Buy the Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty image
 
(based on 25 ratings)
Brand: Tamron
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Lenses & Accessories, 35mm & Digital SLR Lenses
Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 25 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear glass(8), Consistent output(8), Durable(9), Easily interchangeable(7), Easily mounted(8)
Cons:
Poor in low light(3)
Best Uses:
Art(5), Documentary(7), Fun(6), General purpose(7), Photojournalism(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9), Professional(4), Semi-pro photographer(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(4)
 
Bad lens or defective copy
By Mark New Mexico CinematographerVerified Reviewer from Albuquerque, NM on 1/29/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight
Cons:
Blurry Focus, Poor in Low Light, Slow Focus
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

My background is 16mm cinematography and video production. I was fairly new to DSLR photography when I bought this lens. Got mine here as an open box. Images generated with this lens will pass if you don't compare them to decent Canon or Nikon Lenses. The images are less than sharp, bokeh is somewhat unappealing, focus ring has too short of a throw, and the AF is miserable. Consistently with this lens, I was be happy with image color, but frustrated with sharpness, and bokeh.

Next I tried a 20+ year old Nikon 50mm AI lens + adapter with amazing results. I thought - wow, Nikon primes are way sharper and generate much more beautiful images than Tamron lenses. Then I tried a 10+ year old 2nd generation Canon EF 28-70 MKII lens, and found sharpness and image quality to be nearly as good as the Nikon primes and tons better than this Tamron. Next, I tried a Tamron 19-35mm lens which also generated sharper and more appealing images than this lens.

Most of the reviews on this lens are very good, even marginally better than the comparable Sigma 24-70 EX DG lens, but I recently tried out this Sigma lens with similar results to the 50mm Nikon Prime and Canon zoom - all good lenses producing beautiful images. Maybe my copy of this Tamron lens was defective?

 
would buy this product again and again
By SunnyVerified Purchaser from Upstate NY on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Nice Bokeh
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

i bought this lens to take photographs of my children on the move. Love the sharpness and the bokeh.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lense!
By stephVerified Purchaser from odessa tx on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh
Cons:
Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Outdoor Portraits, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

Great lense!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
not too shabby
By sadieVerified Purchaser from Arkansas on 11/8/2010
Pros:
Easily Interchangeable, Excellent zoom range, Good Price
Cons:
Heavy, Locks up in ADEP, Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Outdoor, Sunny weather
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

I would recommend this as a good walk around lens. It'll do great for casual pictures among family too. The best the is the 2.8 and the focal range.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The little lens that could
By JulesVerified Purchaser from Carlos, MN on 6/8/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Cons:
Noisy focusing
Best Uses:
Everyday Lens, Indoors/Low Light, Macro Photography, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

A great all round lens- I used it for weddings, focusing is a little noisy, especially for close up shots of people, it can be distracting.
Focus in accurate and sharp.

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the $$$
By SaharaVerified Purchaser from WI on 1/25/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Portraits, Travel, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

Love it!

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
i love it ...but
By ick the trini manVerified Purchaser from ny on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Low Light Focusing
Best Uses:
Portraits, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

i love this lens except for in low light it will start hunting alot for focus so if your subject is moving it can be tough. And on a crop lens its not wide enough for me sometimes but its output and build quality is great

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best general use lens!
By CrymsenVerified Purchaser from Oklahoma City, OK on 6/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

I bought this lens to replace the kit lens that came w/ the Canon Rebel XSi. I love, love, love this lens! This is a fantastic all purpose lens. It stays on my camera most of the time and gives a good consistent output!

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't beat it
By drewVerified Reviewer from houston, tx on 1/21/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

Great walk around lens. The 2.8 helps in the low light situations. It is noisy but a great lens none the less.

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wonderful 2.8 lens
By Pet PhotosVerified Reviewer from OKC, OK on 11/2/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Pet photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

The best all around lens I own.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value and ease of use
By Brooks pastimeVerified Purchaser from Billings, MT on 6/26/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

I purchased this lens for a recent trip to Alaska and for general use. It was recommended by a professional photographer at a workshop as the lens he uses for portrait photography. I was impressed that it came with a lens hood so it saved me a lot of time shopping for the right one.

Images shared by: Brooks pastime

Ship at night

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Water dog

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome lens, great price!!!
By ToddVerified Purchaser from Griffin, Ga on 5/22/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Professional Work, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

This lens is much, much better than the kit lens included with the XTI, 30d, etc. I'm extremely happy with the results. I read multiple review sites about this lens before the purchase and it has definately lived up to my expectations.

Images shared by: Todd

Minimal editing, only darkened the background

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

No editing, Canon 30d

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Sharp and Fast Lens
By YanVerified Reviewer from McMinnville, Oregon on 5/9/2007
Pros:
Clear lens, Durable, Good value, Macro, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Short focus knop, Zoom creep
Best Uses:
General Use, Lanscape, Low light photography, Portraiture
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

A really good value lens. Half price of comparable Canon L lens. There 2 of my gripe about this lens. Let's get them over with. The first one is zoom creep. The lens tend to extend its self due to gravity. The second one is hard to do manual focus due to narrow turned focus ring.

The benefits of this lens over weight the drawbacks. This lens is really sharp and fast. I never regret getting this lens. If I only could have one lens out of collections to walk around, i would pick this lens.

Images shared by: Yan

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nothing can touch it for the price
By Blackdog714Verified Reviewer from Indianapolis & Seattle on 4/30/2007
Pros:
Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Cons:
Zoom rotates backwards
Best Uses:
General Use, Upgrade
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

By far the nicest lens for the money. I didn't go the kit lens because of all the poor reviews of them. So I agonized over which lens to get for 3 weeks. Finally, I went to a local store to play with it and was BLOWN AWAY. It is every bit 97% of the Canon 28-70 2.8 L for half the money. You figure it out. No hesitations, get it.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
good lens
By my2mckidsVerified Purchaser from Missouri on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Easily Accessible Controls, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Macro shots, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

The only draw back is the weight, but it's not much of an issue. I use this lens primarily for indoor martial arts and have been very pleased with the speed and sharpness. I also use it as a general walk around and have yet to find a true drawback.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very nice lens
By DogVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight
Cons:
Glass Not Sharp
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Best Uses:
Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

This is a very nice lens considering the price. The picture taken is not that sharp in F2.8 sometimes, but it will be much better in a small aperture. The color tends yellow somewhat. But anyhow, this is a nice one, what can we require more under this price, at least this is a F2.8 in a whole focal length range.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value
By RodneyVerified Purchaser from Conway, AR on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Great walk around lens, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
None for this price range
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

This is my primary walk around lens when I can only carry one. The quality of the lens and glass is excellent. It can be a little soft at 2.8, but I find that inherent with 2.8. Sharpness increases with f stop.

Images shared by: Rodney

Morning Glory

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT
By DHONE1Verified Purchaser from CONCORD CA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

LOVE IT

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A portrait lens
By VanDerMoucheVerified Purchaser from Quebec city, Qc, Canada on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Constant f28 aperture, Full frame compatible, Lightweight, Price
Cons:
28mm is not very wide, Build quality, Difficult to Use, Focus ring move during fo, Hunts in low ligth, Manual focus is tricky
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

I mostly shoot in low ligth condition so f/2.8 is very useful. This is an excellent lens for the price.

The image quality is excellent stopped down to f/4 and it is still usable at f/2.8.

It lacks a USM or HSM motor so the focus is very slow and noisy and some time it hunts. The focus ring turn during the autofocus and this can be a problem when hand holding the camera. In manual mode, the focus ring is not very precise or damped.

One problem with this lens is the build quality. The focus ring and the zoom ring are loose. I wish I can pay 100$ more to have better overall build quality with the same optic.

I recommend this lens as a portrait lens. As a walkaround lens, 28mm is not wide enough on a crop camera, the 17-50mm f/2.8 is maybe a better focal length.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens, but tough for crops
By MattVerified Purchaser from London on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Great price, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

My single issue with this lens is the focal range -- 28mm on the short end is simply too narrow for crop cameras (ie most Nikon, Canon EOS#0 and EOS#00). This is an equivalent full frame focal length of 44mm, which is just too long to be convenient. The average point and shoot camera, for reference, starts at around 35 or 38mm. Otherwise, it is sharp, lightweight, compact, fast, decently built, etc. It also produces pleasing background blur/bokeh. Autofocus is acceptably quiet and reasonably fast, though naturally cannot match most of Canon's autofocus lenses, and is two steps below Canon's USM lenses. It produces colors and contrast fairly well.

In the end though, I couldn't live with the focal length and had to change it for a 24-70 2.8. Eventually I'll upgrade to the EF-S 17-55 or 17-85IS. But if you can live without having wide angle, then it's a great, compact 2.8 zoom at a nice price. (for those who worry over the build quality of 3rd party lenses, I find it acceptable)

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's ok in certain situations
By MQVerified Purchaser from Waxahachie, TX on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Easily Mounted
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

This was an improvement over my kit lens, but over time I have noticed that the lens tends to focus behind the subject. It is better when used close up, but for group shots I have not been able to get a sharp image.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Value!
By CameramanVerified Purchaser from Tillamook, OR on 2/6/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

Best value lens for the money of any I have bought. Sharp as any lens and a compact design. Works great!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'd recomend it to anyone
By JareckiVerified Purchaser from Buffalo Grove, IL on 2/6/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Well built
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

Very good product for the money an overall. Good for portraits at wide aperture if you look for soft feeling of your composition.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
very affordable lens
By AnnaVerified Purchaser from Cape Cod on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

I have had this lens for about a year now and I use it for everything I do, portraiture, art, documentary. For the price the lense is good. I would recommend it.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Lens
By T.W.PhotoVerified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 9/19/2006
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Great contrast, Lightweight, Strong Construction, Super sharp
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Landscapes, Portraits, Travel

Comments about Tamron Tamron SP 28-75mm f/2.8 XR Di LD-IF Autofocus Zoom Lens for Canon EOS - U.S.A. Warranty:

This is a superb lens that comes very close in quality to Canon and Nikons pro line lenses, for less than half the price! For the cost, this lens cannot be beat!

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.