Buy the Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Lenses & Accessories, 35mm & Digital SLR Lenses
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Semi-professional(3)
Pros:
Consistent output(6), Durable(5), Easily interchangeable(5), Fast / accurate auto-focus(5), Rugged(4)
Cons:
Slow focus(5)
Best Uses:
Macro photography(4), Wildlife(4)

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Macro Up Close From A Distance
By CarlVerified Reviewer from Houston, TX on 11/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Requires Tripod, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
FLOWERS INSECTS, Macro Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA:

My long working distance Macro out of three other Canon Macro lenses. The lens is relatively expensive and heavy, but how could it be anything else and have the feel and the quality output. The 180 is as near to perfection, at its working distance, as is possible to be. Canon has done it again.

As they say a picture is worth a thousand words!

Images shared by: Carl

Subject over 10 ft from lens.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, 180 mm Canon 5D, Using Product

Subject at least 6 ft from lens.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, 180 mmCanon 5D, Made with Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharpest Glass in This Price Range
By Bud from Weatherford, Tx on 11/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA:

Due to weight and no image stabilization I use with a mono pod or tripod. I have used it for wildlife, birds, butterflies, what ever. It will hunt for focus, but if you can, preset the focus distance and then use AF. For macro, of course, use manual focus.

It has provided some award winning sharp pictures.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fandangtastic Lens
By Bud from Weatherford, Tx on 11/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA:

Have had this lens for around a month, 1,100 pictures mostly of wild life, butterflies, bee's, etc. The sharpest lens I have owned. Use it with a monopod and it has become a limited use walk-about lens. On a tripod a great macro lens. On the 50D I'll shoot things that used to be reserved for the 100-400mm L, crop the results and they are sharper than the 100-400 @ 400mm.

It is a heavy lens, but with a monopod no problem.

Autofocus, as has been written up before, is slow and in low light [shadows] hunts, so this is below par with the rest of the capabilities.

Expensive, but in this case for picture quality you get what you pay for.

I highly recommend Adorama, great place to continue to do business with - Thanks

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L macro USM AF
By BrianVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 8/24/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA:

Pros:Very intimiting lens. Very solid. The lens lives up to the L series.
Con: Very slow focusing.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow Can You Say SHARP
By plantheadVerified Reviewer from Sacramento, CA on 5/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Macro, Wildlife

Comments about Canon Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA:

Can I say Wow again? I had wanted this lens for some time and got it just before I went on a 2 month trip to South Africa where I expected to take lots of macro photos of plants and did just that along with the ME-24 double flash unit. I left behind the 100mm Macro and missed it but learned how to adjust to this lens. Highly recommended for quality macro work.

Images shared by: planthead

Disa uniflora on Table Moutain

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
It is Really a Good Macro Lens
By jefrasVerified Reviewer from Madeira Island, Portugal on 4/4/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lightly heavy
Best Uses:
Macro flowers, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA:

Perfect lens for macros of flowers, animals and objects. This lens, produces pictures very clear and sharp with excellent contrast and colors. Advisable a tripod and a macro flash.

Images shared by: jefras

A work of the Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM

Image Thumbnail

Tags: One of the first pictures

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp lens with excellent contrast
By NoriVerified Purchaser from Hartford, Ct on 7/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Quiet, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA:

This lens is a joy to use, I have used the sigma and tamron versions of the 180 macro lens and the Canon produces the best results. The lens is sharp wide open and produces images with excellent contrast and beautiful colors. If you can afford this lens there is no reason you should bother trying the third party options.

Images shared by: Nori

Illuminated

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Wide open for soft effect

Curves

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Wide open, Made with Product

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful Macro Lens
By Photo MDVerified Purchaser from Rochester, NY on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy useable handheld
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Flowers, Fun, Insects, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 180mm f/3.5L Macro USM AutoFocus Telephoto Lens - USA:

Perfect for flower photography. Best when combined with twin macro flash!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.