Buy the MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots. image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: MediaGear
Located in: Digital, Memory Cards / Portable Storage / Accessories, Portable Photo & Data Storage Devices
MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2.8 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
62% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Compact(3), Reliable(3), Rugged(4)
Cons:
Slow(3), Unreliable(3)
Best Uses:
Back-up(5), Casual cameras(4), Travel(5)
Describe Yourself:
Professional(3)
 
Never again!
By DustyVerified Purchaser from Hightstown,NJ on 2/14/2007
Cons:
Unreliable
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about MediaGear MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.:

Didn't like this item. It did not accept downloads from all my memory cards. Returned the item and now have a bad taste re Mediagear.

 
Sure beats bringing a laptop along!
By dondidVerified Purchaser from Ontario Canada on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Fast, Rugged
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MediaGear MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.:

My next one will have a review screen, however for the price you can't beat this one. [...]

 
no way to confirm data transfer
By Renner PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Fairhope Alabama on 2/12/2007
Cons:
Unreliable
Best Uses:
Back-Up
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about MediaGear MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.:

Good idea just no way to know for sure if all your data was transfered. Also every flash card makes its on folder. For my work I would like to be able to make a folder and have all the seperate cards go in to it. I have also had a few times were all of my files were not tranfered. The battery does not last very long at all. maybe 1 or 2 average cards worth.

 
Did half of the job
By YianniVerified Purchaser from Athens, Greece on 2/6/2007
Pros:
good price
Cons:
Bad Battery Life, Bulky, Slow, Unreliable
Best Uses:
Casual Cameras, Indoor, Travel
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about MediaGear MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.:

Slow downloading times and bad battery life makes it suitable only for inddor use (with the AC adapter). That makes it the last choice at your trips before carrying your laptop with you.
In my machine there must be a problem with the electronincs because the battery turns to empty even I don't use it for 12 hours!!! Since I live in Greece I didn't have the option to use a local service to fix it. :(

 
MediaGear Flash HD
By GregVerified Purchaser from San Leandro, Ca on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Reliable, Rugged, Slim
Cons:
Slow
Best Uses:
Casual Cameras, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MediaGear MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.:

I like the product but I wish it showed how much had been downloaded and how much space is left. There is no way to confirm that what you just download to the device is really there. But the price is right compared to others. I used it for a vacation to empty my CF card at the end of the day and it worked great.

 
Light Fast Easy & Portable
By AstrovineVerified Purchaser from Cobb, California on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Fast, Reliable, Rugged, Slim, Versatile
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Professional Cameras, Upgrade
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MediaGear MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.:

This product really works! I am an inspector, and I have up to five inspections in a day requiring photographs. I was able to download my media cards into this memory storage device. It worked! No hype. I had media cards to spare. Downloading into the Mac was also an easy affair. I reccommend this to any one who needs a fair size of memory on the go. Media Gear has just released a 60GB model. Great for travelers!

Images shared by: Astrovine

Stored Image

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
Bare Bones Back-up
By PhotogopherVerified Purchaser from Portland, OR on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Affordable
Cons:
Incompatible, Short Battery Life
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Casual Cameras, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MediaGear MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.:

No advanced features but it does record and back up most storage mediums. Found some compatibility issues with CF cards. Be sure to test card compatibility before you hit the road.

 
Very Useful and Reliable Product
By Judge CraigVerified Purchaser from Denver, CO on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Reliable, Rugged, Slim, Versatile
Cons:
Slow
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Casual Cameras, Professional Cameras, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about MediaGear MediaGear Flash HD to Go Portable 20GB Hard Drive with Flash Memory Slots.:

I bought this when I took a 2 week trip to Australia. I knew I would be taking a lot of digital photos, and I was not going to take a computer to download them to. I did not want to invest in a lot of expensive flash data cards that I would likely not have a use for afterward. This device is convenient because it is small, and the battery is rechargeable. It accepts many kinds of flash cards -- just pop the card in, and it downloads to the device's hard drive. I could then erase the data card in my camera and start anew.

Now that I am home, it makes a handy back-up to the photos I keep on my hard drive. My computer just recognizes it as another hard drive, so moving files from one to the other is simple.

Downloading photos from a flash card to the device is a slow process, depending on how many photos are on the card. This was no problem on the road, however, because I did it every evening, and just let it crank away while I was eating, etc. At home I download to my computer, and then copy the photos to the device, and in that mode it seems as fast as any other hard drive.

I use the device at my computer frequently, and its great not to have to deal with a power cord all the time. The battery lasts a long time, and I rarely have to recharge it.

An improvement would be to have a built in LCD screen which would allow me to view what photos are in the device. There are such devices, but the addition of the screen adds a lot to the cost, and I was going for economy here. Another nice feature would be the ability to recharge the battery by connecting the device to a USB port. Nice, but far from necessary.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.