Buy the Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2. image
 
(based on 13 ratings)
Brand: Adorama
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.2 stars
(based on 13 reviews)
60% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Easy to use(3), Lightweight(9), Reliable(3), Softens light(4)
Cons:
Poor quality(4)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(3), General purpose(3)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4)
 
Simple Design, Effective, Inexpensive
By MicManVerified Purchaser from West Hollywood, CA on 2/20/2011
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

I bought this cover to go over my LED light on my camcorder. When I'm videoing at weddings and interviewing people, I notice that the LED produces too strong of a light on their faces. I needed something simple to smooth out the tone. By slipping this cover over it, I'm able to get a softer, more even tone. For me, this item is exactly what I was looking for. It's simple; just slip it over and get recording. It doesn't take up any room in the bag. It's a small nylon bag/cover with a band at the bottom; two inside.

 
Keep a couple on hand, in your bag.
By William or BillVerified Purchaser from Mansfield, Massachusetts on 11/11/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

Works very well with my Nikon SB-15 flash on manual and auto settings on my Nikon D60 digital camera using manual aperture and shutter speed settings.
Pics are shadowless, diffused light is even at 18mm thru 55mm lens settings. No harsh hot spots even at close focus.

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
fire hazard?
By Louis of SwitzerlandVerified Reviewer from Zurich, Switzerland on 1/24/2010
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

I'd stay away from putting bare cloth directly on a hotshoe flash, just the other day I managed to burn my shirt with just my SB-600.
If it had been an SB-900 or some insanely powerful Metz, my shirt (or such a sock) might not survive.... so if you do use this, refrain from using full power.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
inexpensive and does job
By chuckieVerified Purchaser from oklahoma city, ok on 5/13/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

use with nikon p 90 and digi slave flash. wortks fine and just stick in your pocket

[2 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Going to buy more....
By StuVerified Reviewer from Youngstown OH on 6/30/2008
Pros:
Adequate
Cons:
Lightweight - flimsy
Best Uses:
General Use
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

I bought a set quite some years ago, and used it on an inexpensive Nikon flash (SB20?). Worked quite well, other than being a little flimsy.

I bought a new camera, and gave my old one to my daughter, including one "sock". Can't find the other one....

I don't need one for the new SB600, but want it for one or two slaves.

So, if I can't find the other one....

About the only downside, and this may be "me", or the camera, other than construction, is that with rather fast film and a hot flash, the backgrounds don't always go as black as desired - the thing doesn't hold back enough light. Now that I've "gone digital", I have more control there, though.

[1 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
good idea, but needs work
By DBatesPhotoVerified Reviewer from Huntsville, AL on 10/28/2007
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Too small, Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

The sock is not as large as I hoped. The flat area is roughly 5” and it would not stretch enough to fit on a 7” Alien Bee Reflector. After trying to get it to fit on another light barely stretching it the elastic snapped.

I think with some minor modifications (as others have stated larger possibly adjustable sizes) it will work for what I originally wanted an easy to use diffuser. As is it might work on a 3-5” strobe, but I do not think it would hold up if used for a long period of time or with a modeling lamp and highly doubt it will work with any 7” or larger reflectors.

 
Flimsy construction
By E. SuttonVerified Reviewer from Buffalo, NY on 10/24/2007
Best Uses:
Portraits, Soften flash
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Softens Light
Cons:
Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
30 year Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

This item is described as being compatible with Novatron strobes but the elastic band broke on both bonnets the first time I put them on. I have used them with a jury rigged elastic and they do modify the light in an attractive way- but it was a disappointment to see how cheaply they were made considering the price

[0 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Useful, But Overpriced
By John the Wedding GuyVerified Purchaser from Rochester, NY on 7/10/2007
Best Uses:
Softens Strobe
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Overpriced, Weak Construction
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

This product can be helpful. Examining the materials and construction, it is difficult to justify nearly [$] each for two pieces of diffusing material with elastic bands.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Portable, Easy to use, but a bit large
By KVV PhotoVerified Purchaser from Delaware on 2/12/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Portaiture
Pros:
Easy to clean, Easy to stuff in your bag, Lightweight, Reliable, Softens Light
Cons:
Bulky, Large
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast, Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

I wish this came in more than one size - it's a bit big to fit on the end of my accessory flash. I am sure some photogs appreciate that it can fit on smaller accessory flashes as well as larger lights, but I'd prefer the option of a smaller diffuser as well. Overall, it works well and is a good diffuser at this price point, making it attractive to hobbists and pro-sumers alike. Fits nicely in your gear bag - you can crumple it up, stuff it in, and pull it out when you need it. I like that it is machine washable too.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Inexpenesive handy accessory
By FibberVerified Purchaser from Chenango Forks, NY on 2/5/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography
Pros:
Lightweight, Softens Light, Strong Construction
Cons:
None
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

It is a handy accesssory

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Must have for multi flash
By Digital Photo DominikVerified Reviewer from Zürich, Switzerland on 1/7/2007
Pros:
Lightweight, Perfekt if you work with, Reliable

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

Perfekt if you work with a multiple set of Nikon SB600 and SB800. Looks like barebulb flash of a big studio flash. Comes allways with my flashs

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
love it love it love it
By The monkey king from Seattle WA on 10/18/2006
Pros:
Lightweight, Reliable, Softens Light

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

I use it at weddings all the time. much better than the G Fong Dong. Awesome product. The elastic in one broke so now I use that on a 7" strobe with a adustable elastic I made. very good value.

[12 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Total Rip-off
By ShootMe from Miami, Fl on 8/4/2006
Cons:
Poor Interface, Unreliable Storage, Weak Construction

Comments about Adorama Adorama Strobo-Socks, Nylon Fabric Diffuser for Portable Strobes, Pack of 2.:

Will cover your flash sensors, making it useless.
(Used with an sb-600)
5 minutes of use and the elastic broke down.
Has to be the cheapest material ever.
Stay away from this product.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.