Buy the Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas image
 
(based on 26 ratings)
Brand: Smith-Victor
Located in: Flash/Lighting, Continuous Output Lighting, Tungsten Units
Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 26 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Compatible(7), Consistent output(3), Easy to setup(15), Lightweight kit(13)
Best Uses:
Artificial lighting(9), General purpose(4), Indoors(4), Lighting(3), Night time(3)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(6), Semi-pro photographer(10)
 
The best lights I've purchased!
By RadRomeoVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 5/12/2010
Pros:
Compatible, Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

I use these lights for film making and they are wonderful.

 
good for the money
By spelkeyVerified Purchaser from eugene oregon on 9/22/2009
Pros:
Compatible, Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Cons:
Bulbs burned out immediat
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

For the money this lighting system works great. Unfortunately the bulbs burned out almost immediately after turning them on. Each bulb cost around[$]

 
Works great
By KathyLVerified Purchaser from Santa Barbara, CA on 8/13/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

Easy to put together and set up. Great price for a starter kit! The whole kit (3 lights & stands, two umbrellas) is heavy, and there's no carry-case. Runs hot but cools off quickly.

 
Good Value
By ShadownmssVerified Purchaser from Louisville, KY on 5/4/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

The kit does exactly what I needed. The build quality is good and seems pretty sturdy for a low end kit.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Basic basic, basic set. I mention basic?
By OpinionatedVerified Reviewer from TX on 3/9/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Cons:
Construction, Flimsy, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Lamp
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

First off, I bought this kit strictly to use as lamps in my Gallery. They are very, very lightweight, and the adjustments on them just don't feel solid. I can guarantee that these are not a long term lighting investment by any means. The umbrellas are about as basic, and cheap as they come. If you're in school, or need [...] lighting, this may work for you. If you need to move them, or readjust them on a regular basis, then start looking for a set that's a bit more sturdy. You'll be glad you did later.

 
As described but not impressed
By DavidVerified Purchaser from Huntsville, AL on 2/22/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup
Cons:
Color Cast, Short Lifespan
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

Kit arrived with one bulb nonfunctional. The rated life span is only 20 hours, I don't think I saw the bulb lifespan anywhere on the product description. Not very pleased with output or color cast.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Not bad for the price
By WisertimeVerified Purchaser from Durham, NC on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Lightweight Kit
Cons:
Fragile umbrellas
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

The set itself is decent. The stands are good and sturdy, but the umbrellas are flimsy. I tipped one over and the shaft snapped in half.The brackets for the lights you have to assemble. Not the best design in the world, but once you get them assmbled they work ok.My kit was sent with the wrong size parts, so I could not use the third light right away, one bulb had a broken filament and one of the light brackets could not be screwed down as the machining was flawed so you couldn't tighten the screw to secure it. Lights have 20 hrs lifespan only.They are decent for a beginner, but you might want to spend more for something a bit nice, perhaps with brighter lights, but they are ok for portraits. They are usable for what I purchased them for. [...]

 
Very Good Product
By Just starting outVerified Purchaser from Brooklyn, NY on 2/20/2009
Pros:
Compatible, Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Cons:
No carry bag, Short Lifespan
Best Uses:
Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

This a good starter kit for beginner photographers. The bulbs blew out quickly though and I wish it would've come with a carrying case. Other than that its a good product- easy to use and to set up and it does the job

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Exactly what you would expect
By GarnetVerified Purchaser from CT on 2/8/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup
Best Uses:
Portraits, Strobe Lighting
Describe Yourself:
Casual Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

The product presents exactly as one would expect for this great ENTRY level price. If you want to add to your lighting capabilities without being too spendy this is a great place to start.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Loving It!
By bunnijVerified Purchaser from Windsor, CT on 2/7/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

I am so happy with this product. It is easy to assemble and durable even though it is a lightweight kit. That was the reason we got it, easy to set up, easy to take down. You'll have to get your own duffle bag to carry it in, but other than that, no complaints. I have already recommended it to a number of colleagues.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
just great
By AGCVerified Purchaser from Atlanta on 2/6/2009
Pros:
Compatible, Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

I use it for family pictures, macro shots.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Awesome for just some basic studio work.
By Kristin BVerified Purchaser from Asheboro, NC on 2/6/2009
Pros:
Compatible, Lightweight Kit
Cons:
Not easy to break down
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Basic objects, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

This is perfect for the photographer that just wants a small setup for lighting basic objects. The biggest downfall is that it does not pack up and travel easily but works nice as a stay at home setup.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for its price
By AlanVerified Purchaser from san diego, ca on 2/6/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

It does its job at this price range

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Shed Some Light On A Great Bargain!
By Terry2070Verified Purchaser from Orange, Ca on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Compatible, Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits, Strobe Lighting, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

What a fantastic deal! I have a small studio and needed a lightweight light kit that I could move around and put away when the space would be needed for other purposes.

I was concerned about ordering the kit because the price seemed too good to be true but several photo shoots later, I am blown away by the increased quality of my work and the simplicity in which it is achieved.

I put together the kit without reading any instructions in less than twenty minutes and was able to put it away quickly after a shoot to make room.

Easily fits in an oversized duffle bag and travels well if need be.

Images shared by: Terry2070

Light Test

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Value and Utility
By ZippyVerified Purchaser from Ontario, CA on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Best Uses:
Photography
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

Great inexpensive set up for my home studio.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great for my purposes
By IdyDiVerified Purchaser from Moscow Idaho on 1/21/2009
Pros:
Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Best Uses:
Artificial Lighting, Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

I use these lights in my studio, and they're a great buy. I haven't been in business very long so can't speak to lifespan, but they serve my purposes quite well. Stable, easy to set up and adjust.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Very Good
By RichVerified Reviewer from Mesquite, NV on 1/19/2009
Pros:
Compatible, Easy Setup, Lightweight Kit
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

These are great startup lights. Very easy to assemble and they are very portable.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
great value!
By JoelVerified Purchaser from Los Angeles, CA on 12/30/2008
Cons:
Flimsy
Best Uses:
Indoors, Interviews
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

we are shooting interviews mostly, and this kit is an amazing deal for what we are doing. This is a great deal for the money! I recommend getting a case to protect the stands - they are pretty light,and could be damaged if they were inadvertently dented . . but the light weight makes them easy to maneuver of course.
also. . recommend the dimmers to go with it!

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Beginners Set
By divod000Verified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 12/29/2008
Best Uses:
General Use, Low Light, Night Time, Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

This is a very nice starting lighting studio kit for beginners! I'm a beginner and it was plenty enough for me. I just updated the bulbs to 500wts and it was perfect. I'm currently using this set for all my home based studio portraits photography. I really do enjoy the set, really easy to put together.

Images shared by: divod000

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product, Made with Product

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product, Using Product

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Excellent Product[...]
By Sheron the newbyVerified Purchaser from Lake Worth Florida on 9/3/2008
Pros:
Attach Securely, Durable, Good Color Value, Powerful
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoors, Night Time, Special Events
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

I use it for my photo shoots with family, friends and pets. These lights make all the difference in my end product. They can be a bit cumbursome, but I will work on that. I am growing all the time and will most likely increase the amount of items I order.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good Entry Level light Kit
By Tennessee River PhotographyVerified Purchaser from Savannah, TN on 8/24/2008
Pros:
Price
Cons:
Runs Hot, Weak
Best Uses:
General Use, Indoors
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

Good entry level light kit. Travels well. Corrigated case is what we call in Tennessee a cardboard box. Carry mine in a medium size duffle bag.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Pleasantly surprised
By Anj from Brick, NJ on 6/2/2008
Pros:
Quality for the price
Cons:
At this price -- nothing
Best Uses:
Indoors
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

I'm a professional graphic designer, and occassionally find myself in need of portrait, and product shots. This kit (combined with my DSLR) is a Godsend for those of us who need professional-looking shots, but can't afford/don't need the pro set-ups, which cost anywhere from a small fortune to a king's ransom. Add-ons are available, such as diffusion filters, color gels, and barn doors. Yes, the tripods are lightweight, but are fine for indoor use. All of the hardware seems to be of adequate quality. I haven't experienced any failures. If you're aware of what you're buying (and at this price, what can you realistically expect?), you won't be disappointed. I've read reviews for this kit that lament the lack of assembly instructions, but mine included a pamphlet that explained how to put the pieces together (not that it was even necessary). All of the components arrived in perfect condition -- ready for assembly and use. The only bad thing I can say about this set-up is that it's easy to trip over the tripods and cords, since you'll probably be paying more attention to your photo shoot than to where your equipment is positioned. Overall, my opinion is, BUY IT if you are an entry-level photographer, or, like me, have limited use for studio lighting. Serious photographers will, of course, outgrow this kit, although in the right hands it can yield outstanding results. For the money, you can't beat this deal -- it's a great introduction to lighting, and will probably serve you well for many years.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
It´s a good product but some fragile
By RosVerified Purchaser from Querétaro, México on 5/8/2007
Pros:
Good Color Value, Powerful
Cons:
Weak
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Time
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

This kit is good but some fragile. It´s no good for blowing day´s.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Beginner Light Set
By BillVerified Purchaser from Richmond, VA on 3/26/2007
Describe Yourself:
Getting started, Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Cons:
It's All Good
Best Uses:
Great studio lights, Lighting, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

I used it for lighting at a church for Easter Bunny pictures. It allowed me to not use the flash, and have great no shadow, consistant lighting. As a beginner the lights were easy to assemble and use, and they did a great job for me!

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
It is exactly what I wanted and needed
By TimVerified Purchaser from Salt Lake City, Ut on 2/6/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output
Cons:
no cons here
Best Uses:
Lighting, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

I have just started using it but it has been everything I was hoping it would be. I hope to use my light kit much more in the future but when I have used it , it has done all I would want it to do

[6 of 6 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great lighting equipment for the novice
By Bert BecerraVerified Purchaser from Panama, Panama on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Continuous Lighting, Lighting, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Smith-Victor Smith Victor KT750U 3-Light 750-Watt Thrifty Photoflood Kit with Umbrellas:

Nice construction, very portable and sturdy at the same time. The only thing I will change is the amount of power of the bulbs. Overall a good product, I use it all the time.

Images shared by: Bert Becerra

Photo taken using these lights

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Made with Product

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.