Buy the Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version image
 
(based on 29 ratings)
Brand: Adorama
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2.9 stars
(based on 29 reviews)
52% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(5), Durable(8), Easy to use(11), Fast recycling(3), Lightweight(9)
Cons:
Not functional(5)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(6), General purpose(10), Night photography(4), Portraits(10)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(3), Photo enthusiast(9), Semi-professional(7), Semi-pro photographer(4)
Was this a gift?:
No(7)
 
Didn't Work
By DaveVerified Purchaser from Upstate NY on 4/19/2011
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Bought this product and was dissapointed because it didn't work. I either got full power flash or no flash. Never a TTL regulated flash. Exchanged it for the Canon product that works fine.

 
It works for me
By rob32trk from nyc on 4/8/2011
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

I guess i got luck with this cord works perfect.no problems yet .Feels very sturdy. flashes and communicates each time . great price.

 
Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord
By BillyVerified Purchaser from Southfield, Michigan on 2/24/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Excellent product. Easy to use. Dependable

 
no problems
By MSHaughwoutVerified Purchaser from Flagstaff AZ on 2/12/2011
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

works great so far. I use it with a stroboframe flash bracket and 430 EXii.

 
A Little Awkward
By MCVerified Purchaser from Ohio on 2/7/2011
Pros:
Fast Recycling
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

This chord attaches to the shoe mount in such a way that the chord hangs over the front of the camera and interfers with the shots. It is too long, also.

 
I feel confident now!!!!
By CanonTomVerified Purchaser from Carlisle, PA on 2/6/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Reliable, Versatile
Cons:
Cost
Best Uses:
Banquets, Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

I must admit,... I have not used it much yet. But I was shooting a awards banquet and I had an off-brand cord and right before the most important, the handing out of awards the off-brand cord started shooting extreme over exposed images. At that point I was sweating bullits wishing i had bought the Canon brand. I have it now and WILL be feeling confident doing my next banquet. It is a little pricy but when you were in the situation where I was in you would of paid $200 for the cord, so all in all the price isn't to bad. I will stick with mane brand when it comes to stuff like that.

 
3' Cable is Ideal for Off Camera Flash
By Canon FanVerified Purchaser from Bellevue, WA on 1/19/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

This cable was included within an Adorama package for the Canon 430EXII. Not only does it work, but the price is much less than the OEM's cable.

 
Does not work, need to contact Adorama
By RickVerified Purchaser from Virginia Beach, VA on 1/15/2011
Pros:
None
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
None
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
Yes
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Did not work. Essential to being able to use the Flash Bracket. Still need to contact Adorama to let them know.

 
Good piece of equipment
By SteveELPVerified Purchaser from El Paso, Tx on 11/23/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Does what its supposed to do.

 
I Love it
By KonanVerified Purchaser from Puerto Rico on 9/20/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Worked like a charm.

 
Fell apart within a week
By mwsflies81Verified Reviewer from Suffolk, VA on 8/25/2010
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Came apart where it connects to the camera's hot shoe. Was weak and felt cheap out of the box.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Product
By LesVerified Purchaser from Smethport, PA on 6/7/2010
Pros:
Quality Good
Cons:
Cord needs reoriented
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

This is a good product except that the cord from the camera mount section needs to be oriented so that it exits the connector box from the side, rather than the front wher it interfers with the front of the camera.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Quite useful but short
By SPPVerified Purchaser from Payson, AZ on 4/25/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

The cable makes off-camera flash quite easy. My only complaint is that the cable is too short. It could be at least 36" or more to make it more useful

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value-Works Great
By DaveVerified Purchaser from West Point, Virginia on 4/5/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

This cord is well made and works perfectly. At less than half the price of Canon's own cord (probably the same unit anyway), it's a steal.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
VERY GOOD PRODUCT
By GregVerified Purchaser from Pittsburgh Pa on 2/3/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

work's great

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not what expected
By papamikeVerified Purchaser from Enon, OH on 1/14/2010
Cons:
Too short, Unmanagable at 3 ft
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

This item is listed at 3ft, extended. At 3ft it is strecthed taut and unwieldy. Just too short for my needs. Probably ok for verrry short off-camera needs.

 
Failed after one flash
By Doug AVerified Reviewer from Albuquerque, NM on 8/23/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Got this with a Canon 430EX Kit from and it stopped working after it triggered the flash ONCE. Flash is working fine when mounted to the camera.
Just contacted Adorama about this and hope they have a good and fast warranty policy

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works fine for me!?!?
By KyleVerified Purchaser from Fort Lauderdale, FL on 6/12/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Best Uses:
With flash bracket
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

This cord works fine for me. I have a Canon 5D Mark 2 and an old Canon ETTL flash. I have only used the cord with the bracket and had no problems losing sync. I would not however recommend it to someone looking for an actual 3' ETTL cord. The coil is too tight to stretch that far. I can definitely see where putting a lot of pressure on either end of the cable could cause it to malfunction. I've kept mine attached to my bracket and it's been flawless. My cable is Meike branded.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
no good
By jamesb from baltimore, md on 4/18/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use
Cons:
Flimsy Design
Describe Yourself:
Film Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

this doesnt hold up -- i used mine on shoots maybe 3-4 times before it stopped working - the wire separates from the housing and it stops working. - of course, Ive had the same problem with canon's version - maybe if the cords were not so tightly coiled, it would put less pressure on the wires when they are streched out by my arm reaching to move the flash around. -- ill go back to the canon version next time around -- even though it had the same problem, it lasted a good 20-30 shoots before it broke!

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Faulty and funky
By ChipVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, GA on 3/30/2009
Cons:
Doesn't work consistently
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

I bought this to replace the Canon version that broke on me. I saw a lot of negative reviews for this item but bought it anyway. When I received it I put it on the camera and attached the flash and took a shot. It seemed to work fine, so I thought I got a good one.

I went to an event that I was paid to photograph last week and attached the cord and flash (580ex) to my camera (5D) and bracket and started shooting the event. After a few flashes my camera wouldn't focus and flash anymore. I turned the flash off and back on and it worked for the next shot, but not the one after that. It kept doing that, I would have to power down and power up my flash between every shot. I tried putting my flash in manual mode rather than ETTL and then it worked. I had to shoot the whole event in manual flash mode. This was NOT cool. I will be ordering a Canon cord eventhough I think the price is a ripoff, at least it will work.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works great
By cityvisionVerified Purchaser from birmingham, al on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Cord too short
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

works great...wish the cord was 5' instead of three.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Small defect prevents use
By AlVerified Purchaser from Cherry Hill, NJ on 2/11/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

I bought the coil flash cord to use with my Stroboframe bracket, replacing the Canon cord I bought years ago. After years of use, the plastic strips that slide into the slide grooves of the bracket to hold the flash in place broke off. The plastic of the Adorama replacement cord is too thick to fit into the bracket groove, making the cord unusable. [...]

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Can't make this cord work.
By JimVerified Reviewer from Tennessee on 1/13/2009
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

I've tried this cord with two different cameras (450d and 40d) and two different flashes (430 & 580 II). Even fiddling with the placement of the contacts doesn't work.

I'd steer clear of this item and go with another off-camera cord.

 
Does what it should
By JimVerified Purchaser from Lancaster, CA on 12/30/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Back-Up, Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Wedding/Event Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

When ever I want to get the flash off camera, the only thing that would be better would be radio control sync of the flash.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does NOT Work
By New Kent photographerVerified Reviewer from New Kent VA on 9/9/2008
Cons:
Doesn't Work, Not Functional
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

I've attempted to use the Adorama cord attached to a Stroboframe and 580EX II with my Canon 30D for several weddings and it makes the flash mis-fire or flat out fail. It may take 3-4 shots before it requires jiggling or re-seating. It's not a reliable piece of equipment, however the customer service person at Adorama was gracious and advised me to send it back even though it's past the normal 14 day return period. He will be replacing it with an original Canon cord, and I'll be paying the differnce in cost.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Does not work as stated by Adorama
By LuisVerified Reviewer from Quebec, Canada on 3/6/2008
Cons:
Not Functional
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Got a new Canon 580EX II flash attached to this off-camera cord and well it worked for a few shots then nothing. If I lock the flash base (ring at the bottom) then flash never fires, I have to unlock the 580EX II and fiddle with it (left & right) until it works.

Finally I ended up putting the flash on top of the camera till I buy a genuine Canon OC-E3 cord.

Regards,

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Junk. . .
By Gary from Brooklyn, New York on 3/6/2008
Cons:
Not Durable, Not Functional
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

I bought this with a Stroboframe flip bracket to use as fill on a wireless setup using two 580 EX ll flash heads and a 420 EX as hair light.
It felt flimsy from the first time attaching. You have to tighten this thing to what feels dangerously tight as it is cheaply made in order to keep it from rotating with the flashes weight when flipped to portrait mode.It worked ok for the first couple of days, and then I started to get bad connections with the flash to camera (5D)
THe flash was jumping into TTL instead of E-TTL, setting were changing all the time, the camera was not snapping sometimes. I was hoping it was not one of the new 580 EX ll that was going bad. I mounted the flash head directly to the camera and all problems were gone. A bad E-TTL cord. Don't waste your time with this as you can see with the other reviews.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Doesn't work with the 420EX either!
By LuckyLarryVerified Reviewer from St. Paul on 2/22/2008
Cons:
Not Functional
Best Uses:
none
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

Tried this on a 20D and a 5D with a 420EX and it wouldn't work with either one. They didn't recognize that a flash was even attached. Tried it with a new 580EX2 and got the same results except the 5D fired it but only on manual. Am going to try to return it and get the Cannon one. Wish me luck!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good, but doesn't work with 580 EX II
By MattVerified Reviewer from Lincoln, NE on 2/5/2008
Pros:
Improves Product Function
Cons:
Incompatible with 580 EX, Not Functional
Best Uses:
Portraits, Studio
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Off-Camera eTTL2 Coiled Flash Cord (extends to 3') for All Canon EOS Cameras - Heavy Duty Version:

I bought this as part of the 580 Ex II deluxe package and it worked pretty well, but when I put it in my bracket and flipped it so the flash would be hanging in the shoe instead of pressing down (like it normally sits if you're shooting horizontally) it stopped working. It seems like the weather sealing of the 580 EX prevents it from sitting flush against the mount.

I ended up buying a Canon OC-E3 and that works fine.

I would recommend this to someone who doesn't have a 580 EX II. I gave this cable to a friend with a 550 and it has worked fine.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.