Buy the Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Trekking
Located in: Cases, General Accessories, Straps & Slings
Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
83% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Adjustable(14), Comfortable(15), Does not chafe(9), Strong construction(16), Well padded(11)
Best Uses:
Comfort(14), Stable(9), Supporting camera(17)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(9), Semi-pro photographer(8)

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just what the Dr. ordered - literally
By Photo BobVerified Reviewer from Newark, CA on 8/19/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
All day camera wear, Comfort, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

I have been doing event photography for years and the biggest issue has been how sore my neck was at the end of the day from carrying a heavy pro level camera and lens for 12 hours straight. For my last event I bought this strap hoping I would be in better shape at the end of the day. My goodness what a difference! After 12 hours of chasing folks around a Health Event I felt great. No neck or shoulder pain at all.

 
Great for heavy cameras!
By PixbyJenVerified Purchaser from WI on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

My only complaint is you have to constantly adjust it in order to get my DSLR up to my eye.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I can't live without this strap.
By MackVerified Purchaser from Hagerstown, MD on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

No more stress on my neck due to weight of two heavy cameras. I have total control accessing both cameras and the pads on the shoulder straps make it very comfortable to bear the weight of the cameras.

 
Trekking Safari Strap
By PeteVerified Reviewer from San Jose on 11/11/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Perfect for TWO big DSLRs, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Hiking with 2 heavy DSLRs, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

Wow! I must have bought 50 various camera "straps" in my 60+ years taking pohotographs - and this is FAR AND AWAY the best! Furthermore, it can be easily modified to be even better!

I have Nikon DSLRs (2x D200s and a D3), along with a large selection of high-end Nikon lenses. i.e., I can't avoid carrying a LOT of weight when hiking (often in hills/mountains). I first used the Trekking Safari unmodified, with a single D200 or the D3. It was unbelievably comfortable when properly adjusted (see below). I experimented with adding a second D200, using "cobbled" strapping to the binocular fixings. It was totally successful - although not as convenient as I would have liked!

OK, so what I really wanted was to be able to snap-fit any camera body to either the Safari's "camera" OR "binocular" positions. To achieve this, I bought some Op/Tech camera straps from a local dealer, cut them up and sewed the necessary snap fixings in place of the "binocular" fixings on the Safari. Then I attached three identical sets of compatible 3/8in. wide straps + snap fixings, to my camera bodies. VOILA! An excellent Safari strap became a SUPERB Safari strap.

I feel certain that there are many photographers who are seeking a really comfortable way to carry two heavy cameras having different lenses mounted - both of which are instantly ready-for-action. I plan to buy another D3 body sometime soon - and have no qualms about carrying two D3s with the Safari to shoot the next family wedding, or take on photo expedition to who-knows-where...

The Safari is absolutely great for carrying a lot of weight easily and comfortably for long periods - but ensure that you adjust the strap so that the lower camera hangs just below your belt. This position is a) most comfortable (yes guys, believe me, it really is) and b) prevents the back of the camera from potential damage by a belt buckle. This advice holds good when carrying a single camera or two cameras.

I recommend this product without reservation. However, with the modifications that are described above, it's worth at least 7 stars, and I don't know of any equivalent camera strap.

 
Easy on the neck and back
By nikongeekVerified Purchaser from Boca Raton, FL on 11/4/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

I found this item well made and very comfortable to use. It makes carrying a heavy camera (and an optional pair of binoculars) easier since there is no strain on the neck. It is well made and has two small pockets for carrying a spare battery or memory cards. Two things I did notice that could be improved; it is a bit confusing to put on the first few times (fits like a shoulder holster) and it would be nice if it had more and larger pockets; otherwise I really like it. You can set up two cameras since it comes with extra camera clip straps so you only need one strap.

 
A must for large lenses
By Rod.Verified Purchaser from Live Oak, CA on 9/30/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

I use the Trekking Safari Strap when I go on long walks in the country. I use a Nikon D80 with a 70-200 F2.8 lens which is quite heavy, but it is not a problem, as the weight is distributed to your back and shoulders, and not around your neck. A great product.

 
Didn't work for me
By RoosterVerified Purchaser from Seattle,Wa on 9/2/2009
Pros:
Strong Construction
Cons:
Not enough adjustment
Best Uses:
Supporting binos, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

Ordered this to carry a dslr with medium size
telephoto lens and a pair of 8x42 binos. I am
a big man and harness constantly rode up my back.
I spent more time readjusting it than enjoying the use of both camera and binos. My wife even tried it with just much smaller(less weight) camera, and she had problem with it riding up on her neck. I liked the design, but probably needs a couple different sizes rather than one size fits all.Unfortunately returned item.

 
Best purchase I made in years
By AvonJimVerified Purchaser from Napoleon, OH on 8/19/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Easy to Put On, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

As a press photographer, I often have to wear a camera for hours. The Trekking Safari Strap allows me to do this completely without any neck strain and frees my hands for taking notes.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Prevents a pain in the neck!
By Lucy F.Verified Purchaser from Whitefish, MT on 8/10/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

I bought this to use with my Canon 50D and 100-400mm lens, totalling around 5 lbs of weight. This strap is much better ergonomically for supporting the camera than a neck strap, and the camera is still easy to grab and lift for shooting. I debated between buying this strap versus a more expensive device that latches the camera to a body harness, and chose this because of price and the fact that the camera remains on a supporting strap. The only downside is that the camera still dangles when I hike with it and I generally need to steady it with my hand (or put it in a case over rougher terrain.)

 
What a amazing desing BRAVO !
By MarcelVerified Purchaser from Massena, NY on 8/9/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Comfort, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

One of the best accessory for all level of Photographer.

Could also be sure easely with a Monopod.

Bravo for the great construction and the confort.

You need that , it is a most.

 
Trekking Safari Strap Does The Trick!
By PatSportsPhotoVerified Purchaser from Reading, PA on 8/9/2009
Pros:
Comfortable, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

I love it, but I have to pull it down in the back or it starts to ride up in the neck. I am going to slightly modify mine so that it attaches in the back to my belt. Could be the way I'm built. I will say that it does the job and I would reccomend it to any sports photographer to safe on neck and back pain. Good, quality product.

 
Trekking Safari Strap
By Mellow YellowVerified Purchaser from Waterbury, CT on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Cons:
Poor directions
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

It is wonderfull to have the Trekking for carring my Nikon D90 with my 70-300VR lense and my Nikon 8x42 HG L DCF binoculars at the same time and not hurt my neck since I am not as young as I once was.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Did not perform as expected
By Photo JohnVerified Purchaser from Michigan on 7/22/2009
Best Uses:
Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

The weight of a professional camera shifts the harness's distribution of weight towards the rear of your neck.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
works as advertised
By casual photographerVerified Purchaser from worcester,ma. on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

it provides support as advertised

 
A very good product
By MarkVerified Purchaser from Tampa Bay, FL on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

Bought this product for my wife who is a photographer. She loves the strap and felt less fatigued after our last trip to a state park on a hiking trip.

 
Great for camera ready portability
By The HookVerified Purchaser from Albany NY on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction, Well Padded
Cons:
Inadeqaute instructions
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

It took a long time to figure out how to adjust for fit and attach the camera. Instructions are inadequate

 
Sure saves the neck
By JohnVerified Purchaser from Hamden, CT on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Adjustable, Comfortable, Does not Chafe, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Comfort, Stabilizing, Supporting Camera
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

Works as advertised. Very comfortable while walking with a heavy lens and camera photographing wild life. Instructions a little vague, but not hard to figure it out.

[5 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheaply Designed, Very Flawed
By ShannonVerified Reviewer from Ukiah, CA on 7/9/2009
Pros:
Inexpensive
Cons:
Chafes, One Size Does NOT Fit All, Poor Design, Poor documentation, Poorly Padded
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Trekking Trekking Safari Strap, Pressure Free, Easy Access Neck Strap for a Heavy DSLR or Pair of Binoculars:

I have a Nikon D300 and bought the Trekking Safari Strap as an easier, lighter way to carry my DSLR camera. Previously I had been using the ThinkTank Airport Antidote to carry my camera (this is a backpack case that you can connect the camera straps to the shoulder pads for easier carrying so that it doesn't put all of the strain on your neck, much like what the Trekking Safari Strap claims to do, but doesn't deliver on). The ThinkTank system is MUCH better. It is designed with more padding and made with better materials and stitching. It is comfortable but bulky (since it is a backpack and the Trekking Safari Strap is just a harness). The Trekking Safari Strap comes as a one size fits all, but this isn't true. I'm 6 feet tall and weight about 220 lbs. I had to set this as small as possible so that it wouldn't ride up on my neck and put all of the weight on my neck (like a normal camera strap would). Someone smaller, like the woman in the picture, wouldn't be able to use this at all. The Trekking Safari Strap is supposed to put the weight on your back, but it isn't designed properly to do so. If you look closely at the few pictures available you can see that the people wearing it are not really using it as designed. It cannot hold up a large, heavy DSLR camera using your back since there is no counter weight like in a backpack and the straps just go under your arms with only one adjustment per side. It needs a better designed harness.

I tried using several of the connectors that it offers but they all worked poorly. If you clip on to the metal rings at the top, it rides up on your neck like crazy and doesn't fit well at all. If you connect using the plastic straps and then walk around a little, it quickly adjusts to the lowest point and then puts pressure across your chest in an uncomfortable way. There just doesn't seem to be a way to get this thing to fit comfortably and stay there for any time at all.

Additionally, the straps are thin and don't provide hardly any comfort where they rub your neck and shoulders. There is only one adjustment for the strap (another bad design decision). It would also have been better if they had provided two ended clips for people that want to keep their current strap on their camera and only wanted to snap on this thing for occasional use. They do provide an extra set of clips.

Hardly any documentation is provided and what is provided has obviously been translated into English, quite poorly. Luckily, it is such a simple design that you don't really need much more to know how to use it, but this might frustrate some people.

I decided to send mine back. It is hardly better than an average camera strap and certainly not as good as the ThinkTank system. It is inexpensive, and that is why I gave it 2 stars instead of 1. I would recommend avoiding this product. It is an interesting idea that needs a better design and better materials before it will be useful, comfortable and will work properly.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.