Buy the Canon Angle Finder C on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon Angle Finder C image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Canon Angle Finder C
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
89% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(4), Easy to use(3), Lightweight(4), Reliable(3)
Best Uses:
Low angles(3), Macro photography(5), Portraits(3), Studio(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
Very Useful Assessory
By noelklineVerified Purchaser from York, PA on 2/20/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

I use the device for magazine assignments to capture detail of objects and people. The device is very useful for low-angle shots as well.

 
excellent especially for macro work
By filbertthenutVerified Purchaser from Seattle, wa. on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable, SOLID BUILD
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Macro Photography, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

excellent for critical focusing. very useful in low light situations as well.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lowers camera height
By Tim CVerified Purchaser from Dearborn, MI on 11/2/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Rotates a bit too easily
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

I use this for three things:

1) When shooting people, subjects look tall or short relative to the heigh of the person doing the looking. I'm tall (6'4"). So most "through the lens" shots are taken from the perspective of a tall person who is looking just slightly down on the subjects. This tends to make subjects look "short" when, in reality, they are not short. The angle finder allows me to change the camera height down to chest-height (instead of eyeball height) and helps improve the perspective of the shot.

2) When taking shots where I want the camera low to the ground, this allows me to put the camera right on the ground and/or take shots with the camera angled upward while still being able to look through the lens to set up the shot.

3) It provides two different magnifications... the standard magnification normally seen through the viewfinder is increased to 1.25x (just a slight magnification increase) but doesn't cut off anything (you still get a full view). But it also jumps to 2.5x magnification (although you only get the center of the shot) which helps when trying to fine-focus the lens. Magnification is switched through a small flip-lever on the side. It also has a focus adjustment for those who normally wear glasses (you can set it so that you don't need to wear glasses when looking through it) for standard myopia.

It also rotates 360 degrees so you can rotate the camera for portrait orientation. There are a number of "click" stops (every 45 degrees of rotation). That's the good news. The bad news it that it doesn't take much effort at all to knock it sideways out of the "click" stop to rotate it. So I find I'm frequently bumping it when doing macro work.

Eyecup folds down for use either with or without glasses. It also includes two different adapters which allows it to work with any Canon EOS camera and also comes with a small soft case.

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good product
By Photo enthusiastVerified Purchaser from Orem, UT on 4/11/2010
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

Being tall and aging faster than I'd like, I eventually broke down and bought this item. I was tired of crouching and bending to get photos from a low perspective. To this end, and more, this device works well

Build construction is good. Being able to swivel in one plane is good as well. I was disappointed to see I needed two different adapters for both of my SLRs, but this is more a reflection of the camera than the angle finder.

It is a little difficult to get on and off, but removal may improve in time.

You do need to plant your eye firmly on the eye cup to see the entire frame.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pricy but Top Quality
By ArtVerified Purchaser from Lake Isabella, CA on 7/10/2008
Pros:
Can Withstand Use, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Low Angles
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

It pays to purchase accessories made by the camera manufacturer: It fits, it works, and (as in this case) it works on older models and other cameras. No more on my belly in a swamp for that low aqngle macro shot.

[1 of 25 customers found this review helpful]

 
Another bad camera investment.
By CarlVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 4/26/2008
Pros:
Good concept period
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Inadequate Features, Won't hold view position
Best Uses:
Low Angles, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

When shooting Macro one requires an angle finder that will maintain it's barrel position once set so that your hands are free to make other adjustments to your camera settings etc. [...]I returned my Canon A F C, while still under warranty, and got it back from Canon saying too bad here is where you can purchase another one. I demanded to speak with any photographer on the Canon staff. I did get a call back from Mr. Brooks and I sent the finder to him for inspection and repair. That was many weeks ago and he lately sent it to some "top person at Canon". This coupled with the failure of two L series lenses (one new in the box) the (other virtually new, but out of Canon Warranty), I am loosing faith in Canon. And worse I am fast loosing interest in photography.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Indespensible for studio work
By sirimiriVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles on 11/13/2007
Pros:
Great Features, Versatile
Cons:
Won't attach firmly
Best Uses:
High angled shots, Low Angles, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Part-time Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

This is one of those things that, once you buy it, you think "why didn't I get this sooner?" It's very helpful for the low shots, but you can also twist the angle finder around through 360 degrees...so even if the camera is slightly higher than you, you can peer up in and into the angle finder. As you rotate it, the image stays level to your eyepoint, i.e. turn it 90' to the side and horizontal stays horizontal. It's easy to attach, however I wish the little metal fingers provided a bit more friction against the mount, there's more play than I'd like. Caveat: if a laser-etched matte grid is available for your camera, buy it..using this finder, you may not get the 90° alignment you seek..

[16 of 16 customers found this review helpful]

 
A whole new dimension
By ShaggyVerified Purchaser from UK on 5/9/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Design, Fingertip Controls
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

This product exceeded my expectations, the light that this allows through is fantastic. This has allowed me to take the shots I have longed for, no more lying prone on the ground, scuffed knees and a sore neck.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon Angle Finder C Review
By PlankwingVerified Purchaser from Metro Portland, Oregon on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Required for waist-level
Cons:
Hi magnification setting
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Angle Finder C:

Required for waist-level or prone photography with Canon SLR/DSLR bodies. Magnification 1.25x or 2.5x by flipping lever. 1.25x useful, 2.5x not helpful to me, but that may be a factor of my less than perfect eyesight. Similar aftermarket products available, I haven't tried them; I stick to Canon-branded products because they've never given me trouble. Current use with 20D, DRXTi.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.