Buy the Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Lenses & Accessories, 35mm & Digital SLR Lenses
Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear glass(3), Consistent output(4), Durable(7), Easily interchangeable(7), Easily mounted(3)
Best Uses:
Fun(3), Sports/action(5), Travel(3), Wildlife(8)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9), Semi-professional(3)
 
Awesome addition!
By JD PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Pine Island, Mn on 1/7/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

Works better then I thought on my D300 with the 70-200mm f2.8 VR. I use it for sports and other events works great for outdoor photography

 
Great addition to my gear
By ShamontVerified Purchaser from Boise, ID on 5/9/2010
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

I just bought it but when I tried it out with my D700 & the new 70-200 VR lens it worked great.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Should Have Bought It Sooner!!
By ChrisVerified Purchaser from Waterville, ME on 8/19/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

I use it with my D300 and 70-200. It works as promised and the loss in speed isn't that noticeable. Clarity and sharpness are spot on. Well worth the dollars spent.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
This Nikon TC-17E is very well built,
By KentVerified Purchaser from San Marcos, CA on 7/22/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
No Cons really
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife, With Tel Nikon70-200 f28
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

I am a Photog Student and use this great Nikon Teleconverter with my Nikon 70-200 AF-S f2.8 Tele and other long lenses. Great, works well, makes life easier, faster and cuts down the number of long lenses I need to pack on the trail... This converter is built for specific lenses, check before you purchase to make sure it will work with your lens or lenses. Adorama had the best price going [...]

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A very useful accessory
By Rick E.Verified Purchaser from New York City on 5/13/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
General Use, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

After changing to the FX format, I needed a teleconverter, and found this model to offer the best reach with the least drawbacks. I've found it to be sharp and well-constructed.

The only criticism I have is that it has to be in an exact alignment with the camera body and lens when attaching it, but the guide-marks are hard to see. The solution for me was to put a drop of my wife's red nail polish on the teleconverter at those marks, making it much faster to align and attach it to my camera. I have the same criticism with it's cover, and used the same solution to correct it.

And as good as it is on an FX, it is amazing on a DX. Just make sure that you have a fast lens in either format, or it may not work.I use it on a 2.8.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Long lens at modest price
By Gadget ManVerified Purchaser from Peoria, AZ on 5/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Tough To Attach
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

Very good when using, but a little pain to attach and remove.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
TC-17E II Worth the Purchase Price
By No Name NickVerified Purchaser from Detroit MI on 3/17/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

Mounted on a Nikon D300 with a 70-200 2.8 VR this Teleconverter extends the reach of the lens w/o noticeably reducing the quality of the images. Adds very little weight to the kit. I'd recommend the use of a monopod or tripod with slower shutter speeds when using this particular setup.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent - Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x
By YalmerVerified Purchaser from Brewster, MA on 2/24/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

I use this tele-extender with my Nikon 70-200mm ED AF-S VR lens fitted to my D90 & D70 cameras for bird photography. The focusing is very fast and there is very little loss of maximum aperture. I also have the Kenko 1.4 and 2.0 tele-extenders which also work very well with these lens/camera combinations. Adorama had a very good price [...]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great piece of gear
By Marin Shutterbug 1961Verified Purchaser from San Rafael, California on 2/20/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

This little gadget, not TOO expensive (took a bit of saving) is an excellent piece of gear. It easily mounted on my Nikon 70-200, kept quick AF and razor sharp in daylight landscape shots. I read some people were getting vignetting on the corners with the lens fully out at 200 ( x.17), but I have yet to experience that. Very happy with the teleconverter, it saved me a lot of $$$ in lieu of buying a larger lens and it packs easily!

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Give longer reach... but
By zapf from New Zealand on 10/2/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Semi-Professional
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

Photos taken with a 70-200 2.8 VR, I find that with the TC17 the photos can be less sharp under certian conditions. and have a tendency to have small purple fringe. But keep in prespective that the 70-200 2.8 VR itself produce some very sharp image which I am compairing to.

Images shared by: zapf

F4.8 210mm 1/500 ISO320 on D80

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

F4.8 340mm 1/1600 ISO400 on D80

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Cost effective alternative lens"
By DeadeyeVerified Purchaser from Port Huron, MI on 5/5/2007
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
Back-Up
Describe Yourself:
Serious Amateur
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

The product is well made and sharp but it would be nice if it were useable on a larger selection of lens. My use with the Nikon 70-200 2.8 EDIF VR lens has been very useful and is cost effective over buying a specific longer lens for the amount of need for such a lens.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great teleconverter
By freddVerified Purchaser from Gatesville, TX on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

Great product very sharp mounted on the 70-200VR.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
If you buy just one TC
By TomVerified Purchaser from Sacramento, CA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Wildlife and sports
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

Best combination of length and image quality with minimal light loss. Works well with longer AF-S primes and zooms with only 1.5 stops light loss. Minimal compromise on image quality. Best deal for the money.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Greatest Teleconverter Ever
By NoneVerified Purchaser from Omaha, NE on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Easily Mounted, Strong Construction, Wonderful Image Quality
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Art, Bird Photography, Documentary, Fun, Travel, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

This is the finest Teleconverter I have ever used and I own many of them. Paired with the Nikkor 70-200 VR, 300 f/2.8, 200-400 VR it is simply superb. I rarely remove it from the 200-400. The flexibility that this combination provides is amazing. In my opinion, it is THE BEST!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must have in any Nikon Photographers bag
By SeaberryphotogVerified Purchaser from Eastern CT on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Cons:
Expensive
Describe Yourself:
Aspiring pro
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon TC-17E II 1.7x Auto Focus Teleconverter for AF-S & AF-i Lenses - USA Warranty:

This teleconverter met/exceeded my expectation. Nikon quality.
Reccomend sturdy support for sharp shots.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.