Buy the Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Kenko
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Lenses & Accessories, 35mm & Digital SLR Lenses
Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.5 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(13)
Pros:
Consistent output(11), Durable(7), Easily interchangeable(13), Fast / accurate auto-focus(15), Lightweight(13)
Best Uses:
General purpose(8), Sports/action(4), Wildlife(10)
 
Perfect match
By angevin1Verified Purchaser from NC on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

After reviewing the tele-converters available for my older NIK 300mm f/4, I chose this one. It bolted right on, nice and firmly. And much to my suprise, allowed both auto focus and metering without issue. Images are a dream and just fine, even wide open.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quality T/C @ Bargain Price
By CyclopsVerified Purchaser from Kingsville, TX on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Limited AF below f56
Best Uses:
Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

Purchased to use with Nikon 18-200VR & it is flawless with this lens. It also performs better than the lens-specific Sigma APO T/C with the Sigma 120-400 APO OS. Quality construction- nice fit & finish.

 
Works very well and saves $$
By nikongeekVerified Purchaser from Boca Raton, FL on 11/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
Manual Exposure Required
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Macro, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

This product enables you to essentially have an extra lens. If you own a 50 mm then this teleconverter gives you a 75mm lens. Sometimes I had to use manual exposure since the effective f stop is decreased by this lens (e.g. f/5.6 becomes an f/8 and some exposure meters will not work at this small an aperture). Otherwise I am very happy with it.

 
Works as it is supposed to
By KIHVerified Purchaser from NYC on 11/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

Works like charm. I use occasinally with various lens I have from normal zoom to super telephoto. Works very well with Nikon lenses. Highly recommended.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent, but not perfect
By Nikon KenVerified Purchaser from Columbus, OH on 10/3/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Consistent overexposure, False EXIF Info
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

I have a D300 and Tokina 50-135mm f/2.8 which, although a nice, compact combo, just doesn't pull in distant images. I have a Nikon 1.4x converter for my Nikkor 80-200 f/2.8 (a rather bulky, heavy combo), but it's front element extends too far forward to accept the Tokina. So I got the Kenko to use with the Tokina, and it's about as sharp as the Nikon. Disadvantages: Overexposes about 2/3 stop; EXIF info same as without the converter. Problems I can live with, by using exposure comp and ignoring false EXIF. Overall, it's a good product. One reviewer stated that he heard a rattling sound when he shook the converter. I did, too, until attaching it to the lens. It's caused by the mechanical aperture coupler for the lens. Once they're connected, the rattle is gone.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent, but with reservations
By John HVerified Purchaser from Finger Lakes NY on 9/18/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

I bought this teleconverter primarily for shooting wildlife and motor racing with my AF-S VR Zoom-NIKKOR 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF-ED Lens. It's a good match for this lens, and I can find no decrease in sharpness if the focus is good and I shoot at a high enough shutter speed or use a tripod. But you have to remember that you have the equivalent of a 600+mm lens here, and even with VR you will need a shutter speed near 1/1000 if you are hand holding at extreme zooms.

My biggest issue is that the auto focus is slow, at least with my D70s. Of course that is to be expected with the teleconverter, but it makes the combination of limited use in fast action shooting, such as motor racing or birds in flight. But with fairly stationary wildlife and a good solid braced hold on the camera, the results can be excellent.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Much more versitale than the Nikon 1.4
By LHDVRSVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX. on 9/2/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

I use to extend reach of all lens & make use of my DX lenses on my FX D700.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great bargain, very clear.
By bigdumbdaneVerified Reviewer from Apex, NC on 5/5/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

Works great on prime lenses, I can's see any problems or loss of quality.
Works OK with the 18-200mm VR lens, with some chromatic aberration that can be fixed with lightroom.
Works surprisingly well with the 70-300mm G lens - exceeded my expectations.
Seems to simply magnify any defects in lenses - so if you start with a poor lens, it will multiply it's problems.
Great value, all autofocus, etc works with everything, but hunts a lot in dim light after f/5.6.
Need to set exposure to -.7 to compensate, camera (d300 and d90) not aware of this teleconverter

 
I would recommend this product to others
By AlvinVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, Ga on 5/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

Bought it to go with my 300 f4 and a 80-200 f 2.8. It gives good Image Quality with loss of only 1 stop. I'd recommend it.

 
Excellent Teleconverter
By MattO from Glenwood, Maryland on 4/25/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

I got this to use with my Nikon 105 f2.8 VR macro lens to give me a bit more stand off for an equivalent image size. It works great, images are sharp and the VR works too! I have also been using it on my Nikon 70-300 VR and it also gives good results, and it is handier than any long telephoto lens that reaches the equivalent of 420 mm. It is well built and I highly recommend it.

 
Really came in handy at the Super Bowl
By Steeler FanVerified Purchaser from PA on 3/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

I ordered this lens right before the Super Bowl XLIII at Tampa. We were only permitted to take in lens 10" or smaller. I used my 70-300 and this lens to boost the power. I was very pleased. I didn't think my photos would turn out much at all, but was happy to get a photo of Harrison's interception from one end zone to the other and from 7 rows from the top. The Adorama sales person recommended this lens when I called and explained what I needed it for. Good choice.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Get Closer
By Idiot-SavantVerified Purchaser from East Bay, CA. on 2/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

Great for getting closer though does have some downsides as you would expect...

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
PRO 300 "DG" is a WINNER!
By tominromVerified Purchaser from Rome, NY on 7/23/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

I have only owned this teleconverter for a few days but have taken over a hundred photos and they were all keepers. I use it on a Nikon 300mm f4 prime and the image quality is unbelievable. I can't tell the difference between 300mm and 420mm as far as image sharpness goes. Great product for the price.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good telextender.
By MarkDVerified Purchaser from NYC on 6/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

Works well with my Nikon 85mm f/1.8 and Nikon 70-300 VR. Good way to add reach to your teles without adding weight and spending a small fortune. If there is no specific telextender for your lens, this is a good choice. Make sure you get the AF-S version if you have a D40, D40x, or D60, or may get a Nikon in the future that requires AF-S lenses.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Autofocus Works
By snixitVerified Purchaser from Kennedale , Texas on 6/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Special Effects, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

Purchased for use with Nikon 80-400 AF VR . All functions work fine . I will try the 2X next

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just perfect
By Rui LopesVerified Purchaser from Oporto, Portugal on 7/10/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

I bought it to use with my 80-200 2.8 (2 rings) and it works just fine! I don't feel that I'm loosing any image quality.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good choice - with one
By Jim from Columbia, SC on 5/22/2007
Pros:
Easy To Clean, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Meter Inaccuracies
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

Kenko Pro 300 1.4x delivers high quality images on my Fuji S2 Pro (Nikon N80) with Nikon 300mm ED-IF f4 with one notable exception. The IC gate array circuitry allows camera to select f4, thus overexposing images by one stop! In a perfect world the camera would allow you to open aperature fully but transmit to the meter that lens value * 1.4 - in this case f5.6 instead of f4.

Fortunately, the solution is simple - just remember to exposure compensate -1.0 anytime the teleconverter is mounted - then the exposure comes out dead on! Image quality is very good with the 300mm f4 ED-IF delivers excellent contrast and sharpness and autofocus as well.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kenko 1.4
By MortVerified Reviewer from York, PA on 3/15/2007
Pros:
Easily Mounted, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kenko Kenko Teleplus PRO 300 "DG" AF 1.4x Teleconverter for Nikon AF-S:

I enjoy taking wildlife pictures with my D70 and Nikon 80-400 VR. I chose the Kenko 1.4 in order to lessen the lose of light to 1 step and still be able to use my autofocus. Recently I took pictures of Great Blue Herons nesting in a tree at least 100 yards away across a lake at 5PM. Everything worked perfectly. The pictures were sharp even when cropped.

Images shared by: Mort

Great Blue Herons

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.