Buy the Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA image
 
(based on 20 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Lenses & Accessories, 35mm & Digital SLR Lenses
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 20 reviews)
85% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(3), Enthusiast(8)
Pros:
Consistent output(10), Durable(12), Easily interchangeable(16), Fast / accurate auto-focus(17), Lightweight(10)
Cons:
Blurry focus(3), Heavy(3), Slow focus(5)
Best Uses:
General purpose(10), Landscape/scenery(5), Landscape photography(4), Sports/action(7), Wildlife(9)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's ok.
By TaurusVerified Reviewer from South Florida on 6/5/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Heavy, Poor in Low Light, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I have several lenses ranging from what would be considered cheap or beginner to expensive or "professional" and this is one of my cheap ones. I use it for casual stuff. It is an ok lens, the images look beautiful when it works properly and I can always get a nice background blur. The problem is that it's sooooooooo slow most of the time and the focus can be fairly inaccurate. I would say it's great for nature, landscapes, wildlife, and stuff like that. Ultimately I would say spend a little more and get a better one.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
decent lens to get started
By G&K PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Easton PA on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I bought this lens when I first started out, a refurbished model. I have a simple concept buy cheap then buy the best! Planning to upgrade to a 70-200mm L series this year. I used this lens often when I started but as I grew used it Less and less. Cannot wait for the L Series.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for action shots and close ups.
By Cheer MomVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 2/6/2011
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

This lens is fantastic. My daughter is a competitive cheerleader and I am always up in the stands trying to get decent pictures. With this lens it is as if I am right next to her. The close ups and actions shots are fantastic. Would recommend to anyone - especially a beginner like me. Takes excellent pictures!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
love it
By jimVerified Reviewer from Menominee, MI on 1/27/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus
Best Uses:
Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I bought this lens for close-up wildlife shots as I love pictures of animals and birds. The Canon 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III EF performs exactly as i expect and focus is quite sharp on my Rebel XS using the live view on auto-focus or on manual. This lens is much heavier than my wider lenses, but I prefer the feel of the heavier lens. The only drawbacks are that there is no image stabilization on this lens, the maximum aperture is only 5.6 on the long end, and auto-focus can be a little slow in low light. I love that the focus has it's own twist ring so you don't have to reach out to the end of the lens to focus, but the barrel does spin as focus changes making it hard to use a polarizer.

Images shared by: jim

grey squirrel

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

black-capped chickadee

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocu
By RPBVerified Purchaser from Las Vegas, NV on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Travel, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I do a lot of landscape photography. My camera came with an 18-55 lens & I often have to pull things in a lot closer. I use a 2X extender to increase the range. I usually have to turn the autofocus off when using the extender because of it trying to focus on too many objects. With the travelling I do it is great as it fits in my camera bag with no modification.

 
Just what I wanted!!!
By handimanVerified Purchaser from Brunswick, Maine on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Travel, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I am very happy with my purchase and Adorama

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Lense for the money
By Shakey PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Topeka, KS on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Blurry Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

For the money this is a good lens. I do wish I had spent more and bought one with image stabilization. I tried to take pictures of my grand daughters at their Christmas program. Was indoors with existing light. Very few pictures came out clear. Next time I will try a tripod. I also had difficulty getting a good clear shot of a falcon on the power line behind my house. That was in mid day sunlight. Even with the faster shudder speed I still got too much camera shake.

Images shared by: Shakey Photographer

Falcon

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Good lens for the price
By Dave the hunterVerified Purchaser from Globe, Arizona on 2/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I got this lens in a kit with a Canon XS camera. It is a very good lens for the price. I would rather have an IS lens but I didn't want to shell out the extra bucks. I use this lens for taking wildlife photos, and it hasn't let me down yet.

 
Very easy to use, and effective!
By JerryVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 2/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Good sportsmode focus, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Maximizes usefulness, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

Landscapes are enhanced by focusing on features up-close, good for sports events from the stands, focuses fast enough to give consistent shots in multiple sports shots per second, quiet and smooth. Manual focus is smooth, and easy. Monopod helps in support. Some minor fuzziness when hand held at higher magnifications. Must support rigidly as possible.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very decent lens
By PatVerified Purchaser from Southwest Michigan on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

Purchased as part of a Christmas gift for my wife --- she's quite happy with her new Digital Rebel and lenses. She's still climbing the learning curve with both the camera and lenses, so hasn't taxed either greatly. Overall, we're both quite satisfied!

 
great lens for price
By irockVerified Purchaser from kennett square, pa on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

great lens for price.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great deal!
By Millican PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Norman, Oklahoma on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wedding Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I used this lens at a wedding right after recieving it. The lens worked perfectly. It was super easy to swap with my other lenses. I think I went back and forth a million times. The lens was so easy to change I changed it while the bride walked down the aisle. Very effecient and a great deal for the price!

 
Fun Toy for a semi-serious photographer!
By SaraVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I work in Real Estate and take lots of pictures of properties. I also travel extensively and enjoy taking B/W pictures of all sorts of things.

 
zoom lens
By workinprogressVerified Purchaser from cleveland wi on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus
Cons:
Hard to keep focus, Heavy, Nice for a beginner
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

Its a good beginner lens but doesnt work well without a tripod to heavy for me but it does give a nice picture

 
Easy to use with a good result
By gosassygoVerified Purchaser from Granada Hills, CA on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I have no previous experience with a zoom lens to compare this with, but it was a fantastic lifesaver at my son's Christmas school performance. I was the only parent who got decent pictures of the kids up on stage. It was the first time I had used it and it was a cinch. I am very happy with this lens!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent lense and a good value....
By o_krush from Birmingham, Al on 5/7/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I have to say I got this lens on a special for [$] when purchasing our Rebel XTi..Was looking to get into a better lens but figured for the price it was worth it for an eventual back up lens.So far as my wife shoots mostly portrait type shots we have not felt the need to purchase a better lens. Most of the shots with this are casual environments and not demanding of particularly accurate output.It is a great budget lens when starting out that can carry you til you decide you want something more or works just dandy for casual users.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love it
By BobVerified Reviewer from Delran, NJ on 3/20/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I know this is an inexpensive ("cheap") lens but I really like it. Haven't noticed the soft focus that it's supposed to have. Most recently used it to shoot an Arizona pueblo high up on the side of a cliff and the pictures look good. As usual, I bought a UV filter and lens hood to go with the lens.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lens for the price.
By gunner holmesVerified Purchaser from Austin, Tx on 2/21/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Reasonably priced
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

I will use it for nature, landscapes and other stationary scenes.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Zoom Lens for the Price!!!
By shadowlandsVerified Reviewer from Houston, Texas on 11/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

[...] I bought this lens to replace my 80-200 zoom for I wanted greater range. Many reviews state that at the high-end this lens isn't quality. I beg to differ. I've taken many photos at the 300mm setting (hand held) and seen crisp, clear and amazing results. For the price, it's an outstanding lens. The build quality is greater than my former 80-200mm because it seems more solid and has a metel mount. I give it a 4 out of 5 for sure. It's not the USM so it's slower to focus. But I own other USM lenses and I can't tell a major difference. That's why I opted to try this lens out. She's a keeper....

Images shared by: shadowlands

My 300D with my (adorama) Canon EF 75-300 III lens

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Picture of Product

Houston, Texas (canon ef 75-300 iii)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent Starter/Casual Lens
By taipanVerified Purchaser from Central WA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Price Point
Cons:
AF Speed Lacking, Low-Light AF Hunting
Describe Yourself:
Dedicated Hobbyist
Best Uses:
Beginning Photographer, Fun
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 III Autofocus Telephoto Zoom Lens - USA:

While inexpensive, I found this lens lacking in sharpness when wide open, difficult for AF to lock in low light resulting in much hunting, and feeling less sturdy than other comparable lenses. That said, any step up comes with a corresponding step up in price (Sigma 70-300 APO DG or Canon ultrasonic version of this lens). For a casual or learning user tending to shoot in bright conditions, this lens will probably fit the bill.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.