Buy the Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A. image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Nikon
Located in: Digital, Cameras & Accessories, Digital Specific SLR Lenses
Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(5), Easily interchangeable(7), Fast / accurate auto-focus(13), Lightweight(9)
Best Uses:
General purpose(6), Landscape photography(4), Sports/action(5), Wildlife(3)
 
A must have accessory!
By WhatRYaGonnaDoVerified Purchaser from Miami, FL on 3/27/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Night Photography, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events, Wildlife Photos
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

I bought a refurbished lens and saved some money and still got the same results. GREAT purchase! It has allowed me to take my photography to the next level.

Images shared by: WhatRYaGonnaDo

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lens for the value
By jcbatmanVerified Purchaser from Buenos Aires, Argentina on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Fast / accurate auto-focus, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Indoors/Low Light, Landscape/Scenery, Sports/Action
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

I love it, it's a great lens

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not so great
By TomVerified Reviewer from Tampa, FL on 11/16/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Poor in Low Light, Weak Casing
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

I recommended a friend buy a Nikon D80 with the 18-135 lens. I'm used to the pro-grade lenses with steel bayonet and metal construction. This lens is mostly plastic. Of course, it's not really targeting the pro and prosumer markets.

The lens wouldn't focus and the zoom was stiff after some use. I tried cleaning it with no luck. When I put a Nikkor 50mm f/1.8 and a 70-200mm f/2.8 the D80 worked perfectly, so the problem is with this lens.

It's probably fine for most people, but if you put it to hard use, you might want to invest in a tougher lens. Also, the lens has no VR, so the 18-105mm VR DX version might be something to consider too.

[1 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cheap delicate lens
By WillVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

Wanted a small zoom for travel. Would be a good travel lens if it didn't have so many plastic parts. Barely got 3 weeks of use before getting F-- errors where the camera didn't recognize the lens on both my D80 and D300.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great all-purpose lens
By SamanthaVerified Purchaser from Hilton Head, SC on 7/27/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

I love this lens. It is great for all-purpose as I can get the wide angle and the zoom in one lens. I carry it everywhere.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great versatility
By Jakeb17Verified Purchaser from Florida on 7/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

This refurbished model is absolutely an amazing deal. It looks and acts just like a brand new lens. I honestly can not find any signs of use or it being refurbished.....looks brand new to me.

Now, aside from the perfect condition, the actual attributes of the lens are excellent.

There is both smooth focus and zoom. There is zero chromatic aberration, and the glass is very sharp. Auto focus works quickly and very accurately in light to dim conditions. However, the auto focus is fairly slow in dark conditions, when not using the AF assist light.

This lens is compact, lightweight, and so versatile that it's the lens most often attached to my camera. It's good at macro, wide landscape shots, and even medium telephoto for sports and wildlife photography. It's really nice to be able to take a wide angle shot of a mountain range, then right away zoom in to 135mm to snap a photo of a deer running by. The clarity and versatility of this lens are hard to beat.

The only drawbacks are the lack of VR and that its not exactly the fastest lens around.

Images shared by: Jakeb17

long exposure, wide angle of fireworks

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Unique wide angle perspective

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
I like it so much I bought it twice!
By techmikeVerified Purchaser from Owensboro, KY on 7/8/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

I bought this lens for myself and an additional one for my Daughter. I've been a Nikon user for 25 years and these lenses are on par with any of Nikon's consumer grade glass. Very sharp, reasonably fast focus. There is slight vignetting and distortion at both ends of the zoom range, but I don't find it at all distressing in a lens with this range or at this price point. This is a terrific "walk around" lens. I have more expensive glass and better glass, but none that is anymore fun to use.
Not good for low light subjects such as indoor sports but great for general use. I wish I had this lens available to me in my days as a photojournalist.
Even as a refurb condition was perfect.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
GREAT LENSE
By tpstudioVerified Purchaser from WEST PALM BEACH, FL. on 6/10/2009
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Special Effects, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

I HAVE COMPLETELY ENJOYED THIS LENSE AND IT HAS WORKED FLAWLESSLY. I REALLY LIKE THE LITTLE BIT LONGER FOCAL LENGTH. IT WOULD BE NICE IF IT HAD VR BUT IF YOU'RE CAREFUL , YOU DON'T NEED IT.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
AMONG THE BEST IN ITS CLASS
By chuckVerified Purchaser from valdosta,ga. on 4/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography, Sports/Action, Upgrade, Wildlife
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

Great lens!The first thing you notice is the BIG zoom grip,with just the right zoom tention.Sharp through the entire range.Use this lens WITHIN its limitations and you will love it.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Strong point: Versatility.
By G/paVerified Purchaser from Jupioter Fl. on 4/9/2009
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Lightweight, Quick Focus, Rugged, Sharp Focus, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
General Use, Landscape Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nikon Nikon 18mm - 135mm f/3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S DX Versatile Autofocus Zoom Lens - Refurbished by Nikon U.S.A.:

Recently shot my grandsons wedding on the beach.
Moved inside and easily covered reception. No lens change.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.