Buy the Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Hewes
Located in: Film & Darkroom, Film Processing, Roll Film Processing
Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent reactions(7), Easily cleaned(6)
Best Uses:
Developing(13), Photography(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(6)
 
I would buy again
By GabVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 5/9/2010
Pros:
Consistent Reactions, Easily Cleaned
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Very easy to use.

 
Simply the best
By mandomat from the northeast on 4/21/2010
Pros:
Consistent Reactions, Easily Cleaned
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

They seem like they are expensive, but they are worth every cent--they last, they load easily and quickly. I've been using stainless reels for nearly 30 years, and these are simply the best.

 
very good object easy to use
By sogliolaitVerified Purchaser from Italy on 1/25/2010
Pros:
Compact
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Very easy to use, excellent mechanical construction.

 
EXCELLENT! BUY THIS ONE!
By ColetteVerified Purchaser from Glenside, PA on 10/20/2009
Pros:
Better bang for the buck, Easily Cleaned
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Don't buy the reels with the clip on it that aren't as strong, definitely buy this one! People are always bugging me to borrow mine because theirs aren't that great. I highly advise buying the Hewes Developing Reel!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect choice for class requirements
By mom of an art studentVerified Purchaser from Schaumburg, IL on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Begin photgraphr friendly
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Product was purchased for daughter's college photography class. All professor said was he preferred the heavy duty, non-plastic. So I purchased this product for her and it was the perfect choice to meet the requirements. She has been very happy with the reels, and has found them easy use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing, simply amazing!
By WaterballoonVerified Reviewer from Salem, OR on 7/22/2008
Pros:
Consistency, Durability, Quality
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
At home darkroom, Developing, Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

I owned a cheap reel I bought at a local camera shop before this. It would never fail that at least 1 exposure per roll would be destroyed by the poor quality. So, to be sure I wasn't wasting my money, I did a lot of research before buying this item. I went at found it at other photography sites and compared reviews and prices.
So let me just say this: it works just as well as everybody here says it does!

I have done 4 rolls of film at home with this and not a single ruined exposure. It is so easy to use in the dark.

I wish I had known there was a difference in quality of metal reels when I bought my first one.

So, if you're thinking about buying this, just do it. You won't regret it.

 
With Hewes you can't lose!
By oops! there goes another Shutterbug...Verified Purchaser from hollywood, florida on 6/12/2008
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Taking a black and white photography class. finger dexterity not what it use to be. trying to roll film on the reel in the dark is a monster. The Hewes reels made it a snap. Would definitely recommend them to anyone still wanting to learn to process film.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
With Hewes you can't lose!
By An Old School ShutterbugVerified Purchaser from Hollywood, Florida on 6/12/2008
Pros:
Consistent Reactions, Sturdy Construction
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Taking a Black and White photography class, finger dexterity not quite what it use to be, trying to roll film on to a reel in the dark is a monster. The Hewes reels make it a snap. Would definitely recommend Hewes heavy duty reels to anyone still interested in learning to process film.

 
Always use the HEAVY DUTY!
By Lord Magnus from Webster, TX on 5/8/2008
Pros:
Consistent Reactions, Easily Cleaned
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Developing, Photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Always use the heavy duty reels! If you use the cheap ones, treat them like precious artifacts, I have had the cheap ones get constantly bent out of shape so easily, and you usually can't fix them!

 
Hewes are awesome!
By chrispy632 from memphis,tn on 3/24/2008
Pros:
Compact, Consistent Reactions, Easily Cleaned
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Developing, Photography
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Absolutly the best on the market! Nothing can beat them with results.

 
As easy as everyone says
By eos1957Verified Purchaser from Florida on 3/6/2008
Pros:
Consistent film wind, Heavy guage, Positive film grip
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

The ease with which these reels take up film is enough to get me back in the darkroom. They work as well as folks say they do.

 
I love
By VaneVerified Purchaser from Pembroke Pines, FL on 3/6/2008
Pros:
Consistent Reactions
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

I love it! The ones my professor has are so weird and I would have to re-roll the fill over and over in the dark room until I would get too anxious and just give up. With these I get it on the first try, that way I'm in and out.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Takes the skill out of the steel reel
By joshuaVerified Reviewer from brooklyn, ny on 6/22/2007
Pros:
Consistent Reactions, Easily Cleaned
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

After having problems with some of the cheaper brands, I decided to drop the money on the Hewes reels [...]. Couldn't be happier. Some people might complain that it takes the skill out of loading a reel as the film is easily caught on the two hooks and then very easily threaded into the thick guides but who cares, you'll have an easier time loading film and you'll get consistent results. I've never slipped a channel with a Hewes in hundreds of rolls.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best quality
By Pam from Largo, FL on 6/8/2007
Best Uses:
Developing
Describe Yourself:
Casual user, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hewes Hewes Heavy Duty Stainless Steel Film Developing Reel For 35mm Size Film:

Film goes on with ease. Buy these, not the cheap ones - you'll be much happier with the results.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.