Buy the Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets image
 
(based on 12 ratings)
Brand: Pelican
Located in: Cases, Lighting / Tripod / Studio Cases, Light Stand Cases
Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 12 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Comfortable strap(6), Durable(5), Good protection(9), Lightweight(10), Lots of pockets and features(4)
Cons:
Uncomfortable strap(3)
Best Uses:
Daily transport(9), Storage(5), Travel(8)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(4), Pro photographer(3)
 
Lightstand bag
By cogVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 5/9/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Organization, Portraits, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

Holds two light stands, an umbrella and reflector and all the grip without difficulty. Great way to keep it all together as well.

 
Great Bag
By JohnVerified Reviewer from Northwoods, WI on 5/5/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Fits Well, Solid/Sturdy
Best Uses:
Secure Bag
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

This case is wonderful. The material is thick, the padding is dense and the zippers are strong. It holds everything nicely and the 3 pockets are handy too!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Bag with space to spare!
By DLVerified Purchaser from Geneva, Switzerland on 11/23/2009
Pros:
Durable, Lightweight, Quality construction
Best Uses:
Daily Transport, Storage
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

I looked around quite a bit before selecting this bag. Having several light stands and heads I wanted something with some flexibility - this bag certainly fits the bill. It typically carries two Manfrotto light-stands (collapsed to about 37"), a reflector arm attachment, a small dslr tripod, a normal sized tripod, and a few different head attachments organized in the pockets.

 
Great bag for strobist
By Vivek007 from San Jose, CA on 9/29/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Strap, Compact, Durable, Good Protection, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Daily Transport, Storage, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

I love this bag, I can easily fit three of my portable lightstands, three portable umbrellas, three flashes, and tons of other flash accesories in it with no problem. Build quality is excellent and you just cant find a better bag for this price.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for Portable Lighting Kit
By Ken BVerified Reviewer from Winston-Salem, NC on 6/3/2009
Pros:
Design, Good Protection, Lightweight
Cons:
Uncomfortable Strap
Best Uses:
Daily Transport, Storage, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

Looking at this case on-line, it's hard to find specifics. The photos are tiny and even the Pelican web site seems to overlook it. That's too bad, because this is a terrific case for a small strobe kit, or for light stands, umbrellas or tripods.

Measurements:

The main compartment has about 36 inches of usable interior length, and is 6x6 inches square in cross section. It will easily hold four Bogen 8-foot 3-section light stands with room left for a couple of small umbrellas. A Chimera Medium Softbox is a tighter fit due to the length of the rods, but it will fit.

There are three exterior padded pockets. Two are 8 inches long by 4 inches tall, and one inch deep. The center pocket is about 13 inches long, same height and depth.

The smaller pockets will easily hold a Canon 430 EX II flash with a Sto-Fen bouncer installed. They will also hold a Canon 580 EX II flash, but without the Sto-fen, and frankly it's something of a tight fit. The center pocket will hold the 580 EX II and some additional gear, or a set of Pocket Wizards, that sort of thing.

There are two straps. They can be lengthened to carry the bag as a backpack, or shortened to use as grab handles. The straps are the only thing I would improve on this case. It would be nice if they had a leather/Velcro closure to make it easier to grab and carry.

I set up this case with 2 Canon strobes, external batteries, 2 compact light stands, a Justin clamp, and various Honl light modifiers, an umbrella, and an Apollo soft box. It all fits neatly and is easy to organize and find my gear on location. I ordered a second case to make another location kit.

 
Awesome bag!
By GrewbekVerified Purchaser from Indianapolis, IN on 2/8/2009
Pros:
Comfortable Strap, Durable, Good Protection, Lightweight, Lots Of Pockets And Features, Perfect size
Cons:
Uncomfortable Strap
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

I looked at lots of tripod bags, and almost pulled the trigger on one of the trumpet-shaped Bogen Manfrotto bags until I saw this one. It's perfect! Big enough for my Gitzo 2531 with Markins Ballhead attached, and also fits an 8' air cushioned light stand and a couple of umbrellas as well. It has side pockets for extras, lots of padding, and is well constructed (as are all Pelican products I've ever purchased). The only change I would make would be to give this a more comfortable, padded strap to sling it over my shoulder.

 
ABSOLUTELY THE BEST LIGHTSTAND BAG
By SimonVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Strap, Durable, Good Protection, Lightweight, Lots of Pockets, Weatherproof
Best Uses:
Daily Transport, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

This bag is just fabulous. I've carried my Canon 430ex Flash, ST-E2 Wireless Transmitter, a light stand, a tripod, and carried memory cards and cords in the pockets. I am definitely going to buy another one of these in the near future.

 
Love this lightstand bag
By VivekVerified Purchaser from San Jose, CA on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Strap, Compact, Good Protection, Lightweight, Weatherproof
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Daily Transport, Storage, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

I absolutely love this bag for my strobist hobby. It's really good build quality for the price, its compact and i can easily fit my three 8' foot lightstands, three umbrellas, 4 flashes, tons of batteries, and other accessories. Its easily accessible and easy to carry along with your camera backpack. Highly recommended.

 
The Most Perfect Bag
By photo travelerVerified Reviewer from providence on 12/12/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Strap, Durable, Good Protection, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Daily Transport, Storage, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

This bag is fantastic. Roomy, pockets are a great size, very accommodating. I came back to buy more because they fit tripods, cases, etc. so well. I carry light stands, umbrellas and a tripod all at once! (Mine are kind of petite, though, so not everyone will be able to fit the tripod.) I bought another for the office ad we use it for a lowel 2-light tota kit. Great price too!

 
SUPERB!!!
By Simon from Boston, MA on 11/13/2008
Pros:
Comfortable Strap, Good Protection, Lightweight, Lots Of Pockets And Features, Weatherproof
Cons:
Zipper a bit tight
Best Uses:
Daily Transport
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

This bag is perfect for all your lightstand / umbrella needs!! Has 3 pockets on the side for cords, compact flash/memory, etc. It could even fit a Canon 4300ex speedlite! This is a must have for those without a lot of space and would love the convenience of keeping their lightstands in a bag.

 
Lots of space
By Jon from Melbourne, Vic, Austalia on 7/14/2008
Pros:
Good Protection, Lightweight, Lots Of Pockets And Features
Best Uses:
Daily Transport, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

This bag is large enough to accommodate 4 light stands and 4 double fold umbrellas. The pockets on the outside are large enough for 2 super clamps and 2 swivel adapters.

If you only have a couple of light stands, there would be space left over for other things like your speedlights and radio transmitters.

Highly recommended.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect
By MDKKnD from Adelaide, South Australia. on 12/2/2007
Pros:
Good Protection, Lightweight, Lots Of Pockets And Features
Cons:
Uncomfortable Strap
Best Uses:
Daily Transport, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Pelican Pelican 38" Padded Tripod / Lightstand Bag with Side Pockets:

This is a great light stand bag. I can fit 2 umbrella's and 2 light stands (the Adorama LTSP10AC is perfect).

The extra pockets on the side can fit most adapters and the smaller side pockets can fit a 580ex + hotshoe adapter.

The bag is comfortable and light, and although it doesn't carry as much as some of the other bags it is very durable and I can see myself using it as my main lighting carry bag for quite while.

The only gripe I have is that the there's no padding at the middle of the straps, nor any velcro to hold the two straps together, but I've felt like I needed it.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.