Buy the Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities. image
 
(based on 17 ratings)
Brand: Pro Optic
Located in: Cameras & Lenses
Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.8 stars
(based on 17 reviews)
82% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Durable(12), Easy to use(7), Improves function(6), Lightweight(9)
Cons:
Difficult to use(5)
Best Uses:
Macro photography(15)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(10), Semi-professional(3)

[2 of 20 customers found this review helpful]

 
Do Not Buy These And Do Not Use Adorama
By HSE in Phila from Philadelphia, PA, USA on 4/24/2010
Cons:
Difficult To Use, Not Durable, Not Functional
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Do not buy these tubes. I unfortunately purchased these from Adorama to get into macro photography. They worked great for two weeks, then they would not lock onto my Nikon. I sent these back to Adorama, who said they got lost in the mail and would not give m a refund or a replacement.

Bottom line: Macro photography is great and will open new world for you as a photographer, but buy a tele zoom lens that has a macro feature and buy it from a more reputable dealer (which Adorama isn't).

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Metering doesn't work!!!
By BerserkpenguinVerified Reviewer from Bozeman, MT on 1/23/2010
Cons:
Difficult To Use, Metering stops working
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

The metering stops working the first time that the meter times out, so in short it works great for about 30 seconds then you need to reattach the lens.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth the Money
By Bill Close InVerified Reviewer from Redding, CA on 1/14/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult To Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

These tubes are not up to the quality standard of your Nikon camera, but they do the job. I use them on my D90 with a 105mm Macro AF and the big surprise is that it autofocuses 90% on the money even when overstacking the tubes. They are a little stiff to get off and on - that's the only con for shy of $90...

[13 of 13 customers found this review helpful]

 
Ok Quality, but Excellent Value
By iamlucky13Verified Reviewer from Portland, OR on 12/12/2009
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult To Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Pros - Excellent improvement in reproduction ratio (full stack gives close to 1.5 to 1 on my 50mm F/1.8), reasonably durable feel, maintains metering and TTL capability, aperture coupling appears to work reliably, very affordable.

Cons - Tight fit as others have mentioned, mounting latch is sticky, AF drive screw creates "grating" feeling when manual focusing my AF-D lens, AF-S tries to work but hunts.

Overall Impression - At this price I was tempted to give them 5 stars, but I think the cons should be recognized. The tight fit and the sticky mounting latch don't really bother me, but the resistance in the AF linkage makes it feel almost like there's sand in my lens, and it's worse the more tubes you have on. This is not an issue with AF-S lenses because they have no screw coupling. I don't have a body with an AF drive motor, so I can't tell you if it affects focusing with AF lenses, but you'll probably prefer manual focus anyways.

The product description says manual-focus only with AF-S. Interestingly, the AF-S coupling is there, but my D40 and Nikkor 18-70 just hunts rapidly back and forth without being able to lock focus. I might try again in better light.

Other things to mention: It takes patience to set up a shot with the small working distance these tubes afford, and you lose about 1 stop worth of light with them all mounted. The "owner's manual" is a single printed sheet with basic mounting instructions and a few tips for use. The AF screw coupling is a nice thought, but I'd prefer they left it off. I'm very glad auto-exposure works properly with this set. The appearance is slightly different than pictured as of 12/11/09. I think the outer plastic cover is cheaper but now covers the meter coupling lever. Overall, I would definitely buy these again.

Images shared by: iamlucky13

50mm F/1.8 Closest Focus, No Tubes

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Comparison Image

50mm F/1.8 Closest Focus with Tubes Attached

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Extension Tube Set
By BobdptroVerified Reviewer from Boston, Ma on 6/3/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Great For Close-ups. The metal tubes were a little tight at first. But are easier to use now. They have a nice snug fit which I'd rather have compared to the plastic version of Kenko tubes which some reviewers say they are a little loose. I went to a butterfly museum and took some fantastic close-ups with the medium tube and my Nikon D90 with a 55-200mm DX lens.

Images shared by: Bobdptro

Shot with the 21mm Tube

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Shot with the 21mm Tube

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Extension tubes that work
By Jim the ShroomVerified Purchaser from Antioch, CA on 3/7/2009
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Works great for macro. Lots of light. Not like the inexpensive ones where everything is dark. A good price for an excellent product.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Performs well for specialized projects
By Jim from Left Gate PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Gainesville, GA on 3/7/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

I have used these tubes with the Nikkor 105mm Macro lens to get an even greater magnification ratio. These have performed as desired and I am very satisfied with them. Since there is no "whiz-bang" I didn't give them a 5 star rating, but they do perform exactly as advertised for the jobs I have used them for.

I would recommend them to someone looking for this type of tool.

Images shared by: Jim from Left Gate Photography

Defect in a glass insulator

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Well worth the money
By EasterlillyVerified Purchaser from Priairie du Chien Wisconsin on 2/9/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

After reading other reviews I was surprised that the tubes fit my Nikon D200 perfectly. There were easy to get on once they were lined up properly, and fit a tightly as you could possibly expect. The tubes are a great value for the money.

[1 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Limited Auto-focus
By MartynVerified Reviewer from Santa Cruz, CA on 1/31/2009
Pros:
Durable
Cons:
Inadequate Features
Best Uses:
Close -ups
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Stiff but functional. Does NOT provide autofocus with my trusty 50mm f1.8. Only Auto-focuses with newer motor-in-lens AF, lacks the mechanical drive needed for motor-in-camera AF. Would only recommend with this caveat.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
When Close is Not Close Enough
By GaryVerified Reviewer from Beacon Falls, CT. U.S.A., Earth on 12/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Improves Function
Cons:
Difficult to Use
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

This product works as expected, though it is tough to disconnect from the lens, or other extension tubes. That being about the only con, I am hopeful that it will rectify itself with a little break-in.

 
excellent product,,it amazing
By miriam the photographerVerified Purchaser from wakefield mass. on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Traveling
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

i use this product for marco photography and traveling is amazing the close up picture you get with the extension tube, beautiful,traveing is fanatic too.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great value
By MattVerified Reviewer from Saline, MI on 4/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Just started getting into macro photography, but have found these extension rings to be really nice. Seem quite durable and really like the fact they are stackable (both for on-camera use as well as carry in a small camera bag).

The only trouble I have had with them (as another reviewer also mentioned) was they are quite stiff. I found they didn't fully lock-in to the camera body and get the exposure data (for my body, you just need to depress a switch when attaching).

 
More effective than I thought
By Bern's PicsVerified Purchaser from Alberta, Canada on 4/17/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Way more magnification than I thought. A little tight to get onto my 50mm Nikon but works great

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works ok, fits tight, bit rough
By StanVerified Purchaser from Moses Lake, WA on 3/6/2008
Pros:
It fits, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Metering pin ring exposed on barrel of tube moves freely. Tubes fit very tight. Has to be grasped firmly to engage. Free spinning meter pin band interferes with my grasp. Release lever is chromed stamped sheetmetal. Rough action and tricky to press very firmly to engage release but not to bend the lever. I returned the set. It works ok and if you are looking to spend the least you can for functionality, this is prob for you. If you are use to smooth action, precise machining and polished movements, keep looking.

 
Increased magnification in Macro
By GiacomoVerified Purchaser from New York, N.Y, on 2/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Since transitioning from film to digital (Nikon photomic FTN-d80)I was "bitten by the bug" of Macro photography. Having purchased a Sigma 105mm macro lens I wanted some way to magnify the image other than close-up filter like attachments. I had to decide on either the Kenko or the Pro Optic brand. For half the price of the Kenkos the Pro Optics performed outstandingly[...]!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Extension Tubes
By JoelVerified Purchaser from Fruita, Colorado on 1/22/2008
Pros:
Durable
Best Uses:
Macro Photography, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Great item, easy to use and works very well

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pro Optic Extension Tubes for Nikon a Gr
By Jim the geo writerVerified Purchaser from Prescott, AZ on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Durable, Easy to Use, Improves Function, Lightweight, smooth operation
Best Uses:
close ups, Macro Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional, writer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pro Optic Pro Optic Auto Extension Tube Set for Nikon AF SLR Cameras with Full Exposure Capabilities.:

Great value that I could not obtain from Nikon! Quality shows through when I use these! Boxed product shows these to be for digital cams, whereas the advertisements state they are for film. Because I could see no difference, I ordered and was pleased to see "digital" shown, as that was my desired operating mode.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.