Buy the Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Digital Cameras & Accessories, Digital Cameras
Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 13 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Compact(3), Easy to use(12), Fast/accurate auto-focus(8), Good image quality(10), Good in low light(3)
Cons:
Poor flash(3)
Best Uses:
Family photos(11), Landscape/scenery(12), Low light(6), Sports/action(5), Travel(9)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(6), Photo enthusiast(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(9), Yes(4)
 
Good camera
By djordan from WIndsor, ON on 6/3/2011
Pros:
Fast/accurate auto-focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD
Cons:
Poor Flash
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

I'm enjoying and still getting used to this camera. Crisp and clear pictures! Great zoom. Lot of features to explore and play with.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good camera
By speciesVerified Reviewer from PA on 3/8/2011
Which of the following features do you use on your digital camera?:
Digital zoom, Fast Auto focus, HDMI or component video output, HD Video recording, High-speed shooting, Image stabilization, Low-light shooting, Manual focus, Night shooting mode
What do you do with your digital images?:
Display on digital picture frame, Save to disk
Picture Quality (e.g. clarity, sharpness, color):
8
Ease of Operation:
9
Shutter Speed/Lag Time:
8
Variety of features (e.g. zoom, image stabilization, low light):
10
Durability/reliability (e.g. damage resistance, battery life and sturdiness):
7
Overall Experience:
8
How likely are you to recommend your digital camera to your friends, family, co-workers, etc.:
Definitely will
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast/accurate auto-focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Good in Low Light, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD, Short Lag Time
Cons:
Requires filter adapter
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Macro photos, Nighttime sky photos, Sports/Action, Video, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

After several weeks of use I am pleased with performance of this camera. The image quality is what you would expect from Canon. Even at full optical zoom the quality of the images is very good and better than I thought it would be.

The basic operation is exceptionally easy and most of the advanced features are relatively simple to access and use. The button for the "zoom framing assist" is placed where it is too easy to bump while holding the camera with a normal grip which causes the lens to zoom in and out. Other than being annoying it already has cost me a few shots by the time the camera was ready to shoot again.

The main reason I decided on this camera was the 35X zoom to use on wildlife. The pictures I have taken this far have actually came out better than I had hoped for. I have been able to use the zoom to its full advantage and most of the time the image quality did not drop off as the zoom increased.

My number one complaint would be the you cannot attach filters without a special adapter which is not cheap for a simple piece of plastic. The adapter uses 67mm filters which makes a big bulky ring on the end of the lens. It is so big that it blocks some of the flash with wide angle shots, the ones you are most likely to use the flash with, leaving a wide shadow arc across the bottom of the image. It is just a poor design.

The full auto and program modes almost always give bright sharp images. The auto focus will not focus if the subject is little and too far away or there is not a sharp object to focus on such as the surfaces of water and snow or clouds and other objects in the sky.

The ability to rotate and tilt the display has proven to be more of a plus than I realized it would be. It is a nice feature. The battery life is fine. It focuses faster than other brands I have seen. Displaying the images could not be easier. Overall it is intuitive to use.

To sum it up - I would definitely recommend this camera especially for those looking for one with a large zoom and for a very reasonable price. There are more features than most people will ever use. The manual modes are quick and easy to access meaning you will use them more often. It is not perfect but there probably is no such thing.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ideal for photo of bears.
By Junior and BJVerified Purchaser from Kalispell, Montana on 1/24/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Great Zoom, Small / Compact
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

The camera is ideal, in my opinion, for our trip to view Alaska bears. It is small, long zoom, easy to use and the cost is reasonable. If our boat gets capsized I won't loose my expensive cameras and lense system.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect Camera
By Schnauzer.girlVerified Purchaser from Dallas, Texas on 1/24/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast/accurate auto-focus, Fish Eye Lens, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Good in Low Light, Great Battery Life, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD, Miniature mode, Nice Body Color, Short Lag Time, Sports mode
Best Uses:
Everyday, Everything, Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

For months, I have been researching and comparing the Nikon Coolpix p100 and this Canon Powershot sx30 IS, and...I finally decided to purchase the canon for multiple reasons. I am very pleased with the camera, however, not so pleased with the price tag :) I will be going on a cruise soon, and I can't wait to truly test my camera!!
I will post a few sample images in the near future

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Features, Great image quality
By Artist PursuitsVerified Purchaser from Pittsburgh PA on 1/18/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD, Small / Compact
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

Nice feel, easy to figure out, fun to play with, great picture quality.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good improvement on previous model
By McToolVerified Purchaser from Dunedin, New Zealand on 1/14/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast/accurate auto-focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD
Cons:
Flash limited for vertica, Lag / Shutter Delay, Poor Flash
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

Diverse uses: personal portrait, groups, candids, landscapes,architecture wildlife
Good: super zoom, diverse range of shooting modes, image quality, fold out vdu, ergonomic design;good battery life
Cons: fast speed-low light capability; built-in flash is limited for vertical format shots;no lens hood; hard copy manual does not have a camera diagram!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera!
By JohnVerified Purchaser from Llano, Texas USA on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast/accurate auto-focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Good in Low Light, Large Clear LCD, Small / Compact
Cons:
Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

Easy to use...wish there was a manual that came with camera. One can download manual if you want to print 140+pages!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I like my purchase
By mackscrapVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Family Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

I use this camera for pictures of my family/children. I am really happy with the images. I think it is a good value for the price!

 
Great camera!
By ra in maVerified Purchaser from andover ma on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast/accurate auto-focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

I'm enjoying my new camera. It has been more than adequate at meeting my requirements. I certainly would recommend it to anyone looking for a digital camera with outstanding zoom capability & ease of use.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great camera at this price!
By Cookie ChefVerified Purchaser from Oxford, Michigan on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast/accurate auto-focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD
Cons:
Poor Flash
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

[...] I have purchased from Adorama before and will continue to do so again.

 
Love this camera
By AndiVerified Purchaser from Western Mass on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fast/accurate auto-focus, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD
Cons:
Lag / Shutter Delay
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

still getting used to this camera as I just got it for Christmas. so far I love it though. GREAT ZOOM! just a little slow on the lag between pics, but I was told that it can take multiples right after another in sport mode which I havent tried yet. Pictures are crisp and clear!

 
outstanding images
By FranVerified Purchaser from New Haven Ct. on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Quality, Good Image Stabilization, Great Zoom, Large Clear LCD
Best Uses:
Family Photos, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

Convenient carry around camera for quick shots

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Sophistocated Point-N-Shoot!
By '10 Vette DriverVerified Reviewer from Lee's Summit, MO on 1/5/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Good Image Stabilization, Great Zoom, Smaller than DSLR
Cons:
Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon PowerShot SX30 IS, Digital Camera, 14.1 Megapixel, 35x Optical Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer System:

My wife purchased this camera for me to replace my aging Canon SD630 P&S Camera. I must say I was a little intimidated by all the various settings and options. But I did my homework, studied the manual, and I LOVE this camera! Picture quality is excellent, ZOOM is fantastic. It's quite good in every situation except extremely low light without flash. That can be corrected by adjusting shutter speed manually and using a tripod.

Highly recommended!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.