Buy the Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black image
 
(based on 15 ratings)
Brand: Panasonic
Located in: Digital, Cameras & Accessories, Digital Cameras
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.8 stars
(based on 15 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(9), Professional(3)
Pros:
Accurate colors(6), Great resolution(7), Large clear LCD(6), Nice features and settings(7), Quiet(7)
Best Uses:
Art(5), Documentary(3), Everyday(4), Fun(7), Outdoors(4)
 
I love it!!!!
By Jeanne "Hoopsmom"Verified Purchaser from Westchester, IL on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

I'm just getting started using the Lumix...spent one weekend taking pictures. Some blurring, but I attribute this to picture taker error and moving subjects. I'm so pleased with the super zoom! It's exactly what I wanted before I venture into the SLR area. Very happy with this camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Impressive FZ50
By leafy on flickrVerified Purchaser from Pittsburgh, PA on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

This is the best high-end point & shoot camera that you'll ever want or need. I owned the FZ20 and it served well for several years until I got it wet too many times. I suggest getting a plastic housing if you work in poor weather conditions.

Images shared by: leafy on flickr

first shots with my FZ50, hand held, no tripod

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Camera
By ChrisVerified Reviewer from Somerset, England on 7/7/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Complete manual control, Excellent zoom, Manual Focus, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
None whatsoever
Best Uses:
Art, Professional Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

A wonderful camera - The zoom is first rate, the stabilisation works wonders, and for those looking more for fun than professional photos the auto focus works, as does the macro. For those looking to get to know the manual controls, it is very simple - One hand gets focus and zoom on the lens, the other gets the apature and shutter speed control wheels. There is a slight noise even at a low ISO, but a quick fix in a program such as Photoshop will have you producing professional quality prints and pictures in no time at all. An excellent buy, and well worth the money - To buy an SLR and lens with the same capability and quality would cost well over £1000.

Images shared by: Chris

Full telephoto shot of a river (Resized)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Taken by Product

Manual close-up shot of some flowers (Resized)

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent All-rounder
By ossie the blueVerified Reviewer from Dublin ROI on 7/6/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

What a great camera! Fantastic Optics great image stabization . Handy function button giving easy access to ISO,WB,Metering etc.The Zoom & Focus ring are great and a joy to use! Ive taken over 2000 photo with this camera and have yet to be disappointed

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Wow, just wow!
By JoeBagadonutzVerified Reviewer from Sarasota, FL USA on 6/8/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time, Versatile and adaptable
Cons:
Instruction manual poor
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

Unless you have thousands to spend on a digital SLR with lenses and accessories. This is the camera for you. In program mode it's a PHD camera ( Push Here Dummy). If you are a pro, or learning to be one, you can take this camera as far as you want to learn to go. You're going to need at least a 1gig card, and an extra battery. The 32meg card that comes with it is a joke. Keep in mind that even a very expensive pen won't help you write a better novel. My advice: Zoom in and learn to compose, take thousands of pics and never let anyone see the bad ones.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
wow excellent camera
By franciscoVerified Purchaser from monterrey nl mexico on 5/13/2007
Pros:
Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Strong Construction
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Art, Documentary, Fun, Outdoors Portraits Spor, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

I bought this camera because I wanted high resolution, big zoom and easy controls. Could not make a better choice: Panasonic is so easy to use, that is unbelievable! Focus is excellent even in low light conditions, the manual zoom is one of the best ideas of Panasonic. Compliments and thank you!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best long zoom, non DSLR
By tatoo_cwVerified Purchaser from Detroit, MI on 5/10/2007
Pros:
Add on lens availiable, Bright LCD, Comfortable Controls, DSLR like controls, Fast lens, Quiet, RAW format, Small Lag Time, Strong Construction, TTL Flash hotshoe
Cons:
A bit of noise high ISO
Best Uses:
Art, Familyhobby, Family Photos, Fun, Macro photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

This is my 4th digital camera. I've owned a Olympus D-510, Panasonic FZ20, Canon A620, and now the FZ50. This is a great camera. Very easy to use and get creative. Some reviewers complain about noise, but I don't think the noise is that bad as long as your not a "pixel peeper" or blowing up your pics to large poster size. A little noise reduction software will correct it. It handles a lot better than my FZ20. I love the zoom and focus rings rather than a button or knob. After using this camera for about a week I'm able to access menus and change settings without looking...it's that easy, and things just seem to be in the right spot. The tilt/flip LCD comes in very handy for those hard to reach pics.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Extreemly versital, easy to use
By FrankVerified Purchaser from Houston, TX. on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Comfortable Controls, Quiet, Small Lag Time
Cons:
Slow Sensor
Best Uses:
Fun, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

I have taken about 100 pictures with it, just getting the feel. The image stabalization works wonders, so long as you remember it only removes the camera shake, not movement of the object. All of my pictures have been taken with 100 asa and manual focus with excelent results.

Images shared by: Frank

Lucky, indoors, no flash

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Cacti, outdoors

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
I DON´T LIKE
By LUIS GUERRERO ALVA from MEXICO,CITY on 2/27/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
I CAN´T FIND EXTRA LENS
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

WHEN I BOUGHT THE CAMERA IN THIS STORE,TOL DME THE SALESMAN THAT HE CAN OBTEIN TO ME IN THE FUTURE THE WIDE ANLE AND TELEPHOTO,AND I CANT FIND IT EVEN IN PANASONIC.
WHY PANASONIC SALES THE CAMERA AND THE LENS NOT.
I DON´T UNDRESTAND.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Camera
By WhistlerVerified Purchaser from Millis Ma. on 2/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Everyday, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

One of the best cameras I have ever owned. It is easy to use takes great pictures. I am very pleased with it.[...]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent camera
By MotoMelVerified Purchaser from Placitas, NM on 2/5/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

Has all the features of a 35 mm slr, I can focus on my wife's glass art, set the exposures manually and the zoom is fantastic, especially the focus and zoom on the lens barrel.

Images shared by: MotoMel

Mugsy

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Spickles

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best
By Larry from Brooklyn NY on 1/19/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Everyday, Low Lighting, Outdoors, Portraits, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

The FZ-50 is an amazing camera, the use is quite intuitive and the functions/programs really do well. The lens is superior. At high speeds the pictures get a lot less noisy than I have seen it in other cameras. Due to the stabilization I took picture in dark setting with lower isos and got very good results.

I totally recommend this camera. There is no flaw that I would know of after about 2.5 months of extensive use

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best I could ever imagine!
By Lili GVerified Reviewer from Caracas, Venezuela on 11/3/2006
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Best Uses:
Home, Office, Professional Work, Sports/Action, Travel, Weddings/Events

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

I bought this camera because I wanted high resolution, big zoom and easy controls. Could not make a better choice: I have also a Nikon 8700 which focus has been always a problem. This Panasonic is so easy to use, that is unbelievable! Focus is excellent even in low light conditions, the manual zoom is one of the best ideas of Panasonic. Compliments and thank you!

[8 of 8 customers found this review helpful]

 
DMC - FZ50
By Whistler from Millis Ma. on 11/1/2006
Pros:
Accurate Colors, Great Resolution, It is easy to use, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Simple Controls
Cons:
None i can find
Best Uses:
Home, Travel

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

I purchased the DMC-FZ50 about a month ago it is a great all around camera. It takes great photos I have owned a lot of diffrent cameras this is by far the best one.I am hard to please and I am very happy with it. [...]

[21 of 21 customers found this review helpful]

 
WOW!!!Super Camera
By ossie13Verified Reviewer from Dublin, ROI on 9/28/2006
Pros:
Fast AF, Great Manual Zoom, Great Resolution, Handy Function Button, Image Stabization System, Nice Features and Settings, Rugged, Superb Optics
Best Uses:
Great All Rounder, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events

Comments about Panasonic Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ50K Digital SLR Camera, 10.4 MP, 12x Optical, 4x Digital Zoom, MEGA Optical Image Stabilizer, Black:

Having upgraded to the FZ50, WOW what a great camera, The 12x Zoom Lens is suberb, with a fast AF, and great Image Stabilization System.I know there has been crtisism about "Noise" in the FZ30 but I have printed 12x8 shot at ISO400 which have shown no appreciable noise.

This is a great all round camera and definately the one for anyone who wants the flexibility of a DSLR without the expense and numerous lens changes

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.