Buy the Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A. image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Pentax
Located in: Binoculars & Telescopes
Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Close focus(4), Compact(8), Quality lenses(8), Strong construction(8), Works well with glasses(5)
Best Uses:
Bird watching(7), Wildlife viewing(3)
Describe Yourself:
Avid adventurer(6), Birder(3)
 
Great alternative at a resonable price
By TJSVerified Reviewer from Alberta, Canada on 5/17/2009
Pros:
Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.:

This is my 2nd Pentax 8*43 DCF. The first was a less good construction that broke a year after the (5-year) warranty expired. After that I got a Nikon 8*36. But after six years with the Nikon (which still work) I'm back with Pentax. The DCF SP is a great improvement compared to both my first Pentax and the Nikon. Optically, it's a major step forward compared to the Nikon, and to some extend also to my first Pentax, and the construction is head and shoulders above both. Optically, the DCF SP is sharp from edge to edge with excellent color reproduction, and very little distortion (though there is some). The close focus ability is good, but the extreme CF leaves a little to be desired (the reason for "only" giving it four stars).

Bottom line is that these binoculars are optically very close to the top four I have tried (Zeiss, Swarowski, Leica, and Nikon HG), and a little further behind in terms of construction. But they are only a fraction of the price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Real Star from PENTAX
By Ginu George from INDIA on 2/26/2009
Pros:
Close Focus, Compact, Nice To Hold, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.:

Last month my friend bought two pairs of these binoculars through Adorama for both of us. (Order # 5504117-1). I found the offer price in Adorama is much cheaper compared with other online dealers.
I live in India & use these binos for pure Bird Watching. I found the image clarity & sharpness of this bino really Superb !! Being 8x power gives really bright & steady images. Good eye relif of 22mm, gives strain free viewing. Being waterproof I don't have to worry about Internal fogging & fungus attack. Moreover this binos are "Made in Japan". A good Binocular form PENTAX !!

 
nice bino ...
By palopVerified Purchaser from slovakia on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Wildlife Viewing
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.:

nice bino with good optics

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good binocular, great at this price
By CT BirderVerified Reviewer from Connecticut on 7/7/2008
Pros:
Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Bird Watching, Yachting
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.:

I bought these as a backup pair of binoculars to my other, Euro-made, very expensive 8x that cost 4 times more. While those are better, these are very good, and a steal at the price I paid here at Adorama. I have since bought another pair for my son.

Pros are great color transmission, close focus, large field-of-view, sharp image, easy focus, lightweight, great construction. They also feel great in the hand, almost as good as those aforementioned glasses.

The downsides for me are a slight color halo around backlit objects (like hawks overhead), and the wide spacing between the oculars, which require me to really close them up to fit my eyes.

I tried the ED's in the field which, if you can afford it, offers a much better image without the halo, but in the same physical size and package.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better than my Nikon Monarch 12x56's
By Book DiverVerified Purchaser from Michigan on 3/8/2008
Pros:
Close Focus, Compact, Nice eyecups and tethers, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.:

Love the binoculars. Adorama offered a significantly better price than almost all other on-line providers.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great clarity, great price
By KarinVerified Purchaser from New Hampshire on 5/9/2007
Pros:
Bright, Compact, Price, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Astronomy, Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Birder
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.:

have been looking for a few years to replace my binoculars and when I looked through these Pentax, i was immediately impressed with the sharpness, clarity, weight and price--contacted [...]and got the best price!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect
By Billy BinocularVerified Reviewer from Milwaukee, WI on 3/12/2007
Pros:
Close Focus, Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Avid Adventurer, Birder
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.:

These Binoculars are very sharp in 95% of the field of view. Every part of these Pentax Binoculars is of the highest construction quality. Perfect multi-coating and Phase coating. These are the best binoculars comming out of Japan.

 
Love these binocs
By little birdVerified Purchaser from dauphin island, al on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Close Focus, Compact, Quality Lenses, Strong Construction, Works Well With Glasses
Best Uses:
Bird Watching
Describe Yourself:
Birder
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax 8 x 43 DCF SP, Superior Performance Water Proof Roof Prism Binocular with 6.3 Degree Angle of View, Dark Green & Black, U.S.A.:

excellent in the field

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.