Buy the Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(14), Easy to use(9), Improves function(3), Lightweight(6), Reliable(4)
Best Uses:
Macro photography(14)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9), Semi-professional(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By TonyVerified Reviewer from Pekin IL. on 9/20/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

I use this on my D90 with my 50mm lens and works great

Images shared by: Tony

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Great little gem
By ton from Pekin Il. on 9/16/2010
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

Just got the reverse ring and it works great put it on my 50mm lens

 
Well Made and Works Well
By ChipVerified Purchaser from Tampa, FL on 1/26/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

It mount easily and securely on both the body and lens. The ring is well-made.

Not a fancy piece of gear, but it opened up the world of macro photography for just a small amount of money.

Images shared by: Chip

Taken with reversing ring and 28mm prime.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Works very well
By nikongeekVerified Purchaser from Boca Raton, FL on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

It's made of metal (not plastic) and connects beautifully and solidly to the camera and the lens. Too bad it can't preserve AF :-)

 
Sturdy reversing ring
By TeddyVerified Purchaser from Rygge, Norway on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

Great magnification on short lenses. Be sure that you have an aperture ring on your lens, otherwise you won't be able to adjust the aperture easily.

The BR-2A feels solid and durable, but similar non-brand products can be found a lot cheaper.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
a ring is a ring
By uncaVerified Purchaser from reno on 9/22/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

it's a ring so thankfully it's round--what can i say

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent quality, but has it's limits
By LarsVerified Purchaser from Kingwood, TX on 8/11/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

I bought this specifically to mount on my 50mm f/1.8 nikkor. It takes a little getting used to at first since the working distance is less than a few inches and you MUST use a flash if you are in any environment short of a sunny day. The images turn out great with a large depth of field (>f16). The only drawback of it that cannot be helped if using a prime is the lack of focus adjustment. With a real macro, you can control how far away your subject is and focus on it, but with the reversal ring, you can only crop your shot at a single magnification. Also, if you screw the ring on tight enough (but not too tight!) to the lens, you will not have any issues with it falling off.

Images shared by: Lars

Taken with 50mm at closest focus distance.

Image Thumbnail

Taken with same 50mm, using BR-2A

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Does what is is supposed to do!
By MarlinVerified Purchaser from Highland Park, IL on 7/8/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

It is a good product for a special use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again
By deigoVerified Purchaser from Collinsville, IL on 2/6/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

I find this product of great help in doing macro photography.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap way to experiment with macro
By tracyVerified Purchaser from PDX on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

Cheap and easy way to experiment with macro photography if you already have a 50mm lens.

Everything is manual, focus is challenging, and your lens is exposed, but it works as designed.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does not lock in
By Russ from Woodhaven NY on 10/9/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Not Functional
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

The BR2A screws into the lens without any problem but it does not lock in to the camera body and the lens wants to fall off the camera when I try to focus or change the aperture.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very useful for macro over 1:1
By BzoxVerified Purchaser from Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina on 8/25/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

Great product for macro photography.

[0 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Haven't got it to work right yet
By MillermuddleVerified Purchaser from St. Joe, MO on 7/14/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Difficult to Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

This is the Nikon ring & I am using a Nikon D40x & Nikon lens. It will not recognize that a lens is attached. Maybe it's operator error but I can't get it to work.

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
Terrific solution for me.
By Betsy the newbieVerified Purchaser from central New York State on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Cheaper than a macro lens, Durable, Easy to Use, Helps teach M settings, Improves Function, Too much FUN
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon BR-2A 52mm Lens Reversing Ring:

This has been a terrific solution for lens lust on a budget. The challenge of all "M" shooting (including focus by movement) is one that only adds to the enjoyment and pure fun of reversing the outstanding and versatile 50mm lens. I enjoy my macro shoots (attempts anyway) each time I go out with the 50mm reversed with this ring. It is solid, and I don't worry about losing the lens off my camera. It is just too much fun.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.