Buy the Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2 on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2 image
 
(based on 21 ratings)
Brand: Adorama
Located in: Filters, Accessories
Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.7 stars
(based on 21 reviews)
84% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(10), Strong construction(4)
Cons:
Poor quality(4)
Best Uses:
Filter protection(3), Lens protection(4)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(14)
Was this a gift?:
No(5)
 
Good Tool but Need the "Inbetween" Size
By antiquerookieVerified Reviewer from Portland OR area on 4/18/2011
Pros:
Does the job, Inexpensive, Light weight
Cons:
Really need a 58 - 67 siz, Tends to roll over
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

I recently bought a 28-200 lens for my F100. The lens has an odd (for Nikon anyway) 62mm filter thread. I straightaway got the uv filter and polarizing filter stuck together. I dug out my filter wrenches and, lo and behold, one size is too small and the other is too big. After some messing around, I was able to "sissor" the larger size so it would grip the uv filter with uniform pressure, which allowed me to remove the polarizer with my fingers. If they'd truly been crossthreaded, I think I'd have been in deep yogurt because I don't think I'd have been able to "sissor" both wrenches at the same time. The rubber band idea mentioned above might have helped but I'm doubtful. If I ever see a set of 58-67 wrenches, I'm going to grab them quick.

 
Did not work for me
By MikeVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 3/13/2011
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

I had lightly connected a new Canon FA-DC67A and a Nikon Clear lens for the first time and they would not come apart. The wrench was too large for my 67mm filter. The ends would cross before they were tight. The filter is very thin and the wrench kept slipping off. I tried adding the rubber bands to increase the diameter, I tried the heat method, the cold method, and I could never get the lens/filter mount apart. They did not work for me.

 
Good Filter Wrench
By Photo JunkieVerified Purchaser from Charleston, Oregon on 1/27/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

This is a filter wrench, they work, they didn't crack a stuck filter, what more can be said.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Filter Stuck? Here is an answer
By Shot By MichealVerified Purchaser from Great Falls, Montana on 1/12/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, Removing stuck filters
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

I bought these because I had a sky filter stuck on a Nikon E 50mm. Stuck for probably 25 years. The wrench couldn't get a good enough grip for it so I took a simple rubber band, put it around the filter for a grip and that got it free.
These are small, lightweight and happy additions to my goodie bag.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Cheap
By JimbobVerified Reviewer from Iowa on 9/10/2010
Cons:
Inconsistent Effect, Loose Mount, Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

I had a stuck polarizer on my skylight filter that I couldn't get off by hand. I ordered this filter wrench set thinking I would remove it the right way as not to damage the filters. I tried using these wrenches but every time I would squeeze them together hard they would roll over. Very cheap plastic. A last resort I ran the filters under hot water and banged them on the table, they separated by hand. I don't recommend this method but it worked. Which is more than I can say for the wrenches.

 
Works Well
By TDVerified Purchaser from Chicago on 4/25/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

Simple product, works well! Someone suggested the 2-rubberband idea instead, and talk about cumbersome! Cheap enough and fits nicely in the bag.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must have
By Little AVerified Purchaser from Augusta, GA on 2/4/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Filter Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

A must have if you have two filters stuck together. It was a little tricky to use at first. Wish the grips were coated with something that made it easier to hold on to.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not Quite the Right Size
By Tim loves wildlife photography from Ohio on 1/27/2010
Best Uses:
Filter Protection
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

These filter wrenches are a great concept but poor in design. I have some 58mm filters for one camera and 62mm filters for the other. The 58mm wrenches are too small for the 62mm filters and the 62-77mm filter wrenches are way too big. They may work in a pinch, but you have to overlap the ends. Good luck finding and in between size.

 
Simple idea for a sometimes problem
By BuddhaHeadVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles on 9/29/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

That tight filter can cause a fit. Using the wrong tool or brute force can ruin an expensive lens. Cheap insurance when you need it.

 
Just in Case
By Dennis the PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Lake Worth, Florida on 9/29/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Filter Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

This is a product to purchase and hope never to use.The question is not will my filter bind and become difficult to remove, but when will there be a problem. Lenses and filters are expensive; best to be prepared.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works
By MechanicVerified Reviewer from N. Carolina on 6/23/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Remove circular polarizer
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

Removes circular polarizers when they get stuck.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Saved my 77mm polarizer and UV filter
By PatVerified Reviewer from Northern Virginia on 5/4/2009
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

This saved a 77mm thin polarizer and UV that I had cross-threaded and couldn't get apart until these arrived in the mail.
It helped to put the jammed filters on a flat surface so one wrench was kept aligned that way. If you're not careful they can become misaligned and your force pulls them off.
A step-up or step down ring could also help aligning the wrenches, though I haven't tried that. They are thin and flimsy, but they do the job. These are now in my travel kit all the time.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Easy to use!
By SnorklerVerified Purchaser from Fairfax, VA on 4/8/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Remove stuck filters
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

Especially good if you use slim filters which are harder to grab if they get a little stuck.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worked but with additional help
By wVerified Purchaser from San Diego on 3/30/2009
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

My polarizer was stucked on an UV filter. Ordered the kit and tries. It did not work.

Out of desperation, I put both filters in -20 C freezer. After a while, the filters were separated easily. In the future, I will try the freezing method.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Buy and hope you never have to use them
By RRSPhotoVerified Purchaser from Long Beach, CA on 2/7/2009
Pros:
Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lens Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

Filter Wrenches are under $5, last a lifetime and can solve big problems with expensive glass. It makes sense to add them on to an order.

 
Worked like a charm!
By alanlmorganVerified Purchaser from Flint, MI on 2/6/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

I had a screw-on lens cap stuck to a filter. The flexibility of the handles made difficult and tricky to get a good grip the filter and cap. The handles kept flexing and twisting off. But it finally worked.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Flimsy and Unusable - has this product c
By rwizard from GA on 1/28/2009
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Shim for wobbly table leg
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

Has the manufacturing of this product changed since others reviewed it? What I received was made of plastic so thin, flimsy, and light that it was unusable for getting my filter unstuck. I know we are all skeptical when we see that one sour grapes review in the lot, but I promise you that I know what I am doing, and this is a fair review of the items I received. If you have a stuck filter, look elsewhere, this item will not work. Fortunately I am a home machinist, and will just fabricate my own solution, but surely someone makes a wrench that isn't so flimsy that it will just fold up in your hand when you try to loosen a stuck filter with it?

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
One of those
By Hooked on PicsVerified Reviewer from Charlottesville, VA on 1/15/2009
Pros:
Simple but effective
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, When you're in a "bind"
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

This is one of those items that you might not think about until you can't change your filter because it is "just too tight." And, larger diameter filters seem to require more torque to remove from a lens. I've had that happen at just the wrong time in the past, so I purchased a pair of these. I tried one on a lens that was not frozen, but very snug. It worked! I like the fact that it should prevent scratches on the lens, because the grip can be concentrated on the narrow edge of the filter without touching the lens.

 
Usefull
By NipTONEVerified Reviewer from Chile on 10/3/2008
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

My polarizers are sometimes hard to unscrew from other filters or rings.
On the field and with cold hands, helps in a simple, fast (but bulky) way.

 
valuable tool
By ch4rli3Verified Purchaser from atl, ga on 4/2/2008
Pros:
Easy to use
Cons:
Plastic
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

very valuable tool, saves time in removing stucked filters (would help you not to look stupid too.)

rubberized material could have been better.

 
Valuable tool.
By RTaeckerVerified Purchaser from Mesa, AZ on 9/26/2007
Pros:
Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lens Protection
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Filter Wrench for 62mm-77mm Filters, Package of 2:

Effective tool.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.