Buy the Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Hoya
Located in: Filters, Infra-Red Filters
Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
100% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear optics(9), Consistent effect(6), Easy to use(4), Firm mount(8), Strong construction(6)
Best Uses:
Artwork(5), Image manipulation(7)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(5), Photo enthusiast(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Filter for Infrared Film
By PaulMVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 8/9/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Relatively inexpensive
Best Uses:
Color Correction, Infrared
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

This dark-red filter is necessary to get the full infrared effect with black and white IR films from Europe, since Kodak has stopped production of HIE. The filter is practically opaque, so it is best used with rangefinder cameras; otherwise, you have to focus without the filter, then put it on just before exposure.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
A nice way to achieve IR w/o conversion!
By Practically PrudentVerified Purchaser from SLC, Utah on 3/7/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

You can't go wrong here. I use this with my Nikon D40 and have got some beautiful shots. Some people feel that it's just a waste of money and doesn't give you true IR. Simply stated, they're wrong. You might want to do some reading about your camera's capabilities with IR (via filter) to see how well this will work. ie This works better on the D40 as opposed to the D60, pixels I've read being the factor there.

It's highly affordable and unless you plan on working only in IR all the time it's a great bang for the buck. If you are going to primarily work in IR you're going to want to convert your camera, your exposures won't need to be anywhere near as long, and you'll be able to compose and snap your pictures as fast as you would on a normal camera.

I've taken several hundred pictures with this lens since I first purchased it, primarily of nature landscapes, and I absolutely love it. Mine did come with a ghostly haze on it, but after some quick cleaning I was all set. If you're wondering if this will be fun and enjoyable and you know your camera is capable of producing good images with it, don't ponder any further just buy it. I use this on all of my lenses and get 0 hot spots.

Images shared by: Practically Prudent

Took this the day I got it.

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

 
Fun back in B&W
By RichardVerified Purchaser from Leesburg, FL on 2/21/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

Great filter, and great B&W photos. Adds so much to photography, back to where you can think and know more than the auto camera. Brings fun back to photography.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Broadens your horizon!!!
By FerretfaceVerified Purchaser from Austin, TX on 1/22/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Firm Mount
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

Definitly puts a different view on photos!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Stunning Effect
By geowhizzardjimVerified Purchaser from Boutte, LA on 8/12/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Artwork
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

After viewing some spectacular images on the internet, I purchased the R72 filter simply to play in the infrared spectrum without the high cost of sensor stripping. I mount the filter on top of a rotating circular polarizer and generally shoot between 0.5 sec and 20 sec. tripod-stabilized exposures. Simple Photoshop workflows render stunning results. For an inexpensive introduction to IR photography, this is an amazing bargain.

Images shared by: geowhizzardjim

As Captured

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

PS CS3x Tweaked

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good filter to start out IR shots
By EricVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Good quality, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
IR photographs
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

Bought this filter to begin playing around with IR on a Pentax K10D DSLR. The quality is very good. I can't evaluate the filters technical component just yet as I am still working out the settings to get thing right. There is lots of good info on IR photography to help you get started. So far seems like a good starter filter. I would buy again and buy future Hoya filters based upon build and quality.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Results
By Tom - As Eye See ItVerified Purchaser from Auburn, Maine on 7/10/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect
Best Uses:
Artwork, Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

I really love the results I've gotten already with my first use of the filter. It was the right one for my Konica Minolta D7 and what I was looking to achieve.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Filter so worth it
By StollVerified Reviewer from Layton, UT on 7/7/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Cons:
Constant Filter Change
Best Uses:
Artwork, Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

I have been shooting photos on and off for a couple of years, but got back into it when I picked up the Nikon D40. To get things going, I saw some photos in infrared and wanted to get the same effect without forking out the cash just yet. The filter worked like a charm, but from what I have experienced is just a filter for the outside in the sun. Not for use in-doors or at night. I love the fact that I can shoot awesome pics, but when you constantly have to remove the filter to focus it can get tiring. But that is the only low point of this filter. Everything else is awesome. Word of advice, if you want the infrared look then use B&W setting. But if you use normal color you will get a pretty cool looking magenta/infrared effect.

Images shared by: Stoll

normal B&W shot without RM72 filter

Image Thumbnail

B&W with RM72 filter

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Buy
By AndyVerified Purchaser from Cincinnati, OH on 3/26/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Artwork, Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

This is an excellent filter for getting started in IR. It does not block out all light other than IR but most of it. It's perfect if you want to try false-color IR since it lets a small amount of the non-IR spectrum in. It's also inexpensive compared to the true IR filters.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Renew Your Love for Photography
By DonVerified Purchaser from Cincinnati, OH on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Artwork, Image Manipulation
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 52mm RM-72 Infrared Filter:

Since getting this filter I have found a new interesting approach to my photography. Infrared creates a surreal beautiful world. Since getting this filter it has been my main form of photography. I highly recommend it.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.