Buy the Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Jobo
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Digital Cameras & Accessories
Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.1 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(7), Good battery life(3), Lightweight(3), Reliable(3)
Best Uses:
Landscape photography(3), Outdoors(4), Travel(5)
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro photographer(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)
 
Super easy setup, fast Satellite connect
By RstadeVerified Purchaser from Santa Fe Nm on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jobo Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface:

Setup was easy and intuitive. Finds satellite super quickly. Pegs where you are flawlessly. Software outstanding. Just what I had been waiting for my Canon cameras.

 
Best in the market
By OldtimerVerified Purchaser from Michigan on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jobo Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface:

By tagging your photos, later you don't have to question where you shot the frame.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
It works PERFECTLY! I LOVE my JOBO!
By Rob the camera guy. from Chicago, IL on 11/12/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jobo Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface:

I travel a lot so I really needed an easy to use
GPS system. This is it! The JOBO PhotoGPS is very easy to use, the battery lasts forever, and the accuracy is 100% each and every time.
This incredible device NEVER falls off of any camera because they now include platelets in the box that hold the device very securely and tight onto the camera hot shoe. The price is very reasonable for all the benefits. I wound highly recommend it for everyone that has a digital camera. I purchased 3 units, one for everyone in my family. Great gift idea! BUY ONE NOW! You wont' be dissappointed.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Mac software needs work
By Tom McVerified Purchaser from Baltimore, MD on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Good Battery Life
Cons:
Difficult Mac Software
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jobo Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface:

I bought this to Geo tag photos on my Nikon D60 for use in iPhoto '09.

It captures the location well and the location assist button is useful. (assuming i remember to press it)

The main problem with this thing is the Mac software. You don't seem to be able to tag the photos once they are IN iPhoto, so you have to load them into a folder on the Mac first. (If my camera supported direct access to the memory card, I could skip this step.) After the images are loaded, you can load the locations from the device using the included software. It does a fairly decent job of putting the correct location with the correct photo, although if you give it some photos which don't go with the location tags in addition to ones which DO go with the location tags, it can get confused.

If you are working with JPEG images, the included software will write the Geo information directly to the image. (GOOD)

If you are working with RAW images, it will write the Geo information to an XMP sidecar file. This is fine if you have a program that reads those files. Unfortunately, iPhoto '09 does not do this. (BAD)

As I am a programmer, I had a suspicion that I could fix this nuisance. In fact, I WAS able to write the XMP information directly to the RAW image using a command line program called exiftool, and some clever bash scripting.

Now, after matching the tags to the images, I only have to run one command before importing the images into iPhoto.

I've read that people have had problems with the build quality and, I can definitely see where they are coming from. It could use some work, but I figure when it breaks, I'll end up building a better mount, it's only got 2 contacts.

The only other gripe I have with the PhotoGPS is that it gets in the way of the built in flash. If it sat just a LITTLE BIT higher, my built in flash could raise and be used in conjunction with the device.

Overall, I'd say the PhotoGPS was worth what I paid for it, but I hope some new Mac software comes out later to make it easier to use. If not, I guess I'll have to look into writing it myself.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works great with my D60 and Mac
By horoVerified Purchaser from Indian Harbour Beach, FL on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Good Battery Life
Best Uses:
Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jobo Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface:

I use the PhotoGPS with a Nikon D60 and a Mac. The Mac software is not on the CD, but is available for download on the manufacturer's website. All works as expected. The ONLY gripe I have is that sometimes the unit does not recognize that you have traveled from one location to another -- there is no way to tell that the location has been updated (even when using the "hint" button). Only when you get pack to the computer do you find a batch of photos appear to have been taken at the previous location. I have not figured out how to correct this with the software (though admittedly I have not looked that hard). Otherwise, unit is perfect, and stays solidly attached to the hot shoe.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A fine GPS solution
By Tom BowerVerified Purchaser from Canal Fulton, Ohio USA on 5/4/2009
Pros:
Always has a lock, Easy to Use
Best Uses:
Photo geotagging solution
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jobo Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface:

I sometimes forget I have the unit on my camera...it just always works. No need to wait for a lock...just concentrate on what's important which is the shooting. The match & tag software is simple, bug free and works great.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simple, elegant geotagging solution
By Tom from Canal Fulton, Ohio USA on 4/14/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Nice Features and Settings
Best Uses:
Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jobo Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface:

Works as advertised. You can forget about it while you shoot, unlike the Nikon unit which must always be checked to make sure it has a lock.

Matching/tagging software is easy to setup and use, although It doesn't run properly on my Vista machine. Works perfectly on two different XP machines.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nifty gadget. Could be more automatic.
By Slade WaltersVerified Purchaser from Seoul, Republic of Korea on 3/30/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Good Battery Life
Cons:
Merging photo and GPS
Best Uses:
Everyday Photos, Outdoors, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Jobo Jobo photoGPS Global Positioning System (GPS) Receiver with Matching Software, Hot-shoe Interface:

PhotoGPS works as advertised and it is great to be able to add geotags to photos. I just wish the process of merging the GPS data to the photos was a bit more automated and more easy to integrate into my workflow. The GPS data that is added to the photos for some reason doesn't show up on Flickr when I upload photos.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.