Buy the Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty image
 
(based on 81 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Lenses & Accessories, 35mm & Digital SLR Lenses
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 81 reviews)
97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(14), Photo enthusiast(17), Professional(9), Pro photographer(11), Semi-professional(14)
Pros:
Consistent output(63), Durable(59), Easily interchangeable(34), Fast / accurate auto-focus(111), Nice bokeh(16)
Cons:
Heavy(40)
Best Uses:
General purpose(32), Landscape/scenery(32), Landscape photography(16), Low light(24), Night photography(33)
Was this a gift?:
No(19)
 
Amazingly sharp!
By AtoB from Aliso Viejo, CA on 5/21/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Lens Creep
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This lens is beautiful. It's a great everyday lens but it can also produce some amazing portraits which is what I use it most. The sharpness is intact. It's worth the money!

The only two negative things are that it is a very difficult lens to put on. Especially if you like to change lenses like at a wedding. I like to go from this lens to the 70-200mm. This lens zoom ring is very close to the neck making difficult to screw onto the camera. Then every once in while the focus is very noise. I ignore the noise duing shoots but at times it almost sounds like a defective lens.

Sharpness, colors, and bokeh are beautiful. This is a workhorse and I can see using it for many years.

 
My standard lens!
By FotoGuyVerified Purchaser from Tucson, AZ on 3/18/2011
Pros:
Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Good color rendition, Rugged, Sharp, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Everyday Lens, Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This has become my primary standard lens. It's on the camera most of the time. I can count on fast accurate focus and enough aperture to handle most situations. This version does not have vibration reduction, but with the lens speed and many available ISO settings this has not been a problem.
The lens is heavy and looks bulky with the lens hood attached.

 
Great lens. Good clarity. No noise.
By DanVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I am converting to 35mm after 25 years of 2.25" Hasselblad, with all Blad lenses. This lens gives closely comparable results. A real testiment.I use for landscape and nature photography.

 
Fantastic lens
By JimVerified Purchaser from Texas on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

this lens is often my first choice. Only wish it had vibration reduction.

 
really sharp lens
By fotografistaVerified Purchaser from sugar land Tx on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

heavy

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cream of the Crop Lens
By Humberto Benavides PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Laredo, TX on 3/8/2011
Pros:
Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Have been using the 24-70mm f/2.8 for a year long and the first word to describe it: "AWESOME", this is a very well constructed lens, heavy as a full size gun, but very pleased with the images obtained from it. This is the lens every Pro Photographer can't live with out ! Very good range and awesome when using it wide open. If you use this lens you'll never go back to any other.

Images shared by: Humberto Benavides Photography

Wedding Sample

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Caesar's Palace - Las Vegas

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
fantastic lens on for fx or dx
By seemesparkle photograpyVerified Purchaser from Brandon, Ms on 3/7/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

this lens is not inexpensive to purchase but it is one awsome lens. I am about to buy the 70-200 VRII. I can tell you on the new D7000 this lens is amazing!! what a pair!!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every penny
By AndreyLVerified Purchaser from Auburn, WA on 2/26/2011
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I bought this lens with Nikon D7000 and i am very happy with it's performance.Its a little bit heavy but i still use it as my walk around lens.Very good zoom range,low light performance.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Clarity Counts
By Ida_SlaptemVerified Purchaser from Southern Oklahoma on 2/2/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I've had my eye on this lens every since I saw photos I made after borrowing a friends. The depth and sharpness makes pictures look almost 3D. I see no cons except mine does not have vibration reduction. I'm 54 years-old now and my hands are not as steady. I use my monopod and tripod often so it's not really a knock on the lens. The 2.8f is going to allow faster shutter speeds anyway.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's everything I hoped it would be...
By Snickerson21Verified Purchaser from Edmond, OK on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I am in love with this lens! I bought it before shooting a bunch of events and had I not had this lens, most of my shots would have been impossible. It's seriously a dream in low light. I was concerned at first about the weight but I'm already used to it. Now all my other lenses feel too light! I wouldn't hesitate if you're thinking about this lens. Buy it...you won't regret it. It's hands down the best photography purchase I've made. Worth the

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gives a full stage view
By Carl Sermon PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Los Gatos, CA on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This 24-70 f/2.8 is used as great companion to the 70-200 f/2.8 to capture the artistry of the Belly dance world.

[1 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pro lens, Pro quality, Pro Price
By Nikon BlairVerified Purchaser from Woodstock Maryland on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
None found
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

One of the best, no question

[0 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8
By tamdbaVerified Purchaser from Buena Park, CA on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Difficult to Clean, Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is a good lens, but lack of clarity compared to compatible Canon.

[0 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon 24-70mm
By Double clickerVerified Purchaser from La Mirada, CA on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Good product, I would recommend it to a friend.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome lens [...]
By mlShrineVerified Purchaser from Hudson, NH on 11/9/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I just got this lens about a month ago from Adorama. This is a great lens, very crisp and true colors. Absolutely awesome. The lens feels very heavy in the beginning but I got used to it very quickly and then you won't even notice/feel the weight.The only problem was, the lens I got had the zoom ring very tight. [...]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
My all around lens
By Jojo VVerified Purchaser from Jacksonville, FL on 11/2/2010
Pros:
Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

How magnificent this lens is... I own this & the 70-200 VRII. Awesome combination! Great for event, wedding & portrait! All around for short!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Meets all expectations
By icenineVerified Purchaser from Centreville, Va on 11/1/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Fast quiet accurate focus, Rugged, Sharp at all focal length, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Very happy with the results with this lens. Though it is big, I do not find it too heavy to carry around. The quiet, and fast focus is amazing.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Legendary Sharpness
By BillVerified Purchaser from Yorkville, IL on 9/6/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Great middle range zoom, sharp, and fast focusing. This will be my "workhorse" lens, with it's size and capabilities.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's in the details
By kebwebsVerified Reviewer from Plymouth, MA on 8/31/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Incredible optical coatin, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

You will read comparisons to the Tamron 28-75mm 2.8 which are basically accurate minus one detail. The Nikon 24-70mm 2.8 focuses faster, quieter, smoother and in significantly lower light. What I haven't read is how much better the optical coating is. Both lenses are sharp with the Nikon only a little bit sharper especially in the far corners but the Nikon's coating makes a huge difference in detail preservation especially in very bright areas. That coating produces images with better contrast, color and clarity. Sharpness is very important but it's not the whole story. This lens feels like a smooth brick. I don't mind the weight but for those who do, check it out in person. No pro who shoots Nikon is without this lens.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Caught up in the DX >> FX dilema!
By racephotoVerified Purchaser from NE Ohio on 8/22/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I have the 17-55 which I purchased while using a D2X. Now I have two D3 bodies and it was just time to change to the new sensor-correct glass. Expensive? Frustrating?.....Yeah, maybe! But I am continually updating everything else, so why not the glass too?

I have been more than pleased with the 17-55 and the 24-70 has proven, thus far, to match that standard.

[0 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Big Glass
By gstareneVerified Purchaser from Kansas Ctiy on 8/22/2010
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I really have not had this lens very long plus, I have been too busy shooting to evaluate it. I'm just accepting the fact that this lens is the best Nikon has to offer in the 24-70 range.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
OH YES.. I'M IN LOVE !
By mamamolarVerified Purchaser from RI on 8/13/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Bought this lens with it's "companion", the 70-200 f/2.8 VRII lens. The 24-70 f/2.8 is STELLAR. Rich color and beautiful contrast. Auto focus is precise and quick. Focus ring is smooth and well calibrated. This lens has some "heft" to it, but it was something I expected. (The tech specs are pretty specfic as to weight.)I've been using this pretty exclusively for portraiture since receiving it..the DETAIL in the images is incredibly crisp. Hoping to give it a good nature run once my broken toes heal !

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
the best lens
By arthurVerified Purchaser from colombia on 8/9/2010
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I recommend this lens

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon 24-70 F2.8
By KumpyVerified Purchaser from South Easton, MA on 7/26/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
High cost, Not VR
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is an awesome lens. I'm awaiting for the VR II version!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
THe one lens solution.
By GramshiotiVerified Reviewer from Denver, Colorado on 7/8/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

If I have to escape or run away from a natural disaster, war or apocalypse the only thing I would grab would be my D700 and this lens which are always inside my ProLowe TopLoader 70. And I have some great Nikon glass in my collection. If you cannt take good photos with Nikon 24-70 mm, chances are that you are a c....y photographer it's not the lens.

 
Solid Workhorse Lens
By Chris BieleVerified Purchaser from Oroville, WA on 6/22/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, No VR
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is the lens which will be attached to my camera 70% of the time. Because of that I wish it was a little shorter and lighter, but I guess that's what you get with all that glass and metal.

Focus and zoom rings are smooth with solid feedback. Great focusing in low light. Super fast focus and spot on as well.

I wish they had a VR option, but that would have been an extra $400, so maybe I'm happy they don't.

Images shared by: Chris Biele

Consistent Focus in Low Light

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
The best zoom
By gramshiotiVerified Reviewer from Denver, Colorado on 6/6/2010
Pros:
Durable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is the best zoom in this range. It is solid, fast and versatile. If weddings is your thing you should buy this lens. [...]

 
Only the Best of the Best from NIKON
By Humberto Benavides Photography from Laredo, TX on 5/27/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This lens is the BEST all around from NIKON. Excellent colors, I used to saturate a bit my images after processing them, with this lens that process is almost gone. I just tried the SIGMA before getting the Nikon 24-70 and results were very frustating, I just switched to the BEST (Nikon of course) and difference is Sky and Earth. If you are a PRO or simply want the best out of a lens, no matter the body you are using, get this lens, it's not a cheap one, but worth every penny.

Images shared by: Humberto Benavides Photography

First shots with the Nikon 24-70 on a D90

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

First shots with the Nikon 24-70 on a D90

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing... Attached To d300s
By SaechangVerified Purchaser from San Gabriel, CA on 5/24/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

The 24-70mm Nikkor lens is a work of art. It performs great. Solid construction and fast focus. The image quality is also really good for a zoom lens.

Before using the 24-70mm I was using the 17-55mm Nikkor lens. I like this lens so much more than that 17-55mm. 17mm is nice since it is pretty wide, but I always felt that the 55mm left me wanting. The 24-70mm just seemed to work better for me for a walk around lens. The range was better suited for my photography style. Also the 24-70mm is just more exciting.

I am using the 24-70mm on my d300s. If anyone is thinking of using a similar setup, full frame lens on a cropped dx body, do it. It's great!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
White particles in center elements
By ccVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles, CA on 5/19/2010
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I just got this lens 3 days ago w/ the 105mm macro. The 105mm I got was bad, and now I have also discovered that this 24-70mm is also bad. Can't believe I got 2 bad lenses w/ a 5 grand order.The 24-70mm had some difficult times at focusing, then I took my pen size led flash light and from the rear of the ends, I pointed the flash light at a 45 degree angle and I discovered that the center elements has 4 white particles. [...] I did a little research and found out that the 24-70mm has some bad QC production[...]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Magnificent Lens!!
By CBBVerified Purchaser from Dubai, UAE on 4/26/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Extremely Sharp, Fast / accurate auto-focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is the best lens to have on your DSLR, if you can afford it and if you do not mind carrying around a heavy lens. These are the only two caveats; other than that, it is perfect for every day photography. This is what I have on my D300 when I do not have a portrait lens for indoor shots.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loving this lens!
By MearleVerified Purchaser from West Columbia, SC on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I purchased this lens because I have my first grandchild on the way.

Images shared by: Mearle

Practice on a doll, natural light & handheld

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Does it all,...well
By TechdudeVerified Purchaser from Middletown ct on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Lens Creep
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This thing is a beast! It wlll stay on my camera 95% of the time, but it is not exactly diminutive.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This is a must have lens !!!!
By skylineVerified Reviewer from CT on 2/26/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Edge to edge, Fast focus, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Alittle heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I had to get this Nikkor based on all I read about this lens and I am so happy I got it. This lens is so sharp and I have a Nikon D700 so in FX mode this lens shot from edge to edge at 24mm to 70mm is perfect no distortion, well it is made for that. There is nothing I can say bad about this lens, only a little heavy but that's all that fantastic glass in there and yes its Fast, all I can say is you will see what I am talking about when you get this lens.

 
Great Lens
By CE64Verified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 2/22/2010
Pros:
Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is a great lens for events. The wide zoom range is very useful for me on the D700. This is lens is a little heavy for hiking and street photography so I opt for a 50mm prime in those occasions. Image quality is excellent right from f/2.8.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow
By Mr. CleanVerified Purchaser from Olympia, WA on 2/22/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Price
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I'm a recent Nikon convert from Canon and this was pointed out as a 'must have' lens. I was afraid that the lens couldn't live up to the hype after all, what could trump my 24-70L? This lens did. I'm actually floored by the overall IQ that comes out of this lens. Very, very impressive. I don't see any of the field curvature 'issues' in real world shooting. This lens is just a joy to use.
Price wise it's quite a bit above the 24-70L but this is offset by a 5 year warranty!

 
Lives up to its reputation
By SteveVerified Purchaser from San Francisco on 1/24/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

There's not much I can say about this lens that hasn't been said many, many times before. What I can say is that every bit of the good reputation the 24-70mm f/2.8 is well-deserved. Image quality is outstanding, and it's consistently outstanding throughout the focal length and all apertures. Even wide open, I've not been able to discern any distortion or image degradation. Focus is quick and accurate, images are sharp and crisp, and the fixed f/2.8 aperture has been a shot-saver on many occasions.

Likewise, the previously stated drawbacks hold: this lens is massive, both in size and weight. It's not too heavy, in my opinion, particularly with a good strap, but you definitely know it's there. And you're certainly not going to sneak up on anyone with it. But those are small drawbacks.

And, of course, this is not an inexpensive lens. But, if you have the funds, it's definitely worth it.

 
Always the best choice
By TriosVerified Purchaser from Arcadia, CA on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

It's a trust of Nikon. Not much need to say about this lens. Good is good. The pictures tell thousands of words. I used this lens in D300 for landscape, portraits, and weddings. Not to worry about the quality of the images.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
i would buy again
By photo guyVerified Purchaser from rockford on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Pricey
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

very good lens

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The images are excellent!
By Photo NutsVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This lens is great and the images I got speak for itself. It's sharp throughout the various focal lengths and apertures. I got stunning images shooting wide-open at f/2.8 both indoor or outdoor. The only catch about this lens is the weigh; it's heavy!!! I used this lens on my D700 and noticed that focusing speed is much slower than my D300 w/18-200mm Vr lens. This lens is all you will need for general photography.

Images shared by: Photo Nuts

cropped sample photo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
GREAT
By dpVerified Reviewer from houston tx on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I use this lens for most of the photographs I take. It is great for portraits and general use. It replaced my 50mm 1.4 on my D700. it is sharp throughout Ken Rockwell recommended this lens and he was right about all it does. I have not used it for sports yet but I will try. It is heavy but manageable. Love it!

 
love it!
By melissaVerified Purchaser from richmond, va on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output
Cons:
Heavy
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

this lens is great, just be prepared- it is big and heavy- but totally worth it!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great lens
By JimVerified Purchaser from Fredericksburg Texas on 1/10/2010
Pros:
As near perfect as possib, Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Highly recommend, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Good as a first lens to be followed soon by an 18mm then a longer lens (70-200mm).

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great pro lens
By Robin GVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraits, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Great lens, this is my primary lens for wedding photography.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Upgrade from Nikkor 28-70
By Via CorsaVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 11/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Kinda Ugly
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I bought this lens to replace a borrowed 28-70mm Nikkor zoom. The older lens feels tough. It looks cool and has a better balance being both shorter and squater. I also like the finish on the older lens hood as well. I've already started scuffing up the new lens hood from use. While the output seems better (and thats the important part anyway), I think Nikon has cheaped it's pro lens a tad as they transitioned from the 28-70 to this 24-70. If I did not have to return my borrowed 28-70, I would hesitate buying this lens. I would still buy it, buy definately hesitate.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW
By AngelVerified Reviewer from NY on 11/17/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

WOW is all I can say about this lens. At first I've bought the generic brand, Sigma and was so disappointed.. it was a waist of money.
then I've decided to go for it..and ohh boy.. I am in awe since then. Everything about this lens is perfect, the sharpness is superb and the fast focus is there everythime you need.
I highly recomend this baby!

Images shared by: Angel

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
the best lens I ever own
By DTskykingVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 11/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Low light photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is the best Nikon lens ever. Best for protrait, no flash needed. sharp, fast focus, since I bought this lens, I hardly use my old lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Robust Construction, Super Sharp Focus
By rvVerified Reviewer from Bonney Lake, WA on 9/7/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

One of Nikons best lenses. It's super sharp from 24-70mm and all apertures. It's much better than any other lens in the 24-70mm range that I have used. No trade offs with this lens, just solid performance and great color. It auto focuses very quickly. I use manual focus most of the time and it's very precise. No VR at this zoom range is not a problem although it would be handy. All the money in this lens is in the optics and high quality build. It's expensive but if you work a lot in the 24-70mm range this is the lens you want.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tack Sharp... but maybe some VR II ?
By TomVerified Reviewer from Calif on 8/8/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Tack sharp results. But under very low light, begs me to request "How about some 'VR II' to
let me hold my iso sub 6400 and still shoot at 1/15?" Picky, aren't I! But I love the lens. :)

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Another Superb Nikkor!!!
By MEMcDVerified Purchaser from Chicago, Illinois on 4/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Razor Sharp, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction, Superb Optics
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Another Superb Nikkor, in the Nikkor tradition!
This lens is razor sharp with lightning fast AF operation. The Nano Crystal coating is even more resistant to flare than the also superb previous generation 28-70mm f/2.8D ED IF AF-S. The images produce by this lens are in a word stunning!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing piece of glass
By taerriesnsceVerified Purchaser from Austin, TX on 4/8/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Wedding
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Fantastic image quality. Currently used on a d700. Puts my previous d300+17-55 to shame. Almost no chromatic abberation, great sharpness, great bokeh.

Not a small lens though, quite a bit of heft to it.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of Nikon's Best
By Photo BillVerified Purchaser from Wisconsin on 4/8/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is one of the best lenes I have ever used.

[2 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm Not sure what justifies the price!
By AbarmardVerified Purchaser from Charlotte, NC on 3/31/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

So far I have not seen the Wow effect I have been reading about in all those reviews. I bought this lens for daily use and also night shots. I am not sure what truely justifies the huge price of this lens though!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pro glass - Pro cost - Pro results
By [@]Verified Purchaser from massachusetts on 3/31/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Use this lens on a D700 and it is fantastic. 24 is nice and wide on the FX camera and it's a great all-around lens. Pro quality (of course at a pro cost too.)

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Essential Equipment
By RichGVerified Purchaser from Upton, MA on 3/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Theater
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I use this lens to take pictures of theatrical performances which are typically low light situations where flash is not permitted.

[14 of 17 customers found this review helpful]

 
A professional piece of equipment.
By PhotecVerified Purchaser from Ark-LaTex on 3/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is not a lens for the average amature photographer. It's heavy weight is an advantage to the pro, and a huge disadvantage to the enthusiast. It is extremely sharp at all focal lengths, and all apertures. It is extremely fast and accurate to focus.

For a walk around lens, I really like the range of the 24-120 VR lens, but it can not hold a candle to the 24-70 f2.8 for image quality that is needed for pro use. Couple this lens with the 70-200 2.8 and you should be able to shoot most of your general purpose assignments using the full frame cameras. If you are currently using the DX cameras you should also consider the 14-24 f2.8 so that you have the best glass available when you do upgrade to the FF format. It is expensive, but worth the money if you are a pro.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent
By lanspapawVerified Purchaser from Xenia, Ohio on 3/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Dependable, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Took shots in near total darkness with this lens mounted on my D300 and the results were astounding. Clear and sharp immediately right out of the LED screen. Like others who have used this lens the price is justified.

BTW: Again ADORAMA comes through like the professionals they are. Flawlessly.:)

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT LENS
By kpdVerified Purchaser from New York City on 2/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This lens is extremely sharp. Fast to focus. A bit heavy but w/ my D200 I like the feel. For sharpness, this is a great "walk around" lens

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
One two punch
By 2myeyeVerified Purchaser from El Paso, TX on 2/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This lens is the first of a one-two punch, the other, 70mm-200mm 2.8 from Nikon. Camera bodies may come and go, but these lenses are worth their weight in gold.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superb Lens! Very sharp.
By LKVerified Reviewer from Vienna, VA on 2/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This lens is extremely sharp and fast. Auto-focus is very quick and subjects are crystal clear when you do your part. Also, ghosting is minimal. I've been using this on a D300, which doesn't take advantage of the wide side of the focal range, but results are excellent. The advantage is that I don't see much if any barrel distortion, which is supposedly quite evident wide open.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best lens I've ever owned.
By DwightVerified Purchaser from Santa Cruz, CA on 2/6/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I have never used a lens this sweet. Stunningly sharp focus.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
You Pay for Performance.
By NordTexanVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 1/23/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I tried the Tamron equivalent and experienced what the others who reviewed the lens said, slow focus, decent performance for the price, etc. I agreed and when it comes right down to it, my photos are my reputation; I had to put out the best product price be "darned."

I am very happy with the lens and have had several successful shoots. I shot two dress rehearsal ballet performances and had several shots work that I wouldn't have dreamed of capturing, leaps and lifts caught in autofocus at 2.8f and in perfect focus.

I tried the budget route, and it just wasn't enough for me. If it is critical for your success, you probably need to suck it up and pull out the bid dog.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S
By AndyVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Not much to add other then to say this is a great lens purchased from ADORAMA who I think is equally as great.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Fantastic Glass!
By bbratVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 1/14/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is a sharp lens! Nice size and weight. pair this with the 70-200 and its a killer combo. I get nothing but compliments on finished results with this lens. Its pricey but worth it in the long run.

[4 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the price and weight
By ron from seattle on 1/1/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This lens is pricey, bulky, and heavy; and worth it. The difference in images quality, compared to a plastic nikon lens, are clearly visible even on my D700's 3" monitor.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp lens that captures beautiful color
By dwfotoVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 12/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is a sharp pro lens that can capture images with beautiful color as the eyes can see. It's heavy but balanced well on the D300. Focus is fast & silent compared to the 18-200 VR. The 24-70mm zoom range is quite usable on the D300. No VR but with excellent sharpness even at f2.8, it is not so hard to capture sharp images in most situation. It's built really well. The zoom ring is well damped and the focus ring is buttery smooth. Had the first sample with rough zoom ring (not sure why), but was able to quickly exchange for another with Adorama.

Images shared by: dwfoto

Backyard test shot at f2.8

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Typical Nikon Product Excellence
By DennisVerified Purchaser from Rialto, CA on 12/30/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I have the 70-200 2.8 VR and added this lens and I am very happy with the results of not compromising with "wanna be" lenses. "You get what you pay for", but in this case you get more than you pay for. You get excellent photos without compromise!!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outstanding lens
By kaperVerified Purchaser from TX on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This was the first lens I bought for my new D700 after I switched from Canon's 1-series, which I used for years. This is an outstanding lens; the results are fantastic. It does cost a lot, but it is leaps and bounds better than any competing lens I've used.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't go wrong with this lens
By JoePhotoVerified Purchaser from New Jersey on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I needed a medium zoom for the NYC Marathon and it hasn't been off my D300 since then. This lens is ultra sharp, fast focusing and is excellent in low light situations. Coupled with the D300 with attached grip, it feels natural in your hand. On a DX format body it's actually 36-105mm which is still within a good working scale and at 2.8 it's all I need for some great action shots.

Some people complain of the weight of this lens but what do you expect from a pro lens...small diameter optics in a plastic case? Don't sweat over the price, it's justified after the first shot with this lens.

Images shared by: JoePhoto

NYC Marathon 2008

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth every penny!
By CathyVerified Purchaser from Billilngs, MT on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Portraiture, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I use this lens mostly for portrait shots - in the studio and outside. It is fast and sharp. I have a 90mm fixed focus portrait lens and this lens is far superior. The only downside to the lens is that it is on the heavy side and I would recommend using a tripod.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp versatile lens
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Washington, DC on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Sharp versatile lens. Only drawback is slow focus in dark light.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Lens
By Sandy GVerified Purchaser from Cleveland, Ohio on 12/29/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is a very fine lens. I have owned Nikons 28-70 2.8 lens for years and thought that was good but this lens is a bit lighter or so it seems and is sharper than the older lens.

Images shared by: Sandy G

Bailey the Goldendoodle

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Great for portraits.
By P.HVerified Reviewer from Allenton, WI. on 11/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
NONE
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Nice lens for taking portraits and indoor use also for general photos.

Images shared by: P.H

Photo taken with this lens & Nikon D 700.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
best glass
By russianbruinVerified Reviewer from los angeles, ca on 11/15/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

All of my previous lenses were nikon as well but I never wanted to spend more than [$]. My wife bought this lens for me and what a differences. Wow! I just took my first set of pictures and nothing compares to these. I now feel bad for all my other lenses as they are going to be sent back to Adorama for a buyback :).

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Lens
By DiggerVerified Reviewer from Corvallis, Montana on 11/8/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landcape
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

Nice lens for general landscape use

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great standard lens
By KuskoVerified Reviewer from Bratislava, Slovakia on 9/28/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

24-70 is a nice overall lens, great for portraits without a need for a perfect bokeh!

Its IQ and sharpness pretty much equals to primes like 30 2.0 or 50 1.8. If you are looking for a great blurred bokeh, go for 80 and more.

All in all, I find 24-70 focal range on DX not as creative as wider or longer ones. On the other hand, this is the best Nikon lend in the standard range.

Images shared by: Kusko

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
excellent lens
By kevwilVerified Reviewer from Frederick, CO on 9/12/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Beautiful colors, Bokeh, Consistent Output, Fast autofocus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is the best mid-range zoom for Nikon DSLR, period. This lens is on my camera more than any other. I absolutely love it.

[5 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must have lens
By dazman47Verified Reviewer from seattle on 7/27/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

The only con is the weight but for most shooters, they're used to the weight. Great image quality and durability.
It's not a cheap lens but more of an investment because you'll own this for a very long time.

[8 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
Superior Quality
By Melih PolatVerified Reviewer from Turkey on 7/10/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Cost
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I used Canon DSLR camera for two years and I used a Sigma 24-70 f2.8 with it. I can say there is no similarity between Sigma and Nikon because Nikon is sharp from f2.8, build quality is much better and of course focuses much more fast. I don't like Sigma's hood and Nikon's is great. Price is too high but if you want to get sharp photos @ f2.8, you must buy this. I mostly use this lens.

[6 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sweet Super Lens
By Sal C.Verified Reviewer from Sterling, Va. on 6/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
n/a
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

I've tested this lens last week and gave me superior results on its crisp and clear results.

Images shared by: Sal C.

Image Thumbnail

Image Thumbnail

[19 of 20 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful lens
By wjeffries from High Point, NC on 5/11/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 24-70mm f/2.8G ED-IF AF-S Wide Angle-Telephoto Zoom Nikkor Lens with 5 Year U.S.A. Warranty:

This is a great lens. Pair it with the 70-200 2.8 VR and you've got everything covered except super wide and super telephoto. The depth of field takes a little getting used to, maybe read up on hyper focal focusing distances, but this is a great lens for any close situation. I love it for events where I am close to the subjects, also portraits at the 70mm end, and it's wide enough for a lot of landscape work.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.