Buy the Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S) on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S) image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Cokin
Located in: Filters, Filter Kits
Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S)
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.4 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear optics(7), Consistent effect(3), Easy to use(8), Firm mount(5), Strong construction(4)
Best Uses:
Color correction(5), Image manipulation(9)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Photo enthusiast(6)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Worth it for the filter holder alone
By ShellyVerified Purchaser from Lawn Guyland on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Firm Mount
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

Solid product, you definitely get your money's worth. Just remember that you need to buy the adapter ring for your particular lens size so the mount can fit on your camera. It's not included.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must Have For Landscapes
By MBBVerified Purchaser from So. Cal. on 1/17/2010
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

So far, used exclusively for sunset landscapes over the ocean. Besides the usual, and since the filters stack, I've used two, one of them inverted, to keep the sunset and the wet sand from blowing out while having proper exposure in the center on the rolling waves. Short of HDR, there's no better control.

 
works great
By amlsmlVerified Purchaser from lbi,nj on 1/11/2010
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Color Correction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

Works as designed, a slimmer carry case would be helpful

 
easy to use
By DeannieVerified Purchaser from Long Island, NY on 9/3/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Color Correction, Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

I live on an Island and this makes things so much easier for me!

 
Good quality with reasonable price
By SRQ PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Sarasota, FL on 8/9/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics
Best Uses:
Correct balanced exposure
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

Still play with it. It is better built than I initially thought before I made the purchase.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Decent but not perfect
By PetersVerified Purchaser from Ottawa, Ontario on 3/30/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

ND Grads are necessary to balance exposure between foreground and sky when shooting landscapes - allows an "HDR" effect to be obtained without the post processing work. System works relatively well, but watch for overly warm color casts in the darkened areas of the filter, especially when stacking multiple filters. Vignetting is a serious problem using my 12-24 on my D90 Nikon, the wide angle adapter is a MUST and will still vignette without care when shooting wide. Overall, a good product at a reasonable price. And as always, you only get what you pay for... this system could be better, but it could also be more expensive. It does what it is intended for, it's limitations need to be understood.

 
Cokin Filter Kit
By DalesVerified Purchaser from Vancouver, Wa on 3/6/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount
Best Uses:
Color Correction, Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

I have only used this set of filters a couple of times but what it has already done for me is give me the virsitility I was looking for.

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Watch for vignetting
By LanceVerified Reviewer from Ontario, Canada on 2/19/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Essential for Landscapes
Cons:
Vignetting with Holder
Best Uses:
Balance SkyGround Exp, Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

The standard holder vignettes quite badly on my Nikon 12-24 DX lens. At 12mm the entire side of the frame (both sides) is cut off from top to bottom, and this gets worse if you rotate the holder. Zooming out is mandatory, even more as you need to rotate the filter from horizontal.

The wide angle adapter (sold seperately) is much better, but will still clip the corners if rotated with the lens at 12mm.

Using a lens with a narrower picture angle reduces vignetting and also reduces the need for a grad filter at the same time...

Filters can be hand-held against the front of the lens to eliminate vignetting altogether, but scratching the soft plastic filters becomes a real issue when doing this.

Overall, grad filters are essential for balancing the exposure of the sky and foreground. They are easy to use and understand, but the supplied holders are not very good at all making hand-holding a much more realistic approach with wide lenses. Cokin literature is optimistic in this regard.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent value
By Bern's PicsVerified Purchaser from Alberta, Canada on 4/17/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

Great for balancing landscapes.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must Have Item f/Landscapes, Sunsets etc
By RichVerified Reviewer from BC, Canada on 9/16/2007
Pros:
Adjustable Horizon, Can be Handheld, Consistent Effect, Easy to use
Cons:
Easily scratched
Best Uses:
Great for Sunsets, Wide Exposure Ranges
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

If you like to include the sun in your photos, take photos that have a wide exposure latitude or enjoy landscape photography, these filters are essential for getting the most out of your image.

[7 of 7 customers found this review helpful]

 
Perfect Cokin starter kit for Digital
By JMPhotoVerified Purchaser from Baltimore, MD on 7/12/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Exposure balancing
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

While most Cokin filter effects can be added in post production, the gradient ND system brings back the skies to digital shooters by bringing the skies and foreground closer together in exposure. No longer do you need to choose between perfect skies and underexposed subjects or perfect subjects and blown out skies.

The device mounts on an adapter ring (not included) that is sized for the threads on your lens. From there it clicks into place and can be rotated easily for your shooting style. Drop in one of the three Gradient ND filters included in this set and it can be slid up and down and rotated to match your scene.

Be sure to get yourself a Cokin P lens cap to protect your filters when hiking from spot to spot.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Inexpensive, indispensible Tools
By blubingVerified Purchaser from Poynette, WI on 7/10/2007
Best Uses:
Color Correction, Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

Really helps even out the dynamic range between the sky and landscape to help preserve highlights in the sky and shadow in the landscape.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Cokin filters are fun
By TomHuckwaVerified Purchaser from Goldendale, Wa on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Brings out color, Fun effects
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Color Correction, Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

I have been making colorful sunsets and panoramics from bland washed out flat color photos

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great product at a great price
By Jason CVerified Purchaser from St. Louis, MO on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Reduce contrast in scene
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Cokin Cokin ND Graduated Filter Kit P Series, with Filter Holder & Graduated ND Filters #121L, 121M, 121S):

The kit is a great value! Very easy and intuitive to use. can be used with or without the supllied holder. love the results! Can't wait to see what it does for the Key West sunsets on vacation next week! The only thing I am not crazy about is the cases are quite thick compared to the filters so they flop around and tale up alot of space in the camera bag, but for the results I certainly can live with that, or buy a filter wallet.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.