Buy the Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A. image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Celestron
Located in: Binoculars & Telescopes
Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Close focus(5), Quality lenses(13), Strong construction(12), Works well with glasses(6)
Cons:
Heavy / bulky(5)
Best Uses:
Astronomy(12), Bird watching(5)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(3), Casual/ recreational(9)
 
Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster
By AZ QuadfatherVerified Purchaser from Scottsdale, AZ on 2/26/2011
Pros:
Close Focus, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Stargazing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

This product was recomended by a friend to look at the night time sky. They are large and bulky, and work best with a tripod. But that was not a surprise. Amazing how much I can see from my backyard in the city. Can hardly wait to take them out away from the light polution.

 
Great Value for a Tight Budget
By scopemonkeyVerified Purchaser from Athens, GA on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy to use, Large Aperture, Not too heavy, Quality Lenses, Separate Focusing, Strong Construction
Cons:
Minor Draw Backs
Best Uses:
Astronomy
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I purchased this binocular for a friend who loved my own Celestron 15x70 SkyMaster. I have had mine for about three years and use it continually. The aperture has the light gathering capacity of a moderately-sized telescope, providing considerable power. The 15x70 SkyMaster is very suitable for observing planets, nebula, star clusters and some bright galaxies, plus the occasional man-made satellite. I've even tracked an asteroid over several weeks time with this binocular! Each eyepiece can be focused separately, a serious plus if you have disparate vision. The rubber coating, flexible eye cups and generous eye relief make for comfortable observing. Celestron uses BAK-4 Prisms on this optic, which sets it above your average binocular, rendering very satisfying visual results. The Celestron 15x70 SkyMaster does weigh 3 pounds and will give your neck a good workout if you are unaccustomed to a astronomy binocular. But it is a lightweight by comparison. One soon adapts and will find that the instrument is well balanced and easy to handle. I am very pleased with my pair and find that it is the first thing I grab when I want to do some stargazing without the time-crunching hassle of setting up and then taking down a telescope. A binocular can be an indispensable compliment to a telescope, and in some cases a good stop-gap where a serious telescope, for financial reasons, lies far off in the future. In any event, my purchase of the Celestron 15x70 SkyMaster was anything but a waste of money.

 
Great Binos
By JoeVerified Purchaser from Wisconsin on 6/21/2010
Pros:
Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Astronomy
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

These are great binoculars, and alot less expensive than most other places. These are a great bargain, I might get another pair for the kids.

 
I liked it so much I bought 2 More
By Greg KailVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 11/14/2008
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I was able to use them at a star party and purchased my own. Then 2 more pair so I can share the sky with others.

BTW this Image is from Japan's Lunar Orbiter

 
Very pleased with the quality of output.
By ShashankVerified Purchaser from Campbell, CA on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Close Focus, Quality Lenses, Soft body coating, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Cons:
Bulky, Unstable
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I have not used a lot of Binocular in the past so I wont be able to compare this with other products. I can tell you for a fact that it gives phenomenal view of Moon at night. I could not stop gazing the moon and looking at the subtle details I never saw from naked eyes. I think it is a great gadget for both astronomical and terestrial view (I enjoy immensely). There is, however, a serious word of caution - Do not buy this item without an appropriate tripod. You cant hold it stable for more than 5 min (I am going to buy one soon). Yet to move out and explore its best usage, very excited. Highly recommended!!

 
Excellent Buy!
By Dan2ndVerified Purchaser from South Dakota on 7/24/2008
Pros:
Nice clarity, Quality Lenses, Works Well With Glasses
Cons:
At this price none
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

Veriy nice quality. They require a stable platform at 15x. I purchased them to replace a spotting scope since my dominant eye gets tired quickly when looking through a scope.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Get some!
By matty from Champaign, IL on 6/19/2008
Pros:
Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Astronomy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

For astronomy these are a fantastic deal. Handholding is not easy, but with a bit of practice managed to spot all four Galilean moons of Jupiter and I think I could just see the main equatorial belt (Jupiter is very close right now so you may not be able to do this all the time). Stars show up as bright pinpricks, Jupiter clearly resolved as a disk.

Birdwatchers should note that they will not focus on the feeder in my yard as it is too close.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value in a starter astronomy bino!
By NeutrinoVerified Reviewer from Ohio on 4/2/2008
Pros:
Close Focus, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching, Security, Yachting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I've read a lot of complaints of this model of binocular having major collimation issues. But for the price, i decided to check it out anyway. Adorama is a dealer for Celestron so i'm not sure if they check each one out before sending them out, but it came with no collimation issues and the optics are just fine for me. A great value for the optics and construction you're getting!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding Binoculars + Great Value!
By StarHunter MKIIVerified Reviewer from Broadview, Illinois on 1/22/2008
Pros:
Brilliant Optics, Close Focus, Easy to Handle, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Nature Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I just visited the Moon and the Orion Nebula with my Celestron 15X70mm Sky Masters received from Adorama. I could clearly see the craters and details on the Moon. The Great Nebula in Orion resolved to 3 sets of 2 stars, one of which turned out to be a more distant nebula. (the brighter of the lowest set of stars) This was without using the tripod adapter. I was amazed. I have also mounted the Sky Masters to a tripod for steadier viewing. The amount of light this binocular collects through its 70mm (2-3/4")objective lens is awesome. This is my first binocular using Bak4 coating which really does a superior job of delivering light to the eyepieces. Even though it's 12 degrees here in Chicagoland, it was hard to come back inside!
I highly recommend the Sky Master 15X70mm for Astronomical and Nature viewing.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Views for a Great Price
By The Angry American from Charlotte, NC on 1/17/2008
Pros:
Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Aircraft Viewing, Astronomy
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I had read good things about these binoculars, and they certainly lived up to their reputation. The views through them are tremendous. Not only can you spot craters on the moon and see many more individual stars than with the naked eye, but you can quite literally read the information on the tails of passing aircraft. It's almost as if you can reach out and touch them as they fly past!

The only drawback is, of course, the bulk. These work best with a tripod. The adaptor that comes with it worked just fine on the tripod I got with my camcorder many years ago.

For the price, you'd be hard pressed to find a better deal than these SkyMaster binoculars.

 
You will not regret!
By IskanderVerified Reviewer from Houston, Tx on 1/6/2008
Pros:
Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bulky, Needs a tripod
Best Uses:
Astronomy
Describe Yourself:
Casual/ Recreational
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

I've just got my SkyMaster. [...]columnation are great, lenses are clean and precise: all stars are pin-point through 90% of the view, I don't see any color distortions. Disclosure: I am an amateur and from my prospective - no problem. May be except one thing - for astronomy use you will need a tripod for best views. The sky almost always barely OK over Houston, but at the very first night I saw: Saturn, Mars, Venus, Great Nebula in Orion, Galaxy of Andromeda. Looking forward for clear sky and full Moon. Get free Planetarium in the Web and with this great binocular you good to go!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT VIEW FOR THE BUCK
By CORNSMOKE from Spraggs,PA on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Close Focus, Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer, Birder
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

These binoculars are a super value and high quality. I personally use mine to watch the strange "lights" in the sky,ufo's. They are great in determining these are no aircraft. Great for astronomical use and birding as well.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
CEL. 15x70 SM
By David C. from SC on 3/30/2007
Pros:
Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Astronomy
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

My wide veiw basics,very good veiws of M31/33/81/82/Globular & open clusters/& just general sky veiwing, I like some of the veiws better than the veiws in my 6" scope !!!! ALOT for the $$$$ !!!!alittle to shaky for non tipod use, but can hand spot objects !!!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would purchase this item over and over
By rikirikiVerified Purchaser from Concord, Ca. on 2/5/2007
Pros:
great wide angle views, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching, Security, Yachting
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Celestron Celestron 15 x 70 SkyMaster, Weather Resistant Porro Prism Binocular with 4.4 Degree Angle of View, U.S.A.:

No matter what you look at. You will be impressed.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.