Buy the Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount. image
 
(based on 33 ratings)
Brand: Kenko
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 33 reviews)
94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(19), Professional(3), Semi-professional(4), Semi-pro photographer(4)
Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(15), Easily interchangeable(13), Easy to use(11), Improves function(7)
Best Uses:
General purpose(4), Macro(4), Macro photography(17), Special effects(4), Wildlife(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Bargain
By BryanDVerified Purchaser from NC on 5/2/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Why buy the more expensive tubes, these work grat!

Images shared by: BryanD

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Perfect addition to any macro kit
By Der WatsVerified Reviewer from Syracuse, NY on 3/31/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I bought these to use instead of my DIY lens reversal thing. This is a huge improvement over the former since I can control the aperture now. Requires a little practice and a lot of patience to get it right though... Definitely recommended for anyone looking to do budget macros.

 
Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set Canon
By Joe Design SpecialistVerified Reviewer from Somerset, NJ on 3/28/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Video, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Exceptional for the price. Contrary to the description they ARE AUTOFOCUS COMPATIBLE WITH EF-S LENSES, but can hunt for focus under some circumstances, which is perfectly understandable considering the VERY limited DOF.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad for the price
By larfVerified Purchaser from Nevada on 11/2/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

This product is ok for occasional use, however, I doubt if it could stand up to daily rugged use. It is not Canon quality. Of course it doesn't have the Canon price tag either.

[7 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Value
By Mark the Macro ShooterVerified Purchaser from Toronto, Canada on 9/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Macro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I use the EF 100mm f/2.8 USM lens with the Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube set for the Canon EOS AF Mount. My results were better than expected! I was able to get in super close to the tiniest subjects with no noticeable degradation in image quality. As you can expect, the amount of light reaching the sensor is diminished by the increased distance of the lens from the sensor but, in outdoor applications when there is plenty of light, this is no issue and for indoor macros, just use a flash to compensate. An excellent product that worked just as it should. Please note that the little release mechanisms on the rings are easy to depress, so be careful not to accidently hit them and detach your lens while in use. It didn't happen to me but this is the ONLY possible thing that I would have liked to be more securely designed.

Images shared by: Mark the Macro Shooter

Hornet

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Jumping Spider

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Versatile Alternative
By BillVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 9/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
3 lengths offer options, Durable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I have wanted to get into macro photography but my budget would not permit the purchase of a dedicated macro lens at this time. I looked at a number of extension tube options and read user and professional reviews. I decided on the Kenko DG set because of quality of construction, the 3 different lengths and the use of the tubes in a single or connected/compound mode. I will use the set on my 40D for plants, flowers and critters. I have experimented with them over the past several weeks with a Canon 1.8 50 mm lens. I am impressed with the results. I want to stress that they are very well made. [...]

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I love this item!
By DeannieVerified Purchaser from Lond Island, NY on 9/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
None that I can see
Best Uses:
Macrocloseup
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I love to try different combinations of these tubes for many different effects.

 
Kenko Extension Tube Set
By jerryVerified Purchaser from usa on 8/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

These tubes work as expected - no surprises. I can use them individually or in combination. I have used them on a canon 5dII with dramatic results, especially with HD video.

The lens caps are very cheaply made. Not as nice as the canon caps.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pay the extra money!
By bobVerified Purchaser from Arlington Heights, Illinois on 8/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Macro Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I was hesitant to pay this much for a set of extension tubes. I almost went for the Pro-optic version which was a little cheaper. Boy am I glad I didn't! These have metal couplers and the other has plastic, which I am sure would break in no time. I use this mostly on a Canon 100mm Macro lens which is quite heavy. They work fine and auto focus is ok using one ring. I haven't had the need to stack them yet. The only thing that would make these better is if they were made completely of metal, but then they would probably not be affordable. Good product! Sample shots were hand-held,ISO 800,1/500 @f6.3,Eos XTI for the bee,and ISO 800 1/100 @f 10 Eos XTI for the flower. The bee was about 3/8 inch long and the flower was only slightly bigger!

Images shared by: bob

Uncropped, 100mm Macro with 20mm tube

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Uncropped,100mm Macro,20mm tube

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
tricky DOF
By JFVerified Purchaser from Hamilton, ON on 7/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

DOF becomes tricky when using all three on a 100mm f/2.8 macro. I haven't had time to play around with only using 1 or 2 extensions, but I am confident they'll provide good magnification & detail when cropped, considering I'll be shooting with a 21mp 5D mk ii. So far, they perform as advertised, but DOF gets trickier than using the 100mm macro lens alone. Whether I would recommend to a friend... depends on... patience, camera, lens, and whether they're having other problems instead (lighting). These tubes help shorten your distance to the subject, but don't expect them to turn your set up into a microscope.

 
Awesome
By luchoynpVerified Purchaser from Bogota, Colombia on 7/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

[...]

 
Extensions tubes: Just what I needed
By zoo manVerified Purchaser from Bloomington, IL on 7/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I have been wanting a set of extension tubes which would allow me to use my digital camera only lenses. These are just great, exactly what I needed. With a bad knee, hip and back, these tubes help me avoid having to bend over so much.

 
Great value!
By SteveVerified Purchaser from Livermore, CA on 7/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Close up, Macro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Solid, well constructed. Works great with all my Canon autofocus lenses. Turns any lens into a close up lens and is truly stunning with my 100mm macro.

 
Good Value!
By RogerVerified Purchaser from Plano, TX on 7/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Product seems to be reasonably well made but there is noticeable slop in the fittings when stacking multiple extension tubes. Not built to extremely tight tolerances but still effective and good value for the money.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Overall a good purchase."
By Phil the photographerVerified Purchaser from Marshall, NC on 6/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Affordable, Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Closeup photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I purchased the extension tubes because it was less expensive than a macro lens.
The first few times I used them they seemed hard to attach but that has corrected it's self. Maybe it was me

Images shared by: Phil the photographer

Lichen, stacked all three extension tubes

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

KitchenArt, slotted spoon, stacked all 3 tubes

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Great!
By CakooVerified Purchaser from Alexandria, VA on 5/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Special Effects
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I liked the fact that all three extensions came in one package - I use all three of them and find them easy to use, lightweight, and of exceptional quality.

 
Works as advertised
By amlsmlVerified Purchaser from LBI,nj on 5/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Used them with my 100 macro for some pretty neat shots. Much cheaper then the canon 25 extension and with the canon you only get 1

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does what they are supposed to do!!
By ChughorseVerified Purchaser from R. La. on 5/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

These are a lot cheaper than a good Macro lens. I will these until I can justify the extra cost and have the available money to spend. I have used them with a Lensbaby, 18-55mm Lens and A 70-300mm tele lens. Works great with them all. I do notice on the 300mm lens the AF won't work over l50mm, but I don't find that to be a problem.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better than a Macro Lens!
By OBPixVerified Reviewer from The Outer Banks of North Carolina on 3/7/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

The whole set cost less than a single Canon Brand extension tube and performs beautifully. Anything's better than a toilet paper tube and electrical tape, but these work perfectly with my EF and EF-S lenses and I'm having a blast with them!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for macro work!
By CurtisVerified Purchaser from Ft Lauderdale, Florida on 2/9/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

We use these macro rings for close ups of the wedding rings and flowers. Metering is about 1 stop low (normal with rings), but consistent. These have been quite helpful in getting up close and personal!

Images shared by: Curtis

Close-up shot of wedding bands

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for long lenses (over 100mm)
By dllavanerasVerified Reviewer from Caracas, Venezuela on 1/18/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight, Simple
Cons:
Minimal DOF, Needs small apertures
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Seeing as I'm a budding entomologist and all-around nature lover, I bought a 100mm macro, and I was completely blown away at the magnification and image quality. Once I took about 10000 shots, however, I wanted more. I wanted to take pictures of even smaller things, or bring out the details of some "larger" insects.
I love the image quality of my macro lens, so I was glad that these tubes preserve the quality, and still gave me ~2:1 magnification (just over twice as much as the macro lens only). I am now able to see the complex eyes of ants, and capture in full detail the structures of a beetle small enough to fit on my fingernail.

However, it does have it's drawbacks. The DOF (Depth Of Field, the part of the image that's in sharp focus) is minimal when you use the 100mm macro, and it's even narrower when you use the extension tubes. It's not the tube's fault, physics is to blame here. So if you use the tubes (and you'll really notice it if you use all three at once), you'll freak out when you get softer images than you did when you used your macro lens. This is due to the narrower DOF, and if you stop down past f13 on a digital camera (I'm talking about APS-C size sensors, 1000D, 300D-450D and 10D-50D models), diffraction may soften the pic up for you. It's not really that bad, though, although it is noticeable if you're a "pixel-peeper" (you like to look at the images at 100% on the screen). I can assure you that even if you print it poster size, the softness won't be too big a deal. You can always sharpen it in post-processing.

I also tried the tubes on another lens, a 50mm f1.4. If you plan on using this, I would only recommend the 12mm tube, or in some cases (when you have lots of light), the 20mm tube. I wouldn't
recommend any combination of tubes because the working distance is too close to be of any use. The 12mm allowed me to get some nice closeups, but any combination of tubes had me focusing barely an inch or less in front of the subject, and all 3 tubes just can't focus (due to optical physics, the focus point would be inside the lens). So if you plan to use it for a 50mm lens, I suggest getting only the 12mm tube (or the 20mm tube only if you can get very very close to your subject) Most insect macros are out of the question.

Oh, one more thing about using them with a 100mm macro lens: the AF works fine with the 12mm and 20mm tubes (separately). It's ok using any other combination, and it's almost useless when using all three tubes unless you have incredibly good lighting. I recommend manual focus and an external flash to get some great pics.

All in all, I would definitely recommend this to anyone interested in getting closeup shots using their existing lenses, provided you are aware of its shortcomings. To take advantage of all three tubes, I would suggest only using them on a lens with a focal length of at least 100mm.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Makes nice pictures but, hard to use.
By Dave the dude.Verified Purchaser from Simi Valley, CA on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Good Lens Protection, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult to master
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Wildlife
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I use this for macro photos. I know these things just trick your regular lens into being a macro lens. It makes them tricky to master. I found the longer extension tube to give the worst resulting picture quality. Perhaps that one tries for too much since Canon doesn't even make one that long. I use a Canon Rebel XSI that doesn't have the full frame CMOS sensor.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Don't pay for air - works without issues
By aram535Verified Purchaser from Centereach, NY on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Don't pay extra for Canon extensions, as extensions have no lenses they shouldn't cost anything. These have worked for me on Canon Rebel, Canon 40D and a Canon 1D, no issues.

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
This can't replace macro lens
By jl_mopedVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 9/26/2008
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult to Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

It does what it said it does, but can not replace a true macro lens. Even with the shortest extender, the focal range was limited to a few inches, making it very difficult to focus and very limiting on its application. Wanted to use this to reduce the minimum focus distance of the 70-200mm lens, but only having a few inches of focus range, it just wasn't usable for portraits.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exactly as advertized
By jlmacawVerified Purchaser from Texas on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

This product does exactly what it is supposed to do.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works for me!
By NadesVerified Purchaser from Minneapolis, MN on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

For the money these are a great buy. For the price of one Canon extension tube, you get three. They work well for my use.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set
By cllVerified Purchaser from wv on 8/7/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Ease of use

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Better then I thought!
By BillVerified Purchaser from Round Rock, TX on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

I am pleased with the three piece combination Extension Tubes. At first, it took a little getting use to, but after learning the focal length differences when using the tubes, I was excited to be able to take real close up pictures and find myself looking around the house for small items and details to photograph up close and personal.

At first I was worried that the tubes would not work with all my lens, but was happily surprised when I tried all three sizes of the extensions on my Canon EF 50mm, EF-S 17-85MM, and EF 70-200MM L IS USM lenses. I found that using the Extension Tubes works best when the camera is mounted on a Tripod and it takes a little adjusting to set up the correct focus for the Extension Tube used. But what doesn’t with these new digital cameras.

If a person is looking for an economical method to get into Macro Photography, I believe the purchase of this tube kit is well worth the price. If you have different lenses you will find yourself trying all combinations of tubes and lenses and learning the different set ups for different macro shots. Great stuff!

From my inspection of the tubes, the construction is just fine and will hold up to any normal use. Securing the tube and lenses to the camera requires that the tube be installed first before adding the lens. I don’t really understand why, except for the time when you forget to turn off the camera when changing the extension. It is no big deal, and again it is one of those things you have to learn just like any other part of using the digital SLR.

Focusing the camera using any of the tubes takes some getting use a first and please don’t think that the tubes are to extend the range of zoom. There is a range within the zoom range of the lens that the tube will work the best. Out side of that range, the pictures will be out of focus. Again like everything else about DSLR's we have to learn the correct usage. I did buy this kit to get close to an object, not change my 70-200MM lens to a 140-400MM lens.

All an all, I am pleased with this kit and I am enjoying the new world of Macro Photography.

I hope I covered some areas of the extension tubes that may have been of concern. I believe it is a great buy for getting up close and personal.

Images shared by: Bill

Close up of our dogs eye

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 20MM tube 50MM Lens

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pleasant Surprise
By MichaelVerified Reviewer from N. VA, USA on 7/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

This set of 3 costs the same or less than a single one of the canon ones. All they are just tubes so there is no lost quality.

The description is for the old non ef-s compatible ones, but I received the new version that is ef-s compatible. That was a pleasant surprise.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great accessory for shooting macro!
By LocalbraddaVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 6/12/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

The best thing about this product is the range of focal lengths at your disposal for the price. It made a perfect combination using the 20mm extension with my 50mm f/1.8 lens.

I highly recommend this.

Images shared by: Localbradda

Close-up of a Bamboo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
sturdy, quality construction
By LoisVerified Purchaser from Troy, IL on 5/9/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

The product seems to be sturdy and adapted well to my Canon camera rebel xt. I have used the 36mm tube and all 3 stacked. They perform as I expected. I have only tried them with my macro lens so far, but it greatly magnified the image with the closer focusing distance that they allowed.

[3 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
A very basic extension tube set
By Desert SKPVerified Purchaser from San Diego County, CA on 3/2/2007
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Flimsy Construction, Materials
Best Uses:
Home
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

These tubes don't inspire my confidence, due to lower-grade materials, lower-grade finish, and lower-grade fit. They're cheap, in my opinion, but as simple lens spacers only, they get the job done. I have doubts about the longevity of the contacts, but have not used them long enought to confirm that suspicion. In my opinion, if you're looking for heft, quality, dependability, and pride of ownership, look somewhere else.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great buy
By SprVerified Purchaser from WI on 2/6/2007
Describe Yourself:
Highly advanced non-pro
Pros:
Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
See review
Best Uses:
Macro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Canon EOS AF Mount.:

Extension tubes are great for getting REALLY close to your subject. The only quibble is that they require slower shutter speeds due to the fact that the lens is farther from the camera. This is characteristic of ALL extension tubes and teleconverters. If you have a nice fast lens, though, it's not that big of a problem.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.