Buy the Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras image
 
(based on 27 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 27 reviews)
96% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(14), Professional(8), Semi-professional(3)
Pros:
Durable(13), Easy to use(17), Great features(5), Improves function(9), Lightweight(20)
Best Uses:
Everyday(4), Everyday use(4), Home(7), Landscape photography(7), Long exposures(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
The best remote I have used
By AllenVerified Reviewer from Forks, wa on 6/14/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Hard to see at night
Best Uses:
Home, Landscape Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

I use this on my 7D, 40D,and 20D.
It is great and easy to use

 
Great Product
By Oregon MikeVerified Purchaser from Oregon on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Product works well for terestrial or astrophotography.

 
great addition to the kit
By FrankVerified Purchaser from Bay Shore, NY on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Night photography, Self portraits, Time Lapse
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Great addition to the bag of tricks. Makes night photography a breeze and creating fun stop motion movies is easy. Go on, get one and explore the possibilities.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
As advertised
By RobbyCVerified Purchaser from North Ogden, Ut on 1/27/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Expermenting with night shots

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Remote that works
By RaymondVerified Purchaser from Chester, Virginia on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Great for macro work. With camera on tripod it is the only way to go.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice timer - easy to operate
By RonVerified Purchaser from Indianapolis, Indiana on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Excellent timer. Easy to use. Very self-expanatory. There is absolutely no reason to ever remove the battery. That is the equivalent of removing the battery on your wrist-watch when you aren't wearing it. Silly. It is a very nice timer. Highly recommend.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Landscape Photographers Tool
By BSG ImagesVerified Purchaser from Pasadena, CA on 11/5/2009
Pros:
Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
A Bit Delicate
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Time lapse photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Often, while I'm shooting nightscapes, I am required to keep the shutter open for longer than 30 seconds. However, my cameras (5DI, 30D) require me to manually hold the shutter button down for exposures longer than 30 seconds - a mild pain in the butt. This is a cure for the manual shutter 30 second+ challenge. Also, another side reasoning for my purchase was my desire to shoot with high aperture settings (f18+) and IR photography. This device keeps the shutter open with lesser risk of vibrating the camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Timer
By dmhohmanVerified Purchaser from St. Louis, MO on 8/19/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Home, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Nice shutter release. Works great and the features are easy to use. It's a nice addition to my 50d

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
It is awesome!
By CraigVerified Purchaser from Hughson, CA on 3/30/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

I use this product for time lapse photography. It is great. I would highly recommend it.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a powerful tool
By skyratVerified Purchaser from SoCal on 2/24/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

This is a powerful tool that allows you to use your camera in a plethora of new ways. So, you are taking your annual Christmas picture and want time to run into the shot and then take 20 exposures at one second intervals? Yes, this will let to do that. Want to take a 3 hour exposure to see the tails on the stars as the planet rotates? Yes, this will let you do that. Want to...

This is a great tool. The ONLY thing I would do different is make the start-stop button slightly larger, that is it!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Remote for the EOS 5DM2 works great
By Larry B.Verified Purchaser from Omaha, NE on 2/4/2009
Pros:
Great Features
Cons:
No Off button or switch
Best Uses:
Long exposures on tripod, Nighttime
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Remote button has the same funtion as the camera (half push/take picture), a self-timer, interval timer, and long-exposure timer. They all work as expected. If you want to turn it off, you must open the battery compartment.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lousy 90 day warranty from Canon
By JasonVerified Reviewer from London Canada on 1/29/2009
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

I always keep very good care of my stuff and yet, my less-than-1-year-old timer remote has a frayed cable coming out of the unit (I suspect the cheap plastic the cord is made from isn't up to the cold as it's cracked through rather than warn.)[...] I'd suggest to buy the extended warranty but the remote is already too expensive.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Help!
By RC from Shenzhen China on 7/1/2008
Cons:
Loved but in the lurch
Best Uses:
Everyday Use, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

I took the battery out od buy a back-up for the TC 80N3, which I have used often and really love. However, I put that battery back - nothing. Got more batteries. Nothing. The batter light goest on when I push the "running lock" forward, but whatever I do I can't get anything to reappear in the window. The Timer is no longer functioning. I'm in the middle of a project where it is needed!

Any suggestions?

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, not perfect
By Michael NVerified Reviewer from Burlington, VT on 4/10/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Shortest delay is 1s
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Reducing vibrations, Time-lapse
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

A good unit, but there's a few improvements that could be made:

- The cord isn't very long.
- The buttons are small.
- It doesn't seem like it was designed with one-handed operation in mind, some operations are awkward when using one-handed (Full reset, for example).
- Delay intervals are measured in seconds. There should be finer interval controls (this means the shortest possible delay is one second).
- There's no way to adjust the camera's settings from the unit, which means you'll have to set bracketing on the camera body in order to do HDR without touching the camera. (You're then also limited by the camera's bracketing sequence, which on many cameras is not more than 3 frames)
- In certain situations like mirror lock-up and bracketing, care must be taken to understand how the camera must be set up together with the controller.

Even with the above, this product does perform exactly as advertised, and I've not had any reliability problems.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worls Great
By RobVerified Purchaser from Redondo Beach on 4/2/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Cord a litle short
Best Uses:
Everyday Use, Macro Photography, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

This thing works great with my Canon 5D. The cord could be a little longer but it isn't that big a deal. Adorama got me the product quickly. I'm a happy camper... :-)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A night sky "must have".
By Steve O' The DesertVerified Purchaser from Etiwanda, CA on 1/21/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Astrophotography, Everyday Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

I use this item primarily for astrophotography. It makes vibration free telescope/camera control easy, whether for long exposure deep sky, or sequintial timed exposures for meteorite hunting. Settings are easy to understand and execute. Illuminator is more than sufficient without a flashlight. This is a very necessary item for this type of imaging for those of us who leave the laptop at home.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A solution for dslr astrophotography
By Davidoh46Verified Purchaser from Marrietta, Georgia on 1/21/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
No battery shut-off sw
Best Uses:
Series of timed exposures, Time exposures
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

The TC80-N3 is just what I needed with my new DSLR (canon40D) to reliably take multiple timed exposures of deep sky objects with my CPC9.25 scope. The included circuitry alows for multiple timed exposures and a manual button/switch for manually-controlled exposures. No power-off switch, so I take one batttery out of holder. Great product for astronomers!! A little pricey, but keeps you from touching the camera or scope!! but isn't all of our hobby? :)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply Awesome
By Landgraff PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Spring Hill, FL on 10/5/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Macro Photography, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

I wouldn't change a thing. Simply awesome!

 
GREAT WAY TO GET IN THE PORTRAIT
By DerrylVerified Purchaser from Dallas, Chicago on 9/27/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Self-portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

This really is great to have the cord isn't long enought however the features,...the Timer allows you time to get in the portrait and take several shot's truely amazing, it even allows you to set the time between exposures it's great ...you'll love it!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Essential Accessory
By Stars AboveVerified Purchaser from Lawrence< KS on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Pricey
Best Uses:
Long Exposures, Timed Exposures
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

While a bit costly at first glance this interval / long exposure timer is indispensable for night time or astrophotography. Of particular value is the backlight which is easy to read at night. Battery life seems exceptional so far, ask me in a year if I am still running on the same battery.

 
Great interval timer!
By JimVerified Purchaser from Tucson on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Astrophotography, Everyday Use, Time-lapse
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

A great and versatile controller. An excellent addition to my camerabag which adds capability to the camera.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Remote Control for EOS 1D M-III
By GAYAVerified Purchaser from NJ on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Not wireless
Best Uses:
Bulk time mode, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

It will be really nice for Canon to put a wireless remote control (RF or optical will be just fine) for their 1D series camera. They do this for XT and XTi for example.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does the Job
By Matt WVerified Purchaser from Kimberton, PA on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Artwork, Home, Long Exposures, Office, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Works just as described, easy to use.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Time-Lapse Device
By Time-Lapsed from Colorado on 3/13/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Features, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
1-sec minimum interval, Small buttons
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Professional Work, Special Events, Time-lapse, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Indispensable cable release AND intervalometer for Canon xxD, 5D, and 1-series DSLR's. This device GREATLY expands your creative capabilities. You should have one in your bag!

5-stars with 2 exceptions:
* Buttons too small and too close together for use while wearing winter gloves.
* Minimum usable interval setting is 1-second. It doesn't allow for a zero-second interval (it should).

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Multi-Functional Product
By FrankVerified Purchaser from Central VA on 3/4/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
User Interface confusing
Best Uses:
Home, Professional Work, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

Great product. Really helps improve image sharpness when used in conjunction with tripod and mirror lock-up. Great for extending exposure time past camera's max of 30 seconds for night sky photography.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good remote timer, a bit large
By KPiX PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Boise, ID on 2/5/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Durable, Great Features, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Special Events, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

A Versatile Timer with several features such as timer, time lapse capable long exposure timing.

It would be nice if it was available with an IR or blue tooth interface for wireless remote control.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Handy, AND Simple to Operate
By bluezerVerified Purchaser from Richmond, Va. on 2/5/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Durable, Great Features, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Professional Work, Special Events, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon TC-80N3 Timer Remote Control for many EOS Digital Cameras:

The timer and remote control is simple to operate. One should go through the intruction manual and keep it close but it is almost intuitive to use. I've used it for longer delays in group portraits that included myself. I have also used it for remote operation in long exposure astrophotraphy. I haven't used all the modes of operation yet but it's functioned as adverstised for all that I have.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.