Buy the Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras. image
 
(based on 21 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 21 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate(3), Durable(7), Easy to use(9), Great picture quality(3), Lightweight(12)
Best Uses:
Home(3), Landscape photography(3), Macro photography(8), Travel(5)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(13), Professional(4), Semi-professional(4)
 
Nikon DR-6 Right Angle, Slip-On Finder
By WAZ356Verified Purchaser from Adelaide, Australia on 3/7/2011
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Automotive, Everyday use
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

I use a D90 for casual shots, usually automotive for online adverts. I find the DR-6 gives me the option to change the angle I'm looking from which can totally change the perspective. It's also really handy for taking shots of kids, bringing the camera down to their level.

 
Works well for low angle shots
By PeteVerified Purchaser from South Carolina on 1/14/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

I found the best use was when I got it out in the field. Playing around at first glance I didn't think I was going to like it but loved it once I got it out in the real world.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
regularely used
By erikVerified Purchaser from norway on 3/3/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Functional
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

grandchildren, with a tripod

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must have for macro
By Ted2001Verified Purchaser from Redwood City, CA on 9/29/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

The 2x magnifier is very useful at close distances, has improved my images.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must Have Accessory
By BudwardVerified Purchaser from Trempealeau, WI on 6/13/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Cons:
No Lock Attachment
Best Uses:
Low-angle Shots, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

Great for ground level macro, wildflower photos, children at play, etc, etc. Optically excellent. It would be nice if it locked securely to the camera but still a must have item. Saves your back and your clothes.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
OK at most
By John ZVerified Purchaser from Irvine, CA on 5/6/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Not Durable
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

I find it extremely useful when camera is on a tripod, whether used horizontally or vertically. My complaint is the flimsy connection - a slide on clip. It is very prone to being knocked off. I would very much prefer to have the screw in type as in older nikon slr's.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very usefull
By NipTONEVerified Reviewer from Chile on 10/3/2008
Pros:
Durable, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Everyday Use, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

Very good and a great improvement for my D200 (and in the past, to my D70)
But I would love a "click" and a release button. It´s very easy to lose them on the field.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nikon DR06 Right Angle
By TPVerified Purchaser from Addison IL. on 5/24/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

I use it for marco and traveling, very easy to use

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Expensive but excellent
By alopezruizVerified Reviewer from Buenos Aires, Argentina on 5/17/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Flimsy
Best Uses:
Low angle shots, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

If you can afford it, in most situations it is more useful and easier to use than the DG-2.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must Have for the Macro photographer
By ALCrewsVerified Purchaser from Henderson, NC on 4/3/2008
Pros:
2X zoom for manual focus, Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Everyday Use, Macro Photography, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

Once you start using it you will not know how you got along with out it. It is a must have for shooting Flowers and insects.

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A Terrific Accessory
By MurrayVerified Purchaser from Baltimore, MD on 7/11/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Useful
Best Uses:
Tripod
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

This is a great accessory, tailor made for use when the camera is on a tripod. It frees the photographer from having to contort in order to see through the eyepiece. Slip this on and you can simply bend over and set up your shot. It rotates for even more flexibility.

There are off-brand finders of similar design, but their build quality isn't up to the genuine article from Nikon. My only wish is that Nikon would up the optional magnification to 2.5X like some of the others.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
not an accessory, a necessity
By PhotodocsjVerified Purchaser from Southern NJ on 7/10/2007
Pros:
Tack sharp focusing
Cons:
A bit pricey
Best Uses:
Close up and low POV
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

I have used Nikon's right angle viewfinders on my film cameras,but unfortunately the older circular VFs do not adapt. This is a must have item if you are doing close up work or anything where your camera is close to the ground. If you can afford a Nikon then there is no reason to rolling around on your belly!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
A good product, but needs some refinemen
By The PhotomakerVerified Purchaser from Sarasota Florida on 7/10/2007
Pros:
A back saving addition
Cons:
No locking device
Best Uses:
Copy work, Low angle shots
Describe Yourself:
IndustrialArchitectural, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

When shooting Architectural photography with my D-200, I am in need of low-angle, dramatic super-wide shots. Optically, except for some Vignetting on the high power, this viewer is sharp and great for critical viewing.
Since there is no locking screw, the viewer does not hold firmly to the camera and fell of twice.
I would have given this a higher rating if it had a positive locking device.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
As usual, another fine Nikon product!
By RichVerified Purchaser from Pacific Northwest, Oregon on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Reliable Tonal Range, Sharp! Stays in position.
Best Uses:
Artwork, Close up digital & film
Describe Yourself:
Abstract digital photo..., Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

Used right angle finders for many years.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for Astrophotography
By JohnVerified Purchaser from Colorado on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent
Best Uses:
ASTROPHOTOGRAPHY, MACROPHOTOGRAPHY, PORTRAITS
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

No more sore knees from stooping to look through the camera's finder when attached to the telescope when trying for critical focus!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Right Angle for the Right Price
By Uncle FunyVerified Purchaser from New York City on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Functional, Simple
Cons:
Somewhat "Plasticky"
Best Uses:
Closeups, Low Shots
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

This finder does what it says: It's indespensable for low shots (inlcuding overhead star trails, for example), copywork, etc. But the real advantage is that it works for so many cameras. I bought it for my D200 because my F100 right angle finder wouldn't work. AND it magnifies as well. Nice addition to the gadget back.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well made, very useful
By NoneVerified Purchaser from Boca Raton, FL on 2/18/2007
Pros:
Great Picture Quality, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Home, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

I did recommend this to a friend and he was very happy with it. You can get low to the ground without having to get down on your stomach. Opens up the possibilities for many unusual shots.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A great accessory for nature photogs
By JDVerified Purchaser from Tinley Park, IL on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Features, Lightweight, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Macro, Manual focus
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Pro
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

Since I do lots of close-up nature stuff, especially wild mushrooms, purchasing this finder was a no-brainer, as it's very hard for me to get my eye down to the viewfinder when I'm shooting some tiny thing growing on the ground even if I lay completely down on the ground. I have back problems, so laying down and getting back up can be a major and literal pain, not to mention that things that I'm photographing often pick a Poison Ivy-laden spot in which to grow (you do NOT want to lay down for focusing and composing there), but this right-angle finder has made things much easier, plus the magnification that it provides makes manual focussing with my D70 much easier, as it allows me to see the subject much more clearly.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Gadet Bag necessity
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Oakton, VA on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Great Picture Quality, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Cons:
Pricey
Best Uses:
Professional Work, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

Pricy but a necessity in a number of circumstances. Clear and properly displayed image. The magnifier is very handy.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great tool for copy stand work
By DonVerified Purchaser from Montana on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Great Features, Great Picture Quality, Lightweight
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Home, Office
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

The right angle adaptor makes using the Nikon camera on the copy stand a pleasure rather than a chore.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
This slip-on is a great SLR add-on
By BillVerified Purchaser from Plainville, Ma on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Home, Professional Work
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon DR-6, Right Angle, Slip-On Finder for the D90, D40, D40X, D50, D60, D70, D80, D70s, D100, D200, D300, N80, N75, N70 Cameras.:

The slip-on adds versatility to my Nikon Digital Slr's. Allows you to go in low.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.