Buy the Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Smartparts
Located in: Computer Systems
Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2.6 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
38% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Cons:
Poor picture quality(3)
Primary use:
Personal(7)
 
Can't beat it for the Price
By MetrologistVerified Purchaser from Northern Virginia on 7/23/2009
Pros:
Attractive Design, Easy Photo Upload, Easy To Use, Quality Construction
Cons:
Can't vary brightness, No Internal Memory, No Resolution Adjustment
Best Uses:
Photography Display
Describe Yourself:
Quality Oriented
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smartparts Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix:

Very basic and simple to use. I've bought three of these units now. My wife insisted on buying one for her sister and my sister as well. If you want a economic way to display your digital photos this is great. Don't expect it to look as good as it does on your computer. If you want that kind of resoltion, clarity and control go ahead and spend the extra[$] and get something else. But if you just want to be able to enjoy your photos, this is great.

 
Good deal for the money
By Mountain Mommy 27Verified Purchaser from Denver, Co. on 1/23/2009
Pros:
Great picture quality, Large Viewing Area, Reliable Performance
Cons:
Can't down load picture
Best Uses:
Digital picture display
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smartparts Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix:

This is a good product for the price. The wooden frame is quality, the picture quality is great and the screen is nice and big. It's incredibly easy to use. Just insert your camera's memory card and you're done. The only thing I don't like about it is that there is no way to download pictures onto the frame from my computer or edit the photos that are stored in my camera's memory card. So whatever pictures are on the card,that's what's getting displayed. So the options are limited but it's still a great purchase.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poor quality - don't buy this frame
By KLH from Minnesota on 1/21/2009
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smartparts Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix:

I never even got to use this product - bought it for my daughter for Xmas & the screen was damaged so I tried to exchange it & the 2nd frame had the same problem - I will be returning it - terrible gift

 
Not great but nice
By MaxsterVerified Purchaser from New York City on 1/21/2009
Cons:
Poor picture quality
Describe Yourself:
Graphics Enthusiast
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smartparts Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix:

Nice for people who are not so into the technology. For my parents worked even if I think I'm gonna buy something bigger and with a much better definition.

 
cheap but works
By gift giverVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Cheap and works
Cons:
Can't change display time, Relatively low resolution
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smartparts Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix:

Recommended as a basic picture viewer for someone who doesn't need to make many adjustments. You need to use the Smartparts download utility to get the pictures to format and display correctly.

 
Small disappointment
By BlitzVerified Purchaser from Boston, MA. on 1/1/2009
Pros:
Small Footprint
Cons:
Lacks Adjustability, Unable 2 change brightnes, Unable 2 change view rate
Describe Yourself:
Graphics Enthusiast
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smartparts Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix:

Difficult gift for parents, not enuf adjustability like slide show rate of speed or even the ability to adjust the brightness... not like other digital frames

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Avoid This One
By PCVerified Reviewer from Dayton, OH on 12/26/2008
Cons:
Lacks Adjustability, Poor picture quality
Describe Yourself:
Casual User
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smartparts Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix:

Picture is very dark, and only acceptable if you are looking down on the picture. No way to adjust brightness. I bought this as a gift, and after 5 minutes of looking at it, I was embarrased. Boxed it up and took it back!

 
Poor quality, older frame
By Jon from Pensacola, FL on 12/24/2008
Pros:
Fairly inexpensive, Simple to use but basic
Cons:
No navigation options, No USB, No way to edit pictures, Poor picture quality
Best Uses:
Casual viewing
Describe Yourself:
Computer professional
Primary use:
Personal
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smartparts Smartparts 7.0" LCD Digital Black Wood Picture Frame with OptiPix:

Purchased this frame through another vendor for a much higher price. This is a VERY basic frame with very limited features. It is fairly simple to use: just copy your pictures to a SD card (I used 1G) and plug it in. It will automatically begin playing. However, that's where the "good" ends. There is no USB interface to connect it to your PC. Also even though the documentation states that you can download editing software from the vendor's site, the software isn't there. Worse, the frame is no longer listed. It appears that this frame is discontinued and the newer frames (which all appear much more capable) have the software built in. Navigation between photos is a joke. You can only go forward or backward, or rotate a picture. The "mode" command merely switches between full and resized ("crop") mode, which is pointless because there's no way to scroll to view the un-cropped pictures which don't fit the screen. Resolution is very poor with max 480x234 resolution. Pixels are visible on every picture. It will show very high resolution photos (I tested with everything from 2572x1928 to 385x289) but there is no difference in display quality on the screen. Thus if you wish to cram more pictures onto the card, you can manually resize them. Unfortunately, as stated previously, the advertised software to resize the pictures appears to be unavailable. The frame allows photo rotation, but it applies it to all photos so you have to keep rotating back and forth. It's best to reformat all images before viewing them on the frame.

Bottom line: This is a inexpensive and simple frame with low resolution. I purchased it as a gift for my elderly mother and I'm sure it will suit her purposes fine. But for anyone looking for a quality frame with even minimal features, look elsewhere.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.