Buy the Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount. image
 
(based on 36 ratings)
Brand: Kenko
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 36 reviews)
94% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(15), Easy to use(25), Great features(3), Great picture quality(3), Improves function(5)
Best Uses:
Home(4), Macro photography(26), Outdoor events / games(3), Travel(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(5)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(27)
 
"One of the best purchases I've made"
By boydgirlVerified Purchaser from Fairfield, IA on 2/23/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I bought these for macro photography instead of spending much much more for a macro lens. I've used all of them, separately and stacked and all I can say is WOW! Beautiful results. Easy to attach and take off the camera.
I'm having a lot of fun with these so far and know I will only continue to be very happy with them.
I would definitely recommend these to anyone interested in macro shooting, especially for the appealing price.
Use with Nikon D80; Nikkor 18-55mm and Nikkor 55-200mm lenses. Both work great!

 
DOES WHAT THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO DO
By ButchVerified Purchaser from La Habra, Ca. on 2/20/2011
Pros:
Compact, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Useful
Best Uses:
Close-ups, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Extension tubes do what they are supposed to do. They are a solution for a very specific application and these work as they should. All functions work on a Nikon D-700 realizing the limitations of lighting level and focus range on auto-focus. Auto-exposure works fine. Do not expect depth-of-field to be retained as the distance to a subject is reduced. These work well for applications ranging from taking pictures of a dime with a with a "normal" (e.g. 50mm) lens to shortening the range and filling the viewfinder while shooting a hummingbird with a 400mm telephoto.

Images shared by: Butch

Quick first shot out of the box.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
All you need
By AsdicVerified Purchaser from Oslo Norway on 1/24/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

They work for me. The finish is imaculate. The fit to my D90 and any lens is perfect.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
versatile, inexpensive way to try macro
By tcluneVerified Reviewer from Central MA on 10/24/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, versatile
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I got the Kenko extension tubes set to try my hand at macro photography with my Nikon D5000. I mostly use the Nikon 55-200mm VR lens for this purpose, and find that it works very well with these extension tubes. The Kenko DG tubes are electronically fully compatible with Nikon AF-S lenses. Metering is fully supported with these tubes and you can even auto-focus if you like. I have tried both auto-focusing and manually focusing in Live mode with the Adorama budget focusing rails. I'm not sure which I prefer yet, as I am still developing my technique.

Using a zoom lens with the extension tubes is quite flexible. Because extension tubes modify magnification differently for different focal length lenses, zooming changes the maximum magnification as well as the focal distance with the zoom. So you can frame the shot using the zoom or set the focal distance to something comfortable for the given subject just by adjusting the zoom. While I would probably opt for a true macro lens if I ever became deeply involved in macro photography, these tubes are a wonderful way to learn about it while giving perfectly usable results. If I end up getting a macro lens, I will do so with much better understanding of what I want it to be.

Images shared by: tclune

Kenko 36mm e.t., 120mm f.l., manual focus

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Kenko 36mm e.t., 92mm f.l., auto focus

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good way to get close images
By JessicaVerified Purchaser from Colorado on 10/13/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Used to take some great macro images.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Extension Tubes!
By MelVerified Purchaser from Boulder, CO on 8/9/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Feel flimsy
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Great for macro use without buying an expensive macro lens.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works Just Fine
By MarcVerified Purchaser from Boulder, CO on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Other reviewers have mentioned "sag" in the tubes... I stuck a 55 - 200mm zoom on it and didn't notice a thing. I like the way I can combine the different tubes for various macro settings & found that a 12mm tube with my zoom is actually a nice portrait lens (tripod required).

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice set
By DiemanVerified Reviewer from Warren, Ohio on 11/26/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I use these tubes when I want to get close to very small subjects. Depth of field is greatly reduced so you need to use a high F number (smaller aperture). Flash is also helpful but not always necessary.

Images shared by: Dieman

F/16 1/200 55mm w/flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

F/22 2sec. 55mm no flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[2 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
I don't have a handle on them yet.
By Tom in EPVerified Purchaser from El Paso, TX on 10/25/2009
Pros:
Durable, Inexpensive, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Home, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I don't seem to have much of a problem with an object that doesn't move. I tried catching Bees/Buttlerflys and I can't seem to find a way to make them work fast enough. I've only been experimenting with a couple of lenses (e.g., Sigma 105mm Macro and a 60mm Micro)and a couple of cameras(a D300 and D700)but haven't gotten one to give me good results on moving targets. I will keep trying and hope to get them working.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Investment
By ScottVerified Purchaser from Hamilton, Virginia on 9/22/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

These work great and are quite easy to use. I only wish I found more cases to use them. While they aren't used with great regularity, when I want them, I have them.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
They work
By cc in FloridaVerified Purchaser from Tampa, FL on 8/19/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Hard to attach sometimes
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

They seem to work pretty good...have not been able to get the auto focus to work with the tubes attached to my Nikon D90...but I haven't really played around with trying to solve that problem. Overall I'm pretty happy with them...I call them my poor mans Macro Lens.

Images shared by: cc in Florida

Mushroom coral in aquaruim

Image Thumbnail

Tags: 18-105 Lens w20mm tube, Made with Product

[1 of 26 customers found this review helpful]

 
HORRIBLE
By TeaVerified Reviewer from Utah on 8/6/2009
Cons:
Not Durable, Not Functional
Best Uses:
none
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I called prior to ordering to ask how good these were and was told they were amazing for macro photography. It severely altered the quality of my photo. They all just looked sort of fuzzy rather than clear like all my other photos turn out. It dropped my lens off once when I was taking a photo and I had put it on correctly. These were so insanely HORRIBLE that I returned them and would NEVER recommend these to anyone for macro photography.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
an excellent extension tube set
By nikon gerryVerified Purchaser from plymouth, massachusetts on 8/1/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

this extension tube set is well made;very easy to use; and is a useful tool for macro photography.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great set of Extension tubes
By LilKnyttVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA. on 4/8/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

The Kenko Extension Tube set is really great. Each will give their amount of magnification & they can be stacked if need be. I've only had the opportunity to use them a little so far - but they're great to have in a camera bag or backpack for easy access. Wonderful to be able to transform a lens like that. Looking forward to a wonderful spring & summer with them & my lenses.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works fine;careful if stack w/heavy lens
By Phlash46Verified Purchaser from Montrose, NY on 4/8/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Not Durable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Light to carry around, works just fine; does what it is supposed to do. I would be careful in supporting the lens if you stack these with a heavy lens. They flex quite a bit.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great set of Extension tubes
By LilKnyttVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA. on 3/30/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Great set of extension tubes - prefect for when I want to fast make one of my lenses a macro lens or shorten my minimal focal distance. Glad I got them - - now I have tubes & can still AF when I need to. Great!!!

[5 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
They work, but coupling is loose.
By areohbeeVerified Purchaser from San Francisco, California on 3/6/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Sloppy
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

For extreme macros - allows closer focusing, but reduces light. They do what they're supposed to but the weight of the lens pulls the tube coupling open a little bit on one side. Kenko seems to be the most popular, but if I had it to do over again, I'd try the Pro Optics - which may not be any better, and may be worse. The Kenko tubes feel cheap, and for [$], they shouldn't. I'm surprised another company hasn't stepped in to compete. Maybe there's something I dont understand, but sure seems like there's plenty of room for improvement, and profit.Rob Cole, [@]

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product
By CurveballVerified Purchaser from Troutville, Virginia on 3/6/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Getting Started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Tubes do exactly what Kenko says they will do. Excellent for macro photography!

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
very good product
By grumpykayVerified Purchaser from MONROE LOUISANA on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

macro photography

 
A must for macro enthusiasts
By Francois in the AlpsVerified Purchaser from Switzerland on 1/3/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Very useful, also in conjunction with a dedicated macro lens to obtain greater reproduction ratios.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
As advertised
By FancyBlingVerified Purchaser from Rhode Island on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I tried two of the three tubes, and the results were very good for the type of macro photography that I did (jewelry). Of course, the depth of field becomes increasingly small with the greater magnification. I did not try more than one tube at a time. This is a good set to have. Don't count on using AF as you will have to pick your point of focus very carefully. Shutter speed and exposure worked fine.

Images shared by: FancyBling

example of macro used for jewelry

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product
By MaryVerified Reviewer from Caracas, Venezuela. on 12/28/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Excelent product, with my 50mm it works great and produces beatiful images while maintaining all the functionalities of the camera.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent
By SimonVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 9/4/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I use them for some casual macro shots of flowers and insects. It works great for me.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Buy for the money
By The Sulking OneVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 8/7/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

As an avid Macro shooter I was looking for great magnification and shorter working distance, these extension tubes did it for me. Works exceptionaly well with the Nikon renowned 50mm f1.8 lens and the Sigma 150mm macro. Highly recommend for anyone getting into macro photography.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Product!!!
By Super MikeyVerified Purchaser from Roswell Ga on 7/10/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Love this product!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Tool for Macro Photography
By PaulskiVerified Purchaser from Muncie, IN on 5/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I actually found these to be quite sturdy, with metal mounts and rugged plastic barrels. I have taken my tubes out for a few spins now, and have been *very* impressed with perfromance. Highly recommended...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again
By schiredpenVerified Purchaser from SC on 5/10/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

This is a cheaper way to get into macro photography. I'm using it to see if I really like that type of photography before I spend money on some macro lens.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must have for hobbyist or professional
By Gerardo RubioVerified Purchaser from Guadalajara, Mexico on 5/8/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Expend more than 200 in a single macro lens, or buy these extension tubes for use it in any of your lenses ;)

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad for the price
By rankamateurVerified Purchaser from Bedford, MA on 2/25/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

These extension tubes seem to work pretty well. Autofocus with a Nikkor lens works with the shorter tube but not with the 25mm tube - but for macro that's not a big deal since I want to focus manually anyway for the most part. Exposure and lens information recognized by the camera.

The product feels flimsy when holding it, but holds up OK on the camera.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kenko Extension Tube set for Nikon
By rondd5Verified Purchaser from San Francisco on 5/10/2007
Pros:
Consistent, Reproduces Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Home
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Used with 105VR, pleased with results.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Money well spent
By RitewingerVerified Purchaser from New England on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Great macro, Stackable
Best Uses:
Macro
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Just what I expected, allows lens closer focusing

[14 of 14 customers found this review helpful]

 
Functional but flexible
By electronbeeVerified Reviewer from Virginia Beach, VA on 4/20/2007
Pros:
Great Features, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Although highly functional I found the build quality to be somewhat flimsy for serious macro work. With a larger lens like my Sigma 150/2.8 APO DG HSM I found that with all three rings there was some flex. There was even a slight creaking noise being generated at the same time if I were to move around. As I have a D50 this is not as serious of an issue as I can mount the lens to the tripod and have the body unsupported. However, for those with the more robust D200 or D2x this would not be an option as both bodies are quite heavy. And, if you had a Nikkor 200mm macro and a D200 or D2x then I do not know how you would solve the support problem with these extension rings.

If you are going to use the Nikkor 35/2 or 50/1.8 or other light lens then you will have not have any problems.

I would recommend this set for the casual user or someone getting into macro who will be using the lighter Nikkor lenses. However, once again, for larger and heavier body/lens combinations there will be a support issue.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Value for the Money
By focus guyVerified Purchaser from Chatham Illinois on 3/30/2007
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Ease of use, Inadequate Features
Best Uses:
Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

The extensions do not smoothly mesh when attaching them to the Nikon camera body. It takes some fiddling to position the extensions on the body.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kenko extension tube set, Nikon AF Mount
By Jim, photo enthusiastVerified Purchaser from Scottsdale, Arizona on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Great Picture Quality, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Home, Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

I was amazed at the quality of the product for the price.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kenko tubes, awesome for macro!
By ovadalimitVerified Purchaser from la, ca on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Professional Work, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

Whether using with a normal lens or on a macro to extend the magnification, these work flawlessly.

 
It works and is economical
By GussyVerified Purchaser from San Francisco, CA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Great Features, Great Picture Quality
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko DG Auto Extension Tube Set for the Nikon AF Mount.:

The 3 piece kit comes in very handy when you are not sure how much magnification you need.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.