Buy the Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors image
 
(based on 39 ratings)
Brand: Kodak
Located in: Film & Darkroom, Film, Color Slide Film
Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.9 stars
(based on 39 reviews)
97% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Accurate(32), Consistent(30), Good tonal range(14), High quality(3), Reliable tonal range(18)
Best Uses:
Action shots(6), Artwork(26), Home(13), Office(8), Photojournalism(17)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(14), Photo enthusiast(6), Professional(9), Semi-pro photographer(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Its Wonderful,Try it before its too late
By Philip D.Verified Reviewer from Brooklyn, NY on 7/3/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Artwork, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I have tried using all different types of Slide Film, Kodachrome is really at the top of my list. Difficult to process, but well worth the wait. Try it before its unavailable.

 
The death of kodachrome, buy some now
By uwphotoerVerified Reviewer from Winston-Salem, NC on 6/22/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Artwork, Home, Office, Photojournalism, Sports Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Well today kodak announced the discontinuation of this wonderful film.... so buy some now and shoot it while you can. Processing in kansas will go at least till the end of 2010.

Images shared by: uwphotoer

reef shark in the bahamas

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

a reef in australia

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

 
stock up, this film is about to end
By 35mm from south bend, in on 6/22/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

this is great film but,it coming to end. Read [@]. Surely will miss one of best slide film ever made.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
51 YEARS OF KODACHROME
By TerrenceVerified Reviewer from Alexandria, Virginia on 6/6/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Home, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

First, for the benefit of those (at least USA residents) who worry about processing: It is very simple, just address the film to a nice little town in Kansas whose address is easy to find. Once there, genuine experts will process it, mount the slides if desired, and return it very quickly. I often send film off late on Monday afternoon; I ALWAYS get it back by Friday or Saturday of the same week and it is always first rate.What do I like about Kodachrome? - everything really. Some people speak of a 3-D quality but I would not have noticed this but it may well be true. I love what some call the "Kodachrome look" - hard to describe but I think I know it when I see it. The greens for instance, particularly greens comingled with earth tones, always beautiful, saturated without the gross vulgarity of some very popular E6 films. I recently used one such pop film and when the slides came back I was appalled by some of them. These, predictably, were pix with large areas of grass and trees (after a week of steady rains, no lawn mower in sight). At first I thought the processer had made a terrible mistake, somebody had spilled the paint, unbelievably bad, gaudy, vulgar but just what some people like; I had almost forgotten. Kodachrome is never like that, never betrays its sense of good taste. But plenty colorful at the same time. A very good example may be scenes with olive trees which seem to be a bit of a challenge to some films, that peculiar shade of green competing with other more brilliant greens, Kodachrome always gets it right.I will try to send 2 pix, one old, one new, both of birds, not olive trees. They are separated in time, almost exactly, by 51 years.The first was shot just before or after Christmas of 1958 on Midway Island. This was made with my first camera (Voigtlander) bought the same day at Midway, no range finder, no light meter of course. The picture,which I think was the first one I made with that camera, is of a black albatross. We had thousands of such birds at Midway, everywhere. Now they have it all to themselves.The second pic was made the day before Christmas of 2008 at a small man-made lake near Dallas, Tx. The subject here is a great blue heron which I seem to see every year. This time the camera did have a meter etc, Nikon F100, lens 70-300 mm VR.

Images shared by: Terrence

Black albatross, Midway Island Xmas 1958 K25

Image Thumbnail

Great blue heron, Christmas 2008, Texas K64

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Not enought stars
By Shoot for funVerified Reviewer from Nashville, tn on 6/4/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Reliable Tonal Range, Scans Well
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Tried this film while attending a local community college about 2 years ago and loved it. I recently ordered more and as suggested took it to my local large retail store and about 2 weeks later received my slides. If you have never shot with this film go ahead and order a dozen or two rolls you'll need them after you first roll.

As for longevity I recently found slides my father shot in the sixties when stationed over seas and they scanned beautifully.

 
Wow!
By Andy ChaneyVerified Reviewer from Fayetteville, AR on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, The real thing
Best Uses:
Artwork, Capturing souls, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

After 20 years, I finally broke down & incurred the cost of this film...Now, I'm thinking back to what I could've pawned to get more of this wonderful stuff! Other reviewers have testified accurately that this is what color film was MEANT to be; its color fidelity & tonal rendering characteristics set the Golden Standard for color film way back in the 1930's...Every other film since that time has only tried to match it; the most iconic color photos of our time are Kodachrome...Including all those wonderful Nat'l Geographic shots over the years! As long as you have good optics to throw in front of it, and you meter accurately, you WILL get excellent shots...It is true what others say about the exposure latitude; you can easily blow out the highlights or muddle the shadows...Think bright, sunny days! When you are metering a 1/125 to 1/60 shutter speed at about f5.6 to f11 or so, you are in this films groove! Bracket if you must, but also try to make your shots count, as we have NO control over the longevity of this films continued production...Sadly, Kodak seems to be pushing boldly & thoroughly towards the future, and are more likely to listen to their Market Analysts than their humble & loving bread & butter, i.e., shutterbugs like you and I...Maybe if we keep buying it, they'll keep making it...I'll try if you will...Love to all!P.S.: As to developing it, others have instructed you to take it into a "Very large and well known retailer" and mark the envelope with the words "Kodak K-14 Process" and it will be handled accordingly...This is true, just don't ask too many questions of personel IN the photo lab; they may seem like they don't have a clue, but the truth is, they don't actually handle it...Another "Large and well known film maker" will come in and sort it out...Just trust it; they won't try to E-6 Process it (I was paranoid that they would!)...[...] does an excellent job; may they keep going!

 
The Classic
By BremenrulesVerified Reviewer from Connecticut on 4/27/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Archival, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Landscape, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I recently found some old Kodachromes my grandfather took at his floral shop sixty years ago. The colors were perfect and sharp! This is an amazingly detailed and accurate film. My digital-only friends are resorting to bracketing and HDR processing in a futile attempt to bring out detail, and their pictures still turn out cartoonish. One properly exposed Kodachrome is all I need, and it will be around for years to come. One hopes Kodak will continue to produce this classic...

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
amazing colors and film
By Kostya NakaznyVerified Reviewer from Tucson, AZ for the next 10 months on 4/8/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

i only recently switched to film (been doing digital SLR photography for 7 years prior) and decided to try this film because of all the reviews around the net. this film is absolutely amazing. i could see before that films (Reala 100 and superia 400) have much richer (to my liking anyway) colors and color textures, but this film got me converted completely. NOTE: i'm not against digital at all. i just think it's a young medium and it will catch up to film in maybe 10-15 years, but for now the images are flat and unimpressive.

i've already stockpiled with Kodachrome 64 and plan on buying several rolls every month because who knows it might get discontinued, but maybe not. try out one roll to see for yourself.

Images shared by: Kostya Nakazny

at Biosphere 2, Oracle, AZ

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Sunset at Biosphere 2, Oracle, AZ

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Now the best, sadly.
By Trainman24210Verified Purchaser from Abingdon, VA on 3/7/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Scans Well
Cons:
Narrow Tonal Range
Best Uses:
Artwork, Home, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

As a railroad photographer, I look for the best quality for well lit still shots and scenic shots. I use digital for action and low light. We mourn the loss of K-25. There was no better. The King is dead, long live the King! Sorry Fuji.

Images shared by: Trainman24210

BN SDP-45 arriving at Mobile, AL on 03/14/87.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply the best film invented!
By Kodachrome Guy from Southeastern, Massachusetts on 2/2/2009
Pros:
Accurate, Archival, Consistent, Excellent color, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Artwork, Home, Office, Photojournalism, Sports Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Kodachrome is simply the best film that has ever hit the market. If you are reading these reviews to consider trying Kodachrome...Do it!! Don't be scaired because of it's price! I can't even explain the depth and colors of this film. A scan of it can't even show you. Kodachrome does not give a photo a thousand words it gives it a trillion words. Kodachrome's days may be numbered but you can help all the people out that love this film by shooting some to keep it in production. LONG LIVE KODACHROME!!

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Outsatnding Film, Kodak, PLEASE Retain!
By Russ, aka airliners!Verified Reviewer from Phoenix, AZ on 10/25/2008
Pros:
High Quality
Best Uses:
Aviation Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I use this film exclusively and only for Aviation Photography. This film needs good light to return its legendary colour quality.

This film is ideal for archival and historical purposes. I have K25 K64 slides taken in the 60's that look as good as slides taken last week.

Personally, I shoot about 100 rolls a year... I need help convincing Kodak to keep this film in production. The grounding of Concorde was the first time in history that an aircraft has been retired without there being an improved successor in service. If this film disappears, the same thing happens in the world of film photography.

There is, apparently, only one lab left in the US (world?) that can properly process this film. Take it to your local huge retailer with the W name, and specify "Kodachrome K-14 Processing" in the "Special Instructions" box on the envelope. In October 2008, it costs $4.88 to process (plus taxes).

Images shared by: Russ, aka airliners!

Federal Express Falcon 20DC, taken in March 1980.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

P.51 Mustang photographed June 22nd 1980.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

 
Film As it Should Be
By That Randy GuyVerified Reviewer from Springfield, MO on 10/15/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality
Cons:
Only one developer
Best Uses:
Stereo Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

This is the only film I use for Stereo Photography. It makes the world come alive and sets it on fire! The color is post card perfect. Depth is unmatched. Fast films cannot do what Kodachrome 64 can do. The color puts regular films to shame. No film will ever match it's sharpness. If you want real photographic magic, here it is.

It really is that different. That other stuff is just pictures.

 
love it love it love it!!!!!
By holly_the_artistVerified Purchaser from mitchell Indiana on 9/26/2008
Pros:
Durable, Good Value, High Quality, Viberant colr
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Any thing
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

i was intoduced to this film by my father who used it 35 years ago its clarity and versatility are helpful because you can use it for any type of photo. i love to take natures with it!!!! if i could afford to use it every time i would but it tends to be expensive but worth it for those moments that you want to remember because it seems to capture and retain memories better than any film i've seen

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply the vest
By Matt from Sacramento, CA on 9/24/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well
Cons:
Scans Poorly
Best Uses:
Artwork, Home, Landscape, Nature, Office, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Other slide films might be cheaper to buy. They will also certainly be cheaper and easier to process. And they will give you sharp pictures. But one thing they WON'T give you are those great, Kodachrome colors. Kodachrome is not like negative films (with washed-out colors) OR 'supersaturated' E6 films like Velvia (whose colors are just downright gaudy, overdone, and unnatural). Rather, Kodachrome is what Fuji Provia SHOULD have been - accurate, true to life, and as free from color casts as you can get, yet saturated enough that it is not 'flat' (like Fuji Astia). Oh, and as everyone says, it will last for a LONG time - don't count on that Velvia looking good as new in 50 years! For all of these reasons, I just don't think there is a better 'all purpose' film out there. I have yet to shoot something with Kodachrome that just felt like it would have been better with another film.

Unfortunately, Kodachrome's days may be numbered. SO enjoy it while you can. And maybe if everyone out there buys and shoots enough Kodachrome, Kodak will reconsider any plans to axe the film.

 
The color slide film!!--soon to be gone
By Johnny BVerified Purchaser from Colorado Springs, Colorado on 9/4/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

40 years of photography with this film--I just found out Kodak will discontinue this soon--there is no decent alternative and digital still cannot meet KR64 standards. Too bad !!

 
The best color I've seen for pictures.
By K1Verified Purchaser from Easley, SC on 8/7/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

This film gives the best and most vibrant colors I've ever seen. It also give better color than print film when printed.

 
Subdued Lighting Portrait King
By Slide Shooter from Michigan on 6/20/2008
Pros:
3 dimensional effects, Accurate, Captures scene ambiance, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well, Unique color palette
Best Uses:
Children shots, Moody scenes, Overcast days, Portraiture
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

This film is unique and unsurpassed in its ability to capture images that are incredibly life like, with a three dimensional depth effect. Colors are true and when taken under overcast conditions and/or in window light, they have a burning glow to them. However, this is not a saturated film with colors that "pop" like most modern films. Rather, they have a unique glow to them that is special.
Use this film on cloudy, overcast, or rainy days for best results. You will need a fast prime lens for this, as Kodachrome 200 has been discontinued. Also good with window light. Avoid flash in most cases, as it destroys the special "glow" effect this film can have in low contrast lighting.
Unsurpassed for portraits, environmental portraits, and people shots. Kodachromes good skin tones are legendary.
Avoid for landscapes, as the color saturation is too low compared to things like Velvia or E100VS, unless you like low saturation landscapes.
One of the best films ever made.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Really Cool Film
By TiberiustibzVerified Reviewer from Lincoln, MA on 4/20/2008
Pros:
Sharp
Cons:
Scans Poorly
Best Uses:
Home, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Great film. Any bonehead that buys this and then complains about processing should be using "max versatility platinum" 800 speed print film.

Great for portraits, it's the first color film. Fun to use with it's history. One thing worth noting: if you like landscapes, try velvia. In comparison with velvia, kodachrome looks cold, dull (unsaturated), and green. A warming filter couldn't hurt.

I love this film and i've had some great shots with it. As a film by itself it's great. There is a technical reason (thickness of the emulsion) as to why it is the sharpest type of film. I should say film because it's the only of its type left. Only in comparison to other films does it pale. I will keep shooting it while I can.

If it was updated and cleaned up a bit it would be killer. Maybe fuji can do that for us?

Images shared by: Tiberiustibz

Somewhere in bermuda

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, No filters

Somewhere in bermuda 2

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Kodachrome Processing
By RogerInCentervilleOHVerified Reviewer from Centerville, OH on 3/2/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

There have been some comments here regarding where to get Kodachrome processed.

Take your rolls to a "very well known and very large" discount retailer and place the rolls in the film envelope, and in the SPECIAL INSTRUCTIONS section at the bottom write:

"KODACHROME K-14 PROCESSING"

At the end of the day, another "very well known" maker of film (who actually manages the photo processing at the retailer) will pick up the rolls and send them to a certified Kodachrome processing plant in the mid-west, and will then return the expertly developed slides in around 7 to 10 days.

 
This stuff rocks!
By william from Ohio on 2/2/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I wish more people of the current generation of digital photographers KNEW how awesome this film is. There is still nothing made today that has better sharpness. A well shot slide with this stuff looks like you can step into it. It's that good. If you haven't tryed it ...do before it's gone.

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
difficult to get developed
By sunsetlover1Verified Purchaser from northridge, ca on 1/22/2008
Pros:
Reproduces Well
Cons:
Color Shift In Shadows, Narrow Tonal Range
Best Uses:
Scenics
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

This product requires special processing which I understood when I purchased it, but very few places in the country do it and it is a bit of a pain for the trouble you have to go through to get it processed. Some of the shots I took with it had a really beautiful light and shade quality to them, but it wasn't worth the trouble, I could have got some of the effects in other ways. I wouldn't buy it again.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
kodachrome rich saturated deep colour
By L D from bannockburn.il on 1/4/2008
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Greatest redsorangesyel, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Cons:
dont waste it miss k25, When lights dwindiling
Best Uses:
Artwork, fine art, Home, Office
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

tough to find i waited 2 mos !!!! for developing last time. you dont know what you got till its gone long live the king!! my slides from 33 years are as sharp as ever and great prints are still made. the colors always good enough to eat.please dont take my kodachrome away oh yeah.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
the grand daddy of color film
By chicagopeteVerified Purchaser from chicago, il on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Home, Office, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

kodachrome is the original slide film - some may find the color too rich and oversaturated but it produces great stable slides - I have some that are almost 50 yrs old and look just as good as when they were shot.

 
Awsome Film
By NateVerified Purchaser from Kenosha WI on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Reliable Tonal Range
Best Uses:
Artwork, Home, Office, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

this is the most amazing film i've ever shot the only draw back i have found is geting a lab who can print off it with any quality. so i sugest finding a lab first so your not stuck with amazing slides but no way to get great prints.

 
Kodachrome 64
By BazVerified Reviewer from Cleveland, OH on 6/28/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, High Contrast, Reproduces Well, Sharpest film ever
Cons:
Overexposure latitude
Best Uses:
Landscapes, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

This film offers high contrast with low color saturation and it is VERY sharp.....everything looks life-like and the skintones are precise. The hues are unique and give the film a distinct look.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simply the best color film
By Cisco manVerified Purchaser from Missouri on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Lasting colors over time, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Artwork, Photojournalism, Scientific, Sports Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I have used Kodachrome since the 60's. Consistent in reproduction of scene, retains color and detail over time. I have traveled extensively and always found it whereever I went.
Simply the best film I have ever used. Bottom Line - Buy it.

 
What more can I say, it's Kodachrome
By CBerry PhotoVerified Purchaser from SE, CT on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Cons:
Fewer fewer developers
Best Uses:
Artwork, Landscapes nature, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Semi professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

There is just something special about this film and that is probably why it has survived as long as it has in this digital world. My other favorite film is Ektachrome 100 VS.When you need a break from digital give Kodachrome 64 a try. Don't forget your tripod.PS [...] Thanks

 
The best slide film for most conditions
By Half-AnselVerified Purchaser from Edmond, CA on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Reproduces Well
Best Uses:
Artwork, Environmental photographs, Landscapes, Nature photographs, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I have been using Kodakchrome 64 slide film for decades. There are only a few conditions where I have found Fujichrome to be better (flowers, greenery etc). The only concern has been the repeated changes in the processors that develop the film. As of late, the current processor is doing an excellent of handling the film properly (evidence-lack of scratches and white pin spots in the images) and proper development.

 
After twenty years, still vivid
By IchtyVerified Purchaser from Saitama(next to Tokyo), Japan on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Good Tonal Range, Natural, Reproduces Well
Cons:
Difficult exposure, Poor Exposure
Best Uses:
Artwork, Home, Outdoor Portrait, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

On clear sunny days, KR64 is superb for nature photo and portraiture.
But under shadowy conditions, the color tends to
turn yellow.

 
Greatest slide film ever!
By CJVerified Purchaser from Texarkana, Texas on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Reproduces Well
Best Uses:
Fine Art, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Kodachrome KR 64 meets all of my expectations for an ISO 64 transparency film. The quality, the fine grain is unmatched. I will continue to use it for all fine art applications.

 
It's the king-
By Tano from Chile, South America on 3/7/2007
Pros:
Good Tonal Range, Reproduces Well
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Although I have to bring it from the US and send it back for processing, I can't think of anything better for shooting travel. Yes, I have some post second world war slides looking better than many Velvias, so the thing basically lasts forever properly stored.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
How long will your digitals last?
By Monique LesgrangesVerified Reviewer from New York, New York on 2/23/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I have been using slide films since the early 1970s. My instructors back then recommended Kodachrome for its archival stability, but I couldn't always afford it. Now, 35 years later, I realize how right they were. Many images on old [...] formulations have deteriorated so much they are only good for art work like [...] transfers. However my Kodachromes are still beautiful. Even better, perhaps, are some 1948 Kodachromes a friend interited. Do you really think you are going to be able to access your digital files in sixty years - just when they are starting to get really interesting?

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The only film I would ever use
By Royzone from Vancouver,B.C.,Canada on 2/23/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Artwork, Home, Office, Photojournalism, Sports Photography, Travel
Describe Yourself:
best for legal work, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I have been shooting news events for 35 years now and use K-64 every day. It is the only accurate film that I know of and use it as a reference for all my digital shots. K-64 is a bit slower film than most and it requires the use of Pro Lenses with fast aperatures of f: 2.8 or faster and a mono or tripod when shooting fast action or lower light subjects. The grain is not present in an enlargement of 4 feet and it has the highest color saturation of any film I have ever used except K-25 which is now discontinued. This film has the reputaion of being used for most of the highest detailed pictures for art work and magzines all over the world as it scans so perfectly into a digital format without losing a thing.The only drawback is that in this day and age time is most important with newspaper deadlines and cannot be used for this work anymore. But,for any situation other than that it is still the very best in the industry!
We just pray that Kodak will continue to produce this film !

 
The Best Transparency Film Ever Made
By The Rocket ScientistVerified Purchaser from Placerville, CA on 2/13/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Cons:
Better use a tripod
Best Uses:
Artwork, Botanical records, Photojournalism, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I've been using Kodachrome 64 for a quarter of a century. It's simply the best transparency film ever made.

 
This is the slide film for Macro
By Tony TerceiraVerified Purchaser from Scituate, RI on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, High resolution
Cons:
Little exposure latitude
Best Uses:
Artwork, Close up work Wildlife, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

I have been using Kodochrome for 45 years, I have found it to be one of the finest slide films available.

Images shared by: Tony Terceira

Siamese Fighting fish, Betta splendens,

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Nikon micro lense

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best slide film ever
By HogheadVerified Purchaser from South Central Kansas on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Reproduces Well, Scans Well
Best Uses:
Action Shots, Artwork, Home, Office, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Kodachrome is a great film for good sunlight. It does well in low light, but is slow enough that a tripod is required. It is not good for low light action shots such as night football games.

Images shared by: Hoghead

BNSF train at Quinlan, OK

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Kodachrome slide scan, Made with Product, Using Product

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect film for slides! Keep it!
By BridgemanVerified Purchaser from New Jersey on 2/12/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, I don't do digital, Reproduces Well
Best Uses:
Artwork
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Best film for slides! Too bad Kodachrome 25 is not around any more.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
The best serious film ever. Period.
By CodeScrubberVerified Purchaser from Philly, what's it to ya. on 2/10/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Consistent, Good Tonal Range, Stability
Cons:
Slow but worth it
Best Uses:
Artwork, Photojournalism, Recording History, Travel
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Railroad Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

The accuracy of the color is astounding, even in low light with long exposures. The detail is fantastic. Go ahead, use the native resolution of the scanner, the detail is there. To a railfan photographer stablility is everything, I want people to see my images 100 years from now. My slides will probably last longer than the CD the scans of them are burned on. Yes, ISO 64 is slow. One learns to deal with that.

I will stop using Kodachrome when they unwrap my cold dead fingers from my Pentax K-1000!

Images shared by: CodeScrubber

Switching the Car Department, Allentown, Pa.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Rockville Bridge, Harrisburg Pa.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Pentax K-1000, Made with Product

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Film
By Rosty the PhotomanVerified Purchaser from Chicago, IL on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Accurate, Awesome Color, Consistent, Good Tonal Range
Best Uses:
Artwork, Home, Travel
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Kodak Kodak Kodachrome KR 64 Color Slide Film ISO 64, 35mm Size, 36 Exposure, Transparency, USA - Sharp, Long-Lasting Colors:

Kodachrome has been my favorite film since I started photography, almost 25 years ago. Still shoot mostly film for personal use, and Kodachrome is my top pick. Colors are great and consistent, and the slides that my mother took on Kodachrome back in 1960 and later look like they were just shot and developed yesterday. I agree that this film is very archival (stable). The only downside is that it does take a bit longer to get developed than E6 films. I usually get mine back in about 2 weeks.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.