Buy the Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Tokina
Located in: Cameras & Lenses, Lenses & Accessories, 35mm & Digital SLR Lenses
Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5)
Pros:
Consistent output(8), Durable(7), Easily interchangeable(5), Fast / accurate auto-focus(9), Lightweight(6)
Cons:
Slow focus(3)
Best Uses:
General purpose(3), Sports/action(6), Wildlife(4), Wildlife photos(4)
 
great lens I use it to photgragh wildlif
By sparkerVerified Purchaser from clarkston wa on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight, Nice Bokeh, Perfet lens for my d80, Rugged, Strong Construction
Cons:
Poor in Low Light
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Macro Photography, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Video, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

great lens for the price.well build, geat size for travel.

[0 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
too much foryour money.
By Leon PabloVerified Purchaser from Aventura,fFl. on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Rugged, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

Im specting agood product,that lens are incredible

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Lens for the money
By DaveVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 1/25/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

Nice lens , works great on my Nikon D300. AF does not work on my Nikon D5000, then again the AF on my Nikkor 60mmf/2.8dAF doesn't work on my D5000.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the money
By DonVerified Purchaser from Northern California on 1/18/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens Creep, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Sports/Action, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

The manual focus leaves a bit to be desired. It isn't linier, and if you just touch the focus ring you've gone too far. It needs more action and less back lash.

But once on target it take great photos.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great lens for travel
By Ed CVerified Purchaser from Mechanicsville,VA on 5/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

The Tokina 80-400mm lens was exactly what I was looking for. It is a great lens for travel because it is light weight and small enough to fit in a backpack. That works great for air travel. I wanted a lens that would cover the longer range for landscape and wildlife pictures. On my Nikon D80 this becomes the equivalent of 120-600mm (with 1.5magnification). The other thing that was great about this lens is the price. It was very affordable. And I really think the quality of the pictures with the Tokina lens is excellent.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
A good lens for the money
By Big Bore BobVerified Purchaser from Covington, WA on 8/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight
Cons:
Slow Focus
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

I was hoping this lens would have a faster auto focus than the Nikon of the same focal length. It does, but not by a lot. It also does not feel as solid as the Nikon, and it does not have the VR feature. It is however very compact and light which is important to me. The ring on the sunshade for using a circular polarizer with the sunshade attached actually works pretty well. It is a good lens for anything that does not require rapid focus. Overall, and especially for the price, it is a good buy.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good alternative to more expensive model
By Nature ManVerified Purchaser from Dubuque, IA on 8/9/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

Works well as stated in product description. Only issue I have is using unit in manaul focus for nature shots. Focus ring is too fast and too loose. I have to focus every shot because of creep in manual mode. Fine lens when set to auto focus.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ideal for recession minded photographer
By reil from texas on 6/25/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Cons:
Lens Creep, Slow Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

The lens is great for daylight and flash photography to compensate with the lack of Vibratration Reduction feature. It's a great buy for recession minded photographer.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Smallest & Best Telephoto 80-400mm Zoom
By Ev GibsonVerified Reviewer from Tucson, Arizona on 8/11/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

Purchased this lens a little over one year ago and I am extremely happy with it. No VR available, but use a tripod anyway and no problems. Not my usual work horse lens, but for special situations it works great. I especially like its smaller size and price.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Lens at Great Price
By minixb from McKinney, TX on 2/20/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Mounted, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

I bought this lens not too long ago. This is a great alternative to Nikon's 80-400mm. Image quality is sharp and very detailed. Lens constuction felt strong and well made. For this price it's well worth it even without the image stabilizer. I will be using this more on my trip to Arizona to shoot mountains and maybe an eagle here or there.

[11 of 11 customers found this review helpful]

 
A well kept secret.
By RodVerified Purchaser from Kansas City,Mo. on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Glass, Easily Accessible Controls, Easily Mounted, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Best Uses:
Fun
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Tokina Tokina 80-400mm f/4.5-5.6 AT-X Pro D Auto Focus Zoom Lens for Nikon AF-D:

I use it also with a Kenko 2x converter and get remarkable results.This lens will give you that reach you want for wildlife photography and the quality will surprise you.A great way to save money rather than buying the high end glass.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.