Buy the Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft). on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft). image
 
(based on 18 ratings)
Brand: Adorama
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.8 stars
(based on 18 reviews)
78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(13), Durable(4), Easy to use(6), Fast recycling(10), Good power output(6)
Cons:
Weak casing(3)
Best Uses:
Back-up(3), Fill flash(8), General purpose(10), Night photography(3), Photojournalism(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4), Photo enthusiast(5), Professional(5)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simple, inexpensive
By BobVerified Purchaser from Lees Summit, MO on 4/25/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output
Cons:
Not for rough use
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

I seldom use auxiliary lighting, but needed a light, inexpensive flash for occasional projects where ambient light will be insufficient. Adequate for that purpose. Probably will not take much abuse, but otherwise satisfactory for my purposes. Settings appear to work quite well.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not so much.......
By JayVerified Reviewer from NJ on 1/17/2010
Pros:
Affordable
Cons:
Durability
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

Mounted this to my Sony Alpha A200 using Seagull Alpha/Minolta hot shoe adapter. Flash fired twice then could not be "seen" by my camera as being connected and therefore fired. I have swapped and charged batteries, checked camera settings and tested another dedicated flash to rule out cam or battery faults. The fault may be in the adapter and I have a radio trigger on order so I will be able to pin point the failure. I will be updating post when I receive my Adorama brand radio trigger.

 
Nice flash for the price
By MattVerified Purchaser from Dallas, TX on 1/14/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

This flash has worked well so far, but I have not used it that much. It has missed/not fired on a couple of shots, but not enough to cause any major concern.

This seems to be a good flash (especially considering the price).

 
Not a bad flash, good price.
By Keith MVerified Purchaser from CA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

Decent flash for a very good price. Great output and good recycle time. I'm using mainly off camera with some [...] triggers. Set it in the corner during get together and get decent coverage in the living room. There are two complaints, one the instructions are horrible to try and understand. I'm sure the flash does something I'm not aware of but will never now. Also, there is not way to really control the output. For the price it a very good build quality and strong flash. Giving it a 4 mainly because of the low price for the power.

[3 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
It is not compatibale with Canon
By PhilVerified Purchaser from New York on 1/10/2010
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

It doesn't work with my Canon T1i. but the product description hasn't stated this. [...]

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Right Light -- Right Price
By coolhoosierVerified Purchaser from Dover, NH on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

Much better than the flash units integrated into most point-and-shoot cameras. But awkwardly large and heave.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Pop for your Buck
By Eric Moore PhotoVerified Reviewer from NY, NY on 8/21/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

Bought it mainly because of the pc sync slot.

(THE FLASH HAS A SYNC CORD INCLUDED, TUCKED IN THE BATTERY COMPARTMENT so you don't need to buy one).

I use it off camera with my Sony a700 via pc cord and wirelessly with the Impact Powersync 10 system. Both fire constantly. I like that the flash doesn't have a sleep mode. Never have to walk over and wake it up.

I hooked up a Quantum compact battery to it using the adapter for the sigma ef 430 flash. (the "+" symbol on the adapter should be toward the top and rear of the flash). recycle is about 3 seconds. Recycle with rechargeable batteries is 5-10 seconds depending on battery freshness.

My minor grumbles are I wish it were a bit more powerful. It had a better manual and Adorama listed what omni-bounce fits it

 
Great starter flash!!
By MarcVerified Reviewer from New Jersey on 6/19/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky, Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

I love this flash. I used this for a year before buying the 430exII. Learned a lot about flash photography using this manual flash. Now, having ETTL II, feels like I'm cheating.

Now it serves as a backup flash. Soon, when I start getting into OCF, it will be a second flash.

The only gripe I have is the recycle time. Other than that, it's a great flash to start out with.

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not what I'd hoped
By Michael H from Austin, TX on 5/19/2009
Pros:
Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Unreliable
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

Judging from everyone else's reviews, I figured I could get a decent flash for a decent price. Turns out this flash (my unit, at least) is finicky at best. There are times when it will fire consistently for the first few minutes of a session, but then it'll fire when it wants to after that. It's mostly independent of auto-focus confirm, and will pick a random shot on a quick burst to actually fire.

Other than that, when it does fire, it's great. I really wish it was more consistent and reliable.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Lots of power and Punch here!
By SteverVerified Purchaser from Chicago area on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Fill Flash
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

good power output, but the battery door had trouble closing tight, and the module could have been made a little sturdier. Great back-up for a background fill flash.
a Plus is it has a nice zoom mode to it.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value
By AdrianVerified Purchaser from Minneapolis, MN on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Slow Recycling, Weak Casing
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

Decent output and recycling times, flimsy case. I had to add small pieces of cardboard to the battery compartment, as the batteries' contacts did not align properly with the flash's.

If you're into tinkering and saving money, this flash is for you. Otherwise, there are better options out there (units that are better built, have extra features, etc...).

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Definately a Strobist Worthy Flash!
By The Prince of CheapVerified Reviewer from Los Angeles California on 12/25/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Weak Casing
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits, Wedding/Event Photography
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

This flash is THE one to replace the need for a Vivitar 285hv! Why you ask? Think about it... for the price of one Vivitar you can get 3 of these! AMAZING! All you do is chain them and viola... Guide Number of 246 at full power for all three! Thats good enough to bust out of a 48-60 inch shoot through umbrella at decent range! Get these flashes 2 at a time and boom... you got a portable studio! PS... as its an all manual flash with a PC sync think of what you can do with three of them in a room with a radio trigger like the Cybersync, or the Elinchrom Skyport* wireless radio trigger system! These are GREAT! Only drawback is that the 8 second recycle time is not the best... thats why I recommend using 2500 NIMH batteries for faster recycles! Also, when you chain more than one you can dial down the output for faster recycles! This flash isnt the pure power monster of the Vivitar 285HV but by darn sure Adorama has rebadged a good reliable flash. Strobist this is for you!

Note: you will need a sub mini to mini phone cable to use it with the Elichrom Skyport system.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I'm glad I read the reviews
By blackdogphotoVerified Purchaser from Kalkaska, MI on 8/6/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

I'm glad for once that I read the online reviews, the people that gave it a five star rating knew their stuff. I would have expected this unit, if I didn't know the price, would have guessed the price at $149.00 or a bit lower, but not less than $129.00. Thanks Adorama, you have branded an excellent product.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very happy with this flash!
By Andi LF from St. Louis, MO on 1/20/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

I had been searching for months for a flash that would work with my FujiFilm Finepix S9100 when finally, I saw the review for this flash on Adorama.

There was a person who had used this flash on the same series camera as mine AND they are a professional photographer. I thought if a professional could give a great review on this flash then why not try it out.

I bought the flash for a GREAT price! I was predicting to spend 2-3 times as much as I did for this flash. The shipping wasn't bad either. I ordered the flash on a Tuesday and received the flash on a Friday. OH JOY!

Being a novice-yet very enthusiastic- photographer, I started shooting right away. There's not much in the ways of a manual, but enough to understand what you need to do. I also took the liberty to just "shoot" in many different ways.

I'm highly impressed with this flash and Adorama. My next purchase will be a lighting kit and I know where I will be coming for that!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling.
By IT guyVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 5/8/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Cons:
Body looks really cheap
Best Uses:
Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

This is a great flash. I will pay additional [$] for a better body.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Just what I needed
By AdamVerified Reviewer from Chicago, IL on 4/21/2007
Describe Yourself:
Semi professional
Pros:
90 degree tilt, Cheapest I found, Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Loaded with features, Nearly 360 degree rotate
Cons:
Stiff switches and zoom, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Affordable experimenting, Triggering slaves
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

I use it to fire my slaves because my on camera flash will not sync with the slaves at all. It also has decent power and nice features for such an inexpensive flash.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Non-Dedicated flash for the money
By VideopVerified Reviewer from Palmetto Florida on 4/20/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

I needed a flash that would give me more latitude with my Fujifilm Digital S9100. This flash unit fit the bill. It has very nice features and operates as expected. A great value for everyday use and makes a great back up unit.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great flash for the money!
By Big DaddyVerified Reviewer from Vienna, West Virginia on 3/9/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling
Cons:
Need to use NiMh battery
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Photography, Use it to trigger slaves
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Auto Bounce Flash, Non-Dedicated Flash with a GN of 82 (ISO100/ft).:

I bought six of these flashes, great value and nice performance. Diffuser built in.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.