cons:
Unstable
Best Uses:
Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Professional Guide
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

Canon had rebates for stabilizers,but I did not receive it after I filled out the form and sent it by certified mail before the deadline. When I called the number on the form, the number was not working at all. Be cautious with Canon.

 
Fabulous
By ArtisticVerified Purchaser from Sydney Australia on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Close Focus, Compact, Lightweight, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Sporting Events/Concerts, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

Great binoculars, [...]

 
Amazing and versatile
By Skychaser from Silver City, NM on 11/22/2010
Pros:
Bright optics, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching, Boating, Car traveling, Sporting Events/Concerts, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

These are without a doubt the best binocs I've owned. Canon starts with excellent glass that transmits a bright, true-color image, then adds their proprietary image stabi, which is a revelation. I love to hand these to a hiking companion and hear them say, "Ahhh..." when they press the button and see the image become rock-steady. It's like having the binocs on a tripod, only better, because you can pan around in all directions-- great for following a soaring bird, or scanning the night sky. I've used these in a canoe and on the deck of a boat; I've used them in an airplane to study the terrain below; I've used them from the passenger seat of a car, to study road signs and traffic conditions ahead. They're great for backyard birding at any distance over 10 ft. The image stabi permits close, careful study of identifying (and visually stunning) markings, even in low light.

They are a bit bulky and heavy (but still more portable than most porro prism binocs). Sometimes I stick to smaller binocs when backpacking, although no compact binocs will please as much as these Canons. An X-shaped binoc strap will hold them quite nicely when hiking.

One caveat: the battery is an odd 3-volt size, which you might not find in a little country store, so be sure to have extras on hand when travelling. One battery will last a long time, though, as you can find and focus your subject, then press and hold the stabi button for only as long as you need to.

Oh, and the price is right, too! Great binocs.

 
Very good Value!
By Doc DennisVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 8/9/2010
Pros:
Compact, Lightweight, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Sporting Events/Concerts
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I also own 8x 30 Swarovskis and 8x20 Leicas. The lenses are not as sharp but the optic image stabilizer more than makes up for it. It takes away the motion that can cause headaches with cheaper binoculars. Great purchase for someone that can't afford the pricey brands.

 
super binocs
By JAWVerified Purchaser from Bonita Springs FL on 2/23/2010
Pros:
Close Focus, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

image stabilizer is amazing

 
Outstanding in every respect
By RustyVerified Reviewer from Jonesboro, AR on 9/17/2009
Pros:
Close Focus, Compact, Lightweight, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Hunting, Sporting Events/Concerts, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

Absolutely fantastic. No longer do I need to brace myself against something to see an object clearly. I can hardly believe the difference between my previous binoculars and this pair.

 
Very good product
By Average GuyVerified Reviewer from Wasilla Ak. on 6/27/2009
Pros:
Compact, Quality Lenses
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Hunting, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

great optics, IS works great ,slightly bulky-heavy. Canon needs to produce reasonably priced waterproof set.

 
Image Stabilzer Works Very Well
By SmrsoftVerified Purchaser from Cookstown, Ontario, Canada on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Close Focus, Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Security, Yachting
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

The image stabilizer feature makes these move powerful than the size indicates.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Binocular users--you want these!
By Mark WurzelVerified Purchaser from Brookville NY on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Bird Watching
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

Image stabilized binoculars are the only way to go. Once you've tried IS binoculars, you'll never go back to "ordinary" binoculars. A tip, be sure to always carry a spare battery in the carrying case.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Images
By PhotoManVerified Purchaser from Green, OH on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Good Eye Relief, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, ConcertsPlays, Sporting Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon 8 x 25 IS Image Stabilized, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 6.6° Angle of View, U.S.A.:

A great but for the price. Crisp bright image, not to heavy or bulky to take along to sporting or other events. All but does away with the worst part of using binoculars-that jittery image. Bought them for bird watching and have enjoyed many other uses.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.