Buy the Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Hoya
Located in: Filters, Polarizing Filters
Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
90% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Clear optics(7), Easy to use(4), Firm mount(7), Strong construction(7)
Best Uses:
Color correction(3), Lens protection(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(3), Photo enthusiast(5)
 
poor construction
By tee from dc on 2/15/2011
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

My filter broke after very little use. One of the circular retaining rings must have popped out and now the glass element is lose.

 
Wouldn't be without
By KenstufVerified Purchaser from San Mateo on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Color Correction, Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

I use this filter to make my daylight images pop, it enhances the colors.
Especially useful around water, reduces glare and penetrates water to a degree.

 
Great filter
By n2_spaceVerified Purchaser from Indy on 5/27/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Image Manipulation
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

Great filter, Works very well. Inner ring is a little thin, but it really isn't difficult to remove or put one. Lens cap fits on, barely.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for a budget filter
By CraigHVerified Reviewer from Orlando, Fl on 5/2/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use
Cons:
Aluminum frame, Cheap storage, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Increase contrast, Reduce Reflections
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

I purchased the Hoya product though I knew it wouldn't be quite what I'm used to with Heliopan, Singh-Ray and B+W. I was right, but all in all it's probably the best filter for a mid-priced polarizer. I suppose if it stayed on the lens more often I would have spent more as I've done in other sizes. You'll drop anywhere from 1.5 stops to 2 stops, but that's expected.

I'm not sure why people would use a polarizing filter as a protection but I suppose they are used to slow glass or they think it's a UV filter.

I would recommend it with reservations

[2 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
" I was surprised to find"
By Bob Cohen, Master PhotographerVerified Purchaser from Newport News, VA on 4/11/2009
Pros:
Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Cons:
A oily smuge on the glass
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

I was surprised to find a oily smuge on the glass. Adorama replaced it with a new one. The second one had the same problem. I needed to use the filter for a trip and spent 30 minutes with lens cleaner & tissue to get it clean. Have used Hoya for years and this is very disappointing.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Performance Thus Far
By EOSfanVerified Purchaser from United States on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Clear Optics, Easy To Use, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Best Uses:
Color Correction
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

I was debating between the Hoya and B+W polarizers prior to making this purchase. After weighing price differential and online reviews between the 2 items, I decided to go with Hoya. I have not regretted going with Hoya thus far. This filter appears very well built and the colors really pop. I have not had the opportunity to compare its performance with that of B+W, but for the Hoya's pricing, I believe this filter represents a very good value.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
It's a quality product
By JimVerified Purchaser from Vancouver, WA on 1/9/2009
Pros:
Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Lens Protection, UV Protection
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

It stays on the lense.

[0 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Price differences?
By rizami from Bahrain on 5/16/2008
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

This is not a review but more of a question.

After searching the internet I noted huge gap in price differences of Hoya filters that are sold in the USA, UK and Hong Kong.

Why?

By the way, I am using Hoya Pro1 Digital CPL 52 mm and it is a wonderful piece of product!

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Top of the Line
By JeffVerified Reviewer from MIchigan on 3/20/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Firm Mount, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Artwork, Image Manipulation, Lens Protection
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

If your looking for a circular polarizer, look no further. I can not find a flaw with this product and works perfectly with no loss of image quality thats visible to the eye. Only thing that could make this better would be thicker threads on the front to place the lens cover on when attached to a lens when not in use or adding a snazzy case for it instead of just the plastic box, which it should come with for the price they are asking. Other than that, perfect.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Filter For Outdoor Photography
By AhmadVerified Purchaser from Saudi Arabia on 1/21/2008
Pros:
Clear Optics, Firm Mount
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Color Correction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

This filter is a must-have for outdoor and nature photographers.

[0 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Brilliant
By FrenchVerified Purchaser from Hinsdale, IL on 7/10/2007
Pros:
Clear Optics, Consistent Effect, Excellent Contrast, Strong Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Hoya Hoya 77mm DMC PRO1 Digital Circular Polarizer Glass Filter:

Coupled with a Tokina 12mm-24mm f/4 PRO DX AF Zoom for Nikon D-SLR performance was excellent. This is the only circular polarizing filter I own and can't imagine anything working better. I'll never shoot without it (on sunny days). Colors and detail/contrast are enhanced but not distorted; greens are green and blues are brilliant. I'm glad I spent the money and didn't settle for a lesser quality product.

Tokina reccomended this filter be used with their lens which was helpful.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.