Buy the Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
 
(based on 22 ratings)
Brand: BlackRapid
Located in: Cases, General Accessories, Straps & Slings
Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 22 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Adjustable(22), Comfortable(22), Does not chafe(17), Strong construction(21), Well padded(20)
Best Uses:
Comfort(19), Stable(12), Supporting camera(16)
Describe Yourself:
Casual photographer(3), Photo enthusiast(9), Semi-pro photographer(9)
 
Black Rapid RS4
By Randy CVerified Purchaser from Wellborn, FL on 9/5/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

I purchased 2 of these. I had made similar camera straps myself, but without padding. This Black Rapid strap is much better. The monitor cover doesn't get scratched like when hanging on your chest and you have no neck pain. Be careful how you let the camera hang if you have a GPS and cable attached to the camera. When I am walking I still have my hand on the camera so I can hold it in the right position so's not to possibly damage the GPS.

 
Simple and effective
By WoodyVerified Purchaser from Seattle, WA on 6/7/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

I'm a very passionate hobbyist, and the first couple of months of using my camera for long periods of time, I was feeling sore on my shoulder, as well as ALWAYS having the problem to bring my camera at eye level when also carrying a backpack. The regular strap is "ok", and is functional is you hang it around your neck, but I don't like it bouncing on my belly while I'm walking, and I don't like holding the camera the whole darn time (like some other people do). Anyway, long story short, I looked at videos of this strap and said "looks cool", then I bought it, tried it, and veredict: I loved it! It attaches securely on the tripod socket on your camera, rests on your side at your hip (or lower/higher depending how you like it), very easy to adjust, extremely well padded, and metal pieces are good quality. The extra zipper on the shoulder is very good as well, for a couple of extra memory cards, or if you prefer, an ipod nano ;)
I love the fact that I can use it while carrying a backpack, and access my camera and take a picture instantaneously. No more chafing on your shoulder, no more tangling when switching to vertical position, no more bouncing on your belly.
The only cons I can think of are:
- price
- it uses the tripod socket. So, if you are in a constant need to put camera in a monopod or tripod, say using long lenses for wildlife, it may be a pain, but there should be a way to solve that issue, or DIY kind of thing.
Great strap, just loved it!

 
Great Strap with RS Brad
By RiceboyVerified Purchaser from San Francisco, CA on 5/24/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Best strap that I have ever used! Use it with D700 and 24-70f2.8

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
This product works as advertised.
By FrankVerified Purchaser from Kansas City. MO. on 5/9/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Cons:
Needs a strap stop, Pad slides off shoulder
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

I am a running race photographer and use this product to carry my D200 w/my Tamron 70-200 f2.8 lens attached by my side while using my back up camera. Good product and is comfortable to use. Only thing and why I didn't give it 5 stars is because I think it needs something to a stop the strap shoulder pad from sliding off my shoulder. It does, however, have a plastic slide clip on the strap. If this is a stop I haven't figured it out yet. Anyway, it still is a functional product.

 
Great Strap
By RayVerified Purchaser from Brooklyn, New york on 4/12/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Cons:
Non that i can find
Best Uses:
Comfort, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

I'm usually very hesitent when buying from a website but this product has proved me wrong. it's well made and easy to adjust and use. probably the best strap i or anyone will ever use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
RS4 - Met Expectation +
By Robert TVerified Purchaser from New Smyrna Beach on 3/21/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

I recently worked in Mexico and was required to climb hills and move through a rough area. The RS4 provided unexpected stability for my Nikon and 200mm lens attached.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Comfortable and fast
By SteveVerified Purchaser from Delano, MN on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Stabilizing
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Use this whenever I'm not using the tripod and outside. Camera is less conspicuous with this strap and it gets better protection with my arm covering it. Very comfy and the camera moves from hanging by my side to shooting position in a flash.
Only slight issue is that the locking screwgate is very easy to overtighten and the tough to loosen. Minor issue though, love this strap and won't use anything else.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Straps do not come better than this!
By PaulVerified Purchaser from Northern Virginia on 1/14/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

This strap is an excellent design. Attaches to the tripod socket and hangs comfortably behind you or at your side. This means it's your camera is instantly available to catch that unexpected shot. Not great if you only have one body and are switching between hand-held and tripod but, otherwise one of the best straps I have seen.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very good, easy setup,
By Scott, new to photographyVerified Purchaser from Raleigh, NC on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

I used the original strap that came with my camera. It was extremely uncomfortable and became a burden to carry a camera around. I received this as a Christmas present and sold my D40x. It is attached to my T1i now. I really like how comfortable the strap is. I have not used it too much, but it is far less strain on the neck than the regular strap. Now it rests across my hip and supported by my hip.

The only negatives and they are not really negatives is that the lens is exposed behind you. I will have to be conscious of that. The other issue is with a tripod quick release plate. I had to remove the rubber grommet on the screw to attach it. I am checking to see if the sell a different screw that is longer when using it in this respect.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Strap I every Had for Sports Photog
By TheProperExposureVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Friend told me about this great camera strap he had. As soon as I attached it to my camera I quickly realized how easy and unobstrusive the strap was going to be. You have to be quick when taking sports photos. Regular style neck straps get in the way quickly when switching from Horizontal to Vertical shots when handholding your camera, whereas this strap attaches to the bottom of the camera (tripod screw) never getting in the way. Great stap!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing!!
By Joe DVerified Purchaser from Wilmington, DE on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Worth every penny!!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Rapid Strap Is Awesome
By davidhbVerified Purchaser from NY NY on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Very good design. Works as expected.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Black Rapid performs
By JackVerified Purchaser from Trabuco Canyon, CA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Performs as advertized. A definate 'quick draw' for your camera from waist to eye. Add a hand strap and your good to go.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works as advertised
By JimVerified Purchaser from Ft. Lauderdale, FL on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Very durable and works as Scott Kelby said in his book. Helps keep camera out of the way in crowds when not shooting. Glad I bought it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
"Just what I needed"
By Camera ManVerified Purchaser from Winston-Salem, NC on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Comfort, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Keeps my camera securely by my side.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The R-Strap should come with every SLR.
By inlinefoxVerified Purchaser from Alexandria, VA on 11/9/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

A professional photographer friend of mine turned me on the the R-Strap. He said its the only strap he uses and I quickly found out why. Taking pictures using the R-Strap couldn't be easier. The camera hangs by your side in the perfect position to grab. Bringing the camera up to your eye is a natural motion. In the time I've been using the R-Strap, I have not once fought with the strap. That was not the case with the factory-installed strap, which was always in the way. The R-Strap makes taking photos even more enjoyable. Get an R-Strap!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Black Rapid RS4 +RS5
By BobMVerified Purchaser from Mass on 11/2/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

I have both the RS4 and 5 versions of this strap. I started with the version 4 and after using this on my 5D only a few times quickly ordered the RS5 and moved the 4 to the 40D. I was sold on the concept and ease of use. I liked the additional storage of the 5 (memory cards, lens cleaner, etc.). I would have a lot of trouble going back to the common style camera straps. It has a secure locking hook to connect to the tripod mount, although I have the Bogen RC2 quick connect attached to my camera and attach it directly to that. It is secure and easy to remove when I want to mount it to a tripod. Many people after seeing mine have inquired where they could get one.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The perfect strap for a single camera
By GexbertVerified Purchaser from Overland Park, KS on 11/2/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

I've tried several straps before landing on this one. It's comfortable for long periods and gives plenty of room for the strap to be positioned diagonally across the body while still allowing plenty of room to lift and position your camera for a shot.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I would buy this product again and again
By EVerified Purchaser from Cleveland, Ohio on 9/2/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

This strap is so comfortable! It is very sturdy. I feel very confident that my camera is safe on this strap.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Terrific Product
By MacVerified Purchaser from Peoria, IL on 9/2/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

This makes carring a camera, maybe not a joy, but at least very tolerable.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great strap, that just works!
By A.J.Verified Reviewer from San Diego, CA on 5/19/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction
Cons:
Big
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

This review is actually for the new RS-4 strap with the ConnectR-2 and the FastenR-2. The RS-4 is similar to the RS-1 but has a small sleeve in the strap big enough for a memory card or some cash. The ConnectR-2 greatly reduces the bulk of the connection to the camera while maintaining a solid connection compared to the original ConnectR. It screws on tightly and seems to stay where its at, although I'll make a point of checking it throughout the day until its proven itself a little more. The FastenR-2 now utilizes a locking carabiner that seems to be made very well and should not come undone. The RS-4 strap is great for hiking with your camera as the camera sits on your side or in the small of your back and therefore bounces much less than wearing the camera around your neck. It also allows the lens and body to rest against your body so that it doesn't smack into things by sticking straight out sideways like when you wear your camera strap over your head and shoulder. The strap handles the weight of a D300 and 18-200 easily although the camera is still a little lens heavy. I think this has more to do with the front weight of the 18-200 though and it is still balanced better than my traditional strap. This strap would really be nice for carrying around larger lenses with tripod mounts on the lens. So far the strap is five stars for functionality but only four stars for price. Overall its very well made and I look forward to putting it through more paces.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome Product
By Trixie's DadVerified Reviewer from Arkansas on 4/27/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Easy to walk with camera, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Events, Field Work, Sports, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera, Wedding
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about BlackRapid Black Rapid Straps RS4 Black Fabric, Lightweight and Low Profile:

Love this product! Bought two and I can have two cameras with different lenses at my fingertips. Strong construction and adjustable.[...]

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.