Buy the Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Pentax
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(7), Easy to use(10), Improves function(6), Lightweight(14), Reliable(3)
Best Uses:
Macro photography(8), Portraits(5), Studio(5), Travel(5)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(12), Photo enthusiast(3)
 
Pentax cable switch 205
By Blue JayVerified Purchaser from Belton, Texas on 5/24/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Cord is a little short
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Macro Photography, Portraits, Studio, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

I bought this for use on my Pentax K10. The remote control cord could be a littl longer, but it does the job if you need to stand to the side of the camera and cannot use the wireless remote control.

 
Good
By PamVerified Purchaser from Melbourne, Australia on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

Functions just as you would expect but it would be useful to have a longer cable.

 
Simple & Effective
By SeptrainVerified Purchaser from 1 deg North of Equator-SG on 5/28/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Portraits, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

For portraits and bulb shoot. Pressing the switch halfway for focusing which I thought not available.

I used velcro tie to secure the remote to the camera strap to prevent accidental pulling of cable between connector & remote housing.

 
Not a bad switch...
By A tool guyVerified Purchaser from Fort Worth, Texas on 5/5/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Everyday use, Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

I have only one issue, and that is when I grab hold of the unit, I have a tendency not to find the trigger button, but an indentation that they built on the back of the unit near the end. I also think that it is a more logical place for the trigger button, too, instead of next to the wire. In my opinion, I would prefer it at the end of the unit. Just my opinion. It works well, as designed, doing what it is suppose to do.

 
Great addition
By Ron RVerified Reviewer from So-Cal on 2/10/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Landscape Photography, Macro Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

Great addition to my camera bag and my K20D. Works just as it shouls for shooting long exposures. I have tried using the wireless remote for long exposures, but it is not as relibable as this switch (button). A bit pricey, but a useful tool.

 
Finally, a "Time" shutter setting
By Dale356CarsVerified Purchaser from Illinois & Arizona on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

This offers the photographer the equivalent of a "Time" shutter setting long absent from modern cameras. If you ever wiggled or got a cramp in your finger while trying to make an extended exposure while pressing the shutter release button in "Bulb" mode, you'll appreciate this accessory.

 
Too expensive
By KirilVerified Reviewer from Durham, NC on 12/1/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Overpriced
Best Uses:
Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

It is essential to have this or a similar device for remote control. However, you can find generic wireless devices that accomplish the same function and give you more freedom for a fraction of the price.

 
It Works!!
By Tricky DickVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Everyday Use, Macro Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

How much can you say about a device such as this? It works. A little short for my desires. How 'bout an extension, Pentax? [$]

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works well
By snoidVerified Purchaser from Detroit on 7/29/2008
Pros:
Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Cable is a bit short
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

A bit expensive for what it does.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for long exposures
By Jethro B.Verified Purchaser from Ephrata, WA on 5/21/2008
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Too pricey for what it is
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

A useful device, considering there is no alternative. It's a must for sharp images using the 2 second delay feature to release the shutter (mirror up)--I would like to see it available in a longer version.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very useful!
By philippewang.infoVerified Reviewer from Paris, France on 2/18/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Cons:
Toxic matters
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Everyday Use, Family pictures, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

It's really useful to be able to take pictures without moving the camera with pressing the shutter.

But there's another functionality: locking the shutter. It allows you to take pictures continuously without being close to the camera. For instance, if you want to take a picture of everyone, you usually have a remote camera or else you set the timer to ~10 seconds, and it takes a single picture. If you can lock the shutter, then it takes as many pictures as you want (the battery must be charged enough and the memory card must have the capacity), and you can then chose the best picture the camera took.


So... The con is that on the box, there is a sticker mentioning ;

--
California Proposition 65 Warning
WARNING: This product contains chemicals, including lead, known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. Wash hands after handling.
--

Well, it's a little bit scary... (I wonder how this can be, and what parts contain such harmful stuff)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
A must have for any Pentax camera user..
By Bill in the ValleyVerified Purchaser from Modesto, CA on 1/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Great for timed shots, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Studio, Telephoto use on tripods
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

The Pentax Cable Switch 205 has become very useful when I'm shooting still life or when out doing landscape shots using a telephoto lens and tripod. Easy to attach and simple to use (just one button to click). It's small enough to slip into a shirt pocket, yet large enough to find in my bag. The price is great also so why not have a backup or two (not that you'll need one, but just in case). Overall a very good cable release and great value.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very handy for macro photography
By JKWParrottVerified Purchaser from Corydon, IN on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Lightweight, Small
Best Uses:
Macro photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

The Pentax cable switch is a requirement for macro photography to get rid of camera shake caused by handling the camera during shutter release. The cable switch operates flawlessly and is very easy to use. I use it for most of my close up photography needs and find it to be a great asset.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
cool tool
By Pentax guyVerified Purchaser from Poway, Ca. on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Great Features, Lightweight, Simple Controls, Versatile
Best Uses:
Home, Special Events, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

has worked on my 1st DS, and now my K10D. My son, the new owner of the 1st DS will have to buy his own.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pentax cable switch works great
By RayVerified Purchaser from Washington State on 2/6/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Professional Work, Special Events, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pentax Pentax Cable Switch 205 (3.5') for K20D, K10D, K200D, K100D, K110D, Digital SLR's & for ZX-L / IST Cameras:

Did the job it was purchased for

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.