Buy the Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras image
 
(based on 16 ratings)
Brand: Pro Optic
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.8 stars
(based on 16 reviews)
93% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(5), Firm mount(4), Lightweight(5), Strong construction(3), Strong effect(3)
Best Uses:
Close -ups(3), Macro(3)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(8), Semi-pro photographer(5)
Was this a gift?:
No(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Inexpensive extension tubes, work great!
By JMinCOVerified Purchaser from Colorado on 3/13/2011
Pros:
Strong Effect
Cons:
Weak Mount
Best Uses:
Artwork, Macro with any lens, Ultra close-up
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

I've used these tubes with a variety of lenses to shoot very close macro shots of bugs and spiders. These extension tubes will reduce the focal range of your lens, in most cases you will not be able to focus on any object more than a foot away. They allow auto focus with every AF lens I've tested, but at that close it's usually easier to manual focus anyway. Check out my samples, these tubes get you close!

Images shared by: JMinCO

Fly on a flower

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Close-up bug

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Quality Macro w/o breaking the bank
By MrDowntownVerified Purchaser from Pullman, WA on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

I love macro but as most people dont have the budget, well with this any lens becomes macro and for a great price. Works as well as more expensive models. Used these on my Canon T1i with EF-S lenses.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works well, worth the money
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Fort Collins, CO on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Macro photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

I am very happy with these extension tubes. I am using them with my 100mm macro for increased magnification, 1.6x with the 100mm lens on my Sony Alpha 100. Auto focus and exposure still works. Mechanics are not quite as smooth as typical Sony products, but they are pretty good, and it is mechanically strong and stable.

Images shared by: Mike

colored sugar crystals at 1.6x

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poor Functionality
By Tom F from Mount Airy MD on 11/14/2010
Cons:
Weak Mount
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

My 5D Mark II had communication problems with the tubes connected. The f-stop would not engage properly and data screen eventually registered ERR while locking up the camera. I had to remove batteries to bring back functionality. Not happy.

 
does what it's supposed to..kinda
By JayVerified Reviewer from South Korea on 11/11/2010
Pros:
Strong Effect
Cons:
Difficult to Thread
Best Uses:
Macro
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

well..it allows you to focus close so it does it's job. however, for some reason (for me at least) the autofocus would only work on my EF-S lens (18-55mm kit lens). I have the 50mm f/1.8 II EF lens and when any of the tubes were connected to that, it would not autofocus at all. exposure still seems to be fine with each lens so no complaints about that.the mounting of it..not very smooth. it's fine with taking it off the camera. but the lenses are also plastic mounts so it's a bit difficult to get off of those. waiting for my new lens to come in and i'll find out if it works better with a metal mount lens. if you just want a cheap extension tube. they're fine. i'd still recommend them to anyone on a budget. if u got a little extra money. get the metal mount at least. extension tubes are a lot of fun when going in close. can't wait to get my telephoto to use the longer tubes. as others have said. u lose the ability to focus to infinity. at 18mm with the 13mm extension and focused to infinity, the furthest i could focus meant i needed to be touching the subject with my lens filter.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap Macro/Closeup Solution
By sweetspotatf8 from Dallas, TX on 8/26/2010
Pros:
Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

First of all, it works and I would really recommend it to anyone. I bought it here from Adorama.A macro lens is a macro lens, but I found out that with the help of an extension tube I can fully utilize the usefullness of the lenses that I have.What I like about it:Great Value for the Money, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Made of Plastic but strong enough to use all three tubes all at once on the following canon lenses: Canon EF 28-135mm F/3.5-5.6 IS USM, Canon EF 70-210mm F/4 Macro and Canon EF 70-200mm F/4 IS USM. TTL metering compatibility, Autofocus functions provided there is enough light available.You can see more sample photos on my website at [@] just search for pro optic

Images shared by: sweetspotatf8

EF 85mm @F/8 using all three tubes

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Pro optic, Extension tube

 
As advertised
By Serene ScenesVerified Purchaser from Mechanicville, NY on 7/7/2010
Pros:
Firm Mount, Strong Effect
Cons:
Looses auto features
Best Uses:
Close focusing
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

These tubes are as advertised. They fit the camera and lens, but the camera and lens lose communication. They do shorten the minimum focal length, so they do what they are supposed to do. Good basic accessory for macro on a budget.

 
There is no better way to try macro
By JBravo920Verified Reviewer from New Braunfels, TX on 7/6/2010
Pros:
Easy to use, Great Price
Best Uses:
Macro Close Up
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

This product is very easy to use. Just take your lens off the camera, mount however many rings you want in it's place. Then place the lens back on top of the extension tubes. Aperture control works and autofocus still engages, but it's pointless to try to autofocus as these distances. Just set your camera for the closest possible focus, and move back and forth to get your subject in focus.
I've used these with a Sigma 50mm 1.4, Canon 60mm 2.8 Macro, Tamron 90mm 2.8 macro, and a Canon 70-200 f/4L non-IS. The extension tubes held everything without a problem. I'm usually holding the lens barrel while focusing for macro anyway to try to keep from camera shake, so I just hold it where the tubes meet the lens instead and there isn't a single worry in my head. Compatible with both EF and EF-S lenses.
They aren't built like a tank, but as long as you don't throw them on the ground or try to mount a 400 f/2.8 or any of the much larger canon L's, it shouldn't be a concern. They are plastic and there is no less expensive way to try out macro if you think you might be interested.
In a nutshell, these aren't the strongest tubes out there, but they still increase focusing distance, maintain aperture control, maintain autofocus, and since extension tubes contain no glass, these in my eyes are just as useful as the others.
If you have plenty of money to blow and have some extremely high end lenses, then you probably wouldn't even be looking at these, so I'm sure you'll be buying the Kenko's or the Canon's. But for anyone with a budget who just wants to try something new and have some fun, these are wonderful.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not What I Expected
By Jeff10ctVerified Reviewer from Naugatuck, CT on 6/7/2010
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

Ok, so I purchased the 'budget' set to hold me over until the "Vari-Tube" comes out, which is supposed to be a one-piece adjustable extension tube set. I had read the other reviews and decided to save myself an extra $40 or so and get this set instead of the metal Pro Optic set. I can leave with the cheap feel of the plastic mount, but the tubes do not work well with my camera (Canon EOS Rebel XSi) and lens (Canon EF 24-105 f/4L) combination that I bought this for. The tubes work individually, and then the 21mm & 31mm together - but I cannot use the 13mm with either the 21mm or 31mm or I get an "err 99" on my camera and I have to shut the camera down. I plan on returning the plastic mount for the metal mount ones.

 
A good choice for low volume usage
By RonVerified Purchaser from Hollywood, Florida on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Light volume macro
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

These rings are not a work of art by any means but they do work fine. I expected to use them sporadically and understood in buying this set that they would be plastic and marginally constructed. With that they are automatic and like all extension tubes there are no optics in them so this isn't a bad place to take a chance. If they fit properly to the body and lens they would be fine as I certainly was not going to wear them out. I could have easily said that these were poorly constructed but I knew they were very inexpensive when I bought them so frankly they were better than I thought. Bottom line is if you shoot with macro rings periodically and you have other places in your bag to spend the real money then these work fine.

 
works fine
By Kim WVerified Purchaser from Lake hughes ca on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Landscape/Scenery
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

Works well with my canon xti great value.

Images shared by: Kim W

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
Great Value
By Still MomentsVerified Purchaser from Milwaukee, WI on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Compact, Durable, Easy to Use, Great Picture Quality, Lightweight
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

I enjoy the additional range of focus it provides for my existing lenses. I was surprised the quality it such and inexpensive set. As long as you take care of them, the plastic mounts are durable. I have no found any problems or negatives

 
Met my expectations
By Big V from Chicago on 12/15/2009
Pros:
Inexpensive, SImple to use
Cons:
Flimsy Construction
Best Uses:
Affordable macro
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

I used this for couple hours and gos some decent images already! Canon EOS XT, 50mm 1.8 lens, 65 mm tube (approx. 1.4:1 magnification):Dollar bill:[@]Love it so far! I hope the cheap plastic will not break apart.

 
Great Purpose for the price!
By Mat the TechieVerified Reviewer from Yonkers, NY on 12/4/2009
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight, Simple Controls
Cons:
Flimsy metal contacts, Made of plastic
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Macro
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

Pricewise, three extension tubes for less than the half price of one tube from name brands! works as expected! supports auto focus! Helps to focus amazingly close! A good product compared to the pricy ones. Bought it from Adorama during sales after Thanksgiving. [...]

 
Good for the price
By EugeneVerified Purchaser from portlaand, Oregon on 8/9/2009
Pros:
Lightweight, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Close -ups
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

Is simple to use, does not require special training, works very good

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value
By SkiputVerified Purchaser from Salt Lake City, UT on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Close -ups, Tote Along
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Budget Auto Extention Tube Set for Canon EOS SLR Cameras:

Light weight and good quality for the price. This is ideal for the casual user who likes to get closeups of widflowers.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.