Buy the Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Promote Systems
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Digital Cameras & Accessories
Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(5), Lightweight(3)
Best Uses:
Landscape/scenery(3), Outdoors(3), Travel(4), Wildlife photos(3)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(5), Semi-pro photographer(3)
 
"Excellent gadget with a serious flaw"
By Sandbag65Verified Reviewer from Iquitos, Peru on 3/17/2011
Pros:
Accurate, Fast acquisition, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak wiring
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

I use this product with my D3 for tagging locations for aerial work. It works well, however the wiring from the camera to the unit is so thin and weak that breaks off with the normal wear, causing lost of signal. I would only recommend the product if this issue is fixed by the manufacturer.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Terrible
By StupidVerified Purchaser from Toronto on 2/6/2011
Pros:
Not one
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

The gps unit didn't work at all

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Tool
By KiwiloonVerified Reviewer from Duluth, MN on 8/15/2010
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

Just returned from two weeks hiking in Europe with this device on my Nikon D200 camera the whole time (the camera slung from my pack harness with a carabiner). Had to watch battery life, by switching off. It comes back to life quickly, however. I note that on my D700 it goes into the resting mode automatically. The plug into the camera is angled directly upwards, rather than downward and out beyond the camera edge with most other devices. This protects it nicely. A competing model broke off the first time in the field. In bad weather, I would use a point and shoot camera with its clock synced to to my Garmin GPSmap 60CSx. Works OK, but not as convenient as having the camera dedicated unit on the DSLR.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great, but there's a fatal flaw
By MilsteinPhotoVerified Reviewer from Chappaqua, NY on 4/18/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Cons:
Fatal cable design
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

I needed two GPS units to tag on two bodies at the same time. The Promote Systems unit is simple, and works well right out of the box. The current version ships with a small plastic piece that allows the GPS unit to hang from the camera strap, freeing up the hot shoe for other uses.

My first unit failed after about 6 weeks. The cable inside the strain relief at the top must be awfully thin. The connection is intermittent at best. The second unit failed within another month.

As a design flaw, it's huge. I shoot for a living, but I'm easy on my gear. I suspect the cables failed due to repeated contact with the padded sided of a camera case.

The manufacturer has been responsive, so I am not writing this product off completely. Both are going back tomorrow, and I am considering adding additional strain relief once I receive the replacements.

This product is great for casual use, but may not be for daily professional use. Since it worked quite well with reasonable signal locks times, and low battery consumption, I would give it a thumbs-up for light duty.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect GPS System
By Big MacVerified Purchaser from South Carolina on 3/21/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

When traveling, it is often difficult to recall exactly where an image was taken. This product resolves that problem completely - it will even show you the exact spot on Google Earth! It even works indoors for me. Faster satellite capture than my Garmin handheld. No internal battery but very slight drain on the camera battery. I noticed very little, if any difference in power consumption. The unit is designed to mount on the hot shoe which prevents the use of flash (even the pop-up flash) but it does include a device to attach it to the camera shoulder strap. I use a hand strap but was able to fabricate an attachment for the lug for the shoulder strap that works well. You also lose the use of the 10 pin connector and consequently are not able to use a remote shutter release but you can use the self timer. All in all, a great product that I highly recommend.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great GPS Receiver!
By TBOVerified Purchaser from Melbourne Australia on 1/25/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use, Small / Compact, Very fast once located
Best Uses:
Remote Locations
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

The unit was fantastic in difficult terrain (temperate rainforests). It probably took 30-45 seconds to get a bearing when first started up in a new location (100km or more from previous location), but after that it was up and running in just a few seconds if the camera had been switched off. Fantastic!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
simply effective
By kevwilVerified Reviewer from Frederick, CO on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use, Good Battery Life, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Landscapes, Travel, Wildlife photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

This device is very simple to use (on-off switch, no batteries). It acquires a signal quickly and is pretty accurate. The cable is not too long. It works with my D300 extremely well. It's tough to find anything better at this price.

The only thing I could ask for is a better hotshoe locking mechanism. It has a tension screw, but I would rather it had a pin to fit the D300 hotshoe holes like the SB900 has.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
GPS Mde Easy
By silverprintVerified Purchaser from Staten Island NY on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Photojournalism, Sports/Action, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

What can I say...I just plugged into my D300 turned it on, and after about 30 seconds it was locked into a satellite.That is all there is to it. Click on the coordinates it Lightroom and connect with Google Earth pinpointing exactly where you took the photo. I have seen some gallery submission forms lately that actually have a space for GPS information.
Could I have lived without it??? Yes, but not after using it.
One thing, do not set the camera metering to stay on...it will run the battery down in short order. Using the default setting, no battery issues.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does as advertised
By DomVerified Purchaser from Washington, DC on 6/10/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Easy to Use
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Outdoors, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

This is a great product to geotag your photos. I enjoy being able to pinpoint where I was when the photo was taken. Unlike its competitors, it mounts securely in the hotshoe and the cord does not get in the way as much. On the downside, the product adds bulk to your dslr, it can drain your battery depending on how you use it (i.e., leaving the exposure on in order to always have a gps lock), and you cannot set it to remember your last position if you go into a building and cannot get a gps lock. (Its competitor can do this.)

[6 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
very good option for gps on a budget
By kevwilVerified Reviewer from Frederick, CO on 3/11/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Inexpensive, Quick signal acquisition
Best Uses:
Everyday Photos, Outdoors, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Promote Systems Promote Systems GPS Receiver GPS-N-1 for Nikon Cameras:

I just got mine today, and I went out to shoot in a couple of places. It was simple to set up and use. It acquired a solid signal in about 15 seconds from a cold start. The 2nd time I used it, it had a solid signal in about 1.5 seconds.

The connector does not screw in, but it's pretty tight. It should be OK, but I would feel a bit better if it screwed in. The cable could be shorter, but it's not long enough to get in the way.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.