Buy the Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Photographic Solutions
Located in: Film & Darkroom, Photo Chemicals, Processing Aids
Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.3 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent reactions(6), Easily cleaned(3)
Best Uses:
Photography(4), Printing(3)
Describe Yourself:
Professional(4), Pro photographer(3)
 
it worked half of what I expected!
By jtvideoVerified Purchaser from Durham, NC on 1/21/2011
Cons:
Inconsistent Results
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

I think my picture was too messed up and that's why this product did not work well for me, I followed the instructions, and it did took some spots off like 3% overall.

 
Works great on older prints.
By GaryVerified Purchaser from Colorado Springs, CO on 2/3/2010
Pros:
Compact, Consistent Reactions, Easily Cleaned
Best Uses:
Photography, Printing
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

Works great on older prints in preparation for scanning. Don't try it on news prints. My experience with newly printed prints that are dry the PEC-12 will remove the ink/s.

 
Great product
By GJMVerified Purchaser from Providence, RI on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Consistent Reactions
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

Bought this product with the accompanying cleaning cloths worked great to clean off very old slides of fingerprints, dust, etc.

 
Cleaning old film is difficult
By Jim MattsonVerified Purchaser from Key Largo, FL on 1/10/2010
Pros:
No Residue
Cons:
Flammable, Toxic
Best Uses:
Cleaning film
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

I have thousands of negatives and slides, filed in sleeved polyethylene sheets, in 3-ring binders, going back into the 1960's. I am in the process of scanning as many as I can, at high resolution and 16-bit color. But removing the dust, dirt, smudges, and even fungi on old color negatives, is daunting. So I am working my way though all available cleaning processes, from solvents, to brushes, to electrostatic zapping. PEC-12 is a mixture of methanol and n-butyl acetate. This combination is flammable and moderately toxic, but it evaporates quickly and without leaving a residue. The jury is still out on whether PEC-12 will be the best solution for any of these problems.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Emulsion Cleaner Makes Good
By sassofotoVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 6/24/2009
Pros:
Consistent Reactions, Easily Cleaned
Best Uses:
Developing, Enlarging, Photography, Printing
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

Very nice to work with but you need the right cloth.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Believe it, it cleaned the whole thing!
By Mary the PIcture LadyVerified Purchaser from Highland Heights, OH on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Consistent Reactions, Easily Cleaned
Best Uses:
Photography, Photo restoration
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

As a digital photo restoration artist, I do hundreds of restorations with images dating back to the 1800's. As you might expect, some are in pretty bad condition, ink smudges, surface dirt and grime, ball point ink somebody writing directly on the picture. I was spending countless hours "digitally cleaning these up before I got to the "real work" with the important part of the images themselves. I heard about PEC-12 but was very skeptical. I could not afford to ruin one-of-a-kind precious images. I cautiously tried it on corners of images to test the type of emulsion to be sure there would be no damage. I then carefully "clean up" the images BEFORE scanning anything. Hours saved in digital restoration time by having cleaner and therefore, sharper, images to deal with. It is now part of my digital restoration workflow. Easy to use and can count on PEC-12 to get "more perfect" originals every time.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Best Price From a Pro Retailer
By arizonapix[@]Verified Purchaser from Tempe, AZ on 7/13/2008
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

This product is a bit overpriced anywhere you can purchase it. But, it does the job, and Adorama had it in stock and at about the best price.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing results
By ChachiVerified Purchaser from Redmond, WA on 3/6/2008
Pros:
Consistent Reactions
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

I used this product to clean some old WWII era black and white prints. It removed ink from one photo and gunk from another without damaging or changing the quality of the photo. The bottle size is a little small and would be nice to have something with twice the volume but that is the only complaint I have.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Teriffic product
By Turtle watcherVerified Purchaser from Nokomis, FL on 9/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

Terrific product. Although I use it more for non-film uses. Cleans sharpie marker off non-porous surfaces completely. Removes adhesives and other goo that Acetone, Methyl Ethyl Ketone, Methanol, Ethanol, mineral spirits and Isopropyl Alcohol will not. A pretty good film cleaner also.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good product, hard to work with
By New userVerified Purchaser from South Lyon, MI on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Works without damaging
Cons:
Too easy to overuse
Best Uses:
Clean old slides
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

Good cleaner for old slides I'm scanning, but difficult to apply in the small quantities needed. It is not easy to remove when you get too much on the slide.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Use with PEC PADS to gently clean film
By SHOOTERVerified Purchaser from WISCONSIN on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Compact, Consistent Reactions, Leaves little/no residue
Cons:
Use caution be gentle
Best Uses:
Cleaning old film/slides, Enlarging, Printing
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Photographic Solutions Photographic Solutions PEC-12, Photographic Emulsion Cleaner, 4 oz. Pump Bottle:

Used gently with PEC PADS cleans film/slides and leaves little or no residue.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.