Buy the Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Canon
Located in: Digital, Cameras & Accessories, Digital Cameras
Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Professional(5)
Pros:
Accurate colors(5), Easy to keep clean(3), Easy to setup(4), Great resolution(4), Large clear LCD(5)
Best Uses:
Art(3), Documentary(4), Everyday(5), Outdoors(5), Portraits(4)
 
A camera that fulfilled my expectations
By Mr. EraserVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 7/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Cons:
Long Lag Time
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

A beautifully designed camera with many advanced features. Works great, solidly made, easy to use. Very pleased I bought it. Major quibble: lag time. Not terrible, but not great either. Other common complaints (no RAW, no tilting screen, inaccurate optical finder) don't bother me too much. This is not a perfect camera, but it's very, very good. The face recognition feature is awesome. Had to get some shots in a hurry with no second chance and the camera did not fail me. Professional results from an advanced point-and-shoot camera.

 
Efficient, good complement to an SLR.
By antrobusVerified Purchaser from Petersburg, VA on 7/10/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

Enjoyable tool either by itself or as a complement to an SLR

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice little digital delivers big prints
By Print LoverVerified Purchaser from Mount Union, PA on 5/9/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup, Easy to Keep Clean, Short Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

The G-7's body is smaller than I anticipated, but its ability to accept filters and its overall performance have been working out as expected. Small and light enough to carry in a jacket pocket. I don't "hate" anything about any camera: not even the film cameras I have been using for nearly 40 years.

 
expecting more
By carlaVerified Purchaser from mexico df on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls
Cons:
No intervalometer like g3, Takes time to focus
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

It does not have intervalomer,It does not have swivel screen. If you loved the G3 you will be not as happy with the G7 .less features after many years, equally expensive than 4 years ago. The quality is very good! It has an amazing zoom. Macro works well and fast. The camara has a nice big sceen and when using manual it makes life easier for exposure, with a detailed ruler of time and aperture. It has a very nice size, although i am not a big fan of the material used for the grip, it feels cheap with the overall of the camera.

Images shared by: carla

taken with zoom, with car moving

Image Thumbnail
 
Better than the picture
By cmidnightVerified Purchaser from Santa Rosa, CA on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Easy Setup
Best Uses:
Documentary, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

I've been using this camera righ out out of the box for about a month. I haven't yet had time to look at the detailed manual, so I went right ahead snaping picutes and I was surprised how easy it is. I'm sur there are features that I'd love, but so far it has exceeded my expectations! I use this camera on the constuction site, documneting deatils for reports and emailing conditions to Architects.

Images shared by: cmidnight

Testing Reinforcing Steel

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Excavation

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
you get what you pay for
By tonyVerified Purchaser from Greeneville, TN on 2/14/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Complicated Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

Have not had really long enought to fully use the camera. Still learning the settings and controls. Have taken pictures inside and outside and portraits and have seen no problems. Coming from a fast 35mm SLR to a digital took some adjusting as the digital needs time to reset so to speak.I'm using a SanDisk 2gb SD ultra II memory card so that should help. The weight is fine and easy to hold. Very pleased with the camera. Excellent optics.

 
Good performer, but watch out for noise
By jimenezphotoVerified Purchaser from Phoenix on 2/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged
Cons:
Noisy at 400 ISO higher, Not Good In Low Light
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

Handles like a classic range finder and I find it easy to use. Only drawback is lots of noise at higher 400 or higher ISO. If you plan on doing lots of low light work you might be better off with a different model. For everyday work outdoors it performs well. I just returned from a week vacation in Puerto Rico where I put the camera through it's paces and came out satisfied with it's performance.

Images shared by: jimenezphoto

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Camera
By tomVerified Purchaser from Florida on 2/5/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Movies have great quality, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

This it the best camera for the money. Better than an SLR.

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By Photo FriendVerified Reviewer from Naples, FL on 1/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Great video quality, HQ large display, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
Slow at saving images
Best Uses:
Creative picture taking, Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

This is a true top of the line performing camera, exceptional image quality. The G7 offers serious photographers lots of options to be creative in the manual mode while the auto mode creates great every day images. Face detection software and image stabilization are two great features added to the latest G Series Canon DSC. I would buy the camera any day again, given the size and offered features you will be hard pressed to find an alternative.

[36 of 44 customers found this review helpful]

 
Close, but no cigar
By vrogerVerified Reviewer from New York on 11/12/2006
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Occasional prof work
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Rugged, Shutter lag is awful, Simple Controls
Cons:
Not Enough Features, Not for action shots
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Travel

Comments about Canon Canon Powershot G-7 Digital Camera Kit, 10.0 Megapixel, 6x Optical Zoom, 4x Digital Zoom, Optical Image Stabilizer:

One would think with the fine features of this camera that shutter lag would be a thing of the past- The camera is great in low light- noise is acceptable even at 3200 ISO. But the lag time is horrendous- Any street shooting you do has to be done with great care, knowing you will miss a great many images. The camera quality is excellent, build quality, placement of controls, image quality, etc., but lag will drive you crazy if you do any kind of moving people shooting. Also, Canon tech support is less than great. They just don't know the equipment.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.