Buy the Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System. image
 
(based on 14 ratings)
Brand: Gary Fong
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.2 stars
(based on 14 reviews)
92% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(4), Durable(5), Easy to clean(5), Easy to use(4), Lightweight(12)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(5), General purpose(4), Lighting(4), Night photography(4), Photojournalism(4)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(4)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Works Great, When Not Falling Off Flash
By Nic Taylor from Bentonville, Arkansas on 2/25/2010
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Doesn't stay on flash
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

Great idea, terrible design flaw.

This diffuser works great and makes a big difference when it stays on the flash. I shoot weddings and had heard this recommended by a few photographers I've worked with. This thing doesn't keep up with the pace of weddings. If I turn the camera sideways the thing falls off the flash. I've tried using plastic ties and velcro, but to no avail.

I recently purchased the "upgraded"" gary fong diffuser that has tabs and ties to secure it to the flash. I would highly recommend that one, not this piece of junk.

 
Does the Job!!!
By "O"Verified Purchaser from WTBY,CT. on 2/21/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

This product works as advertized. I have used it for portraits,night photography and as fill flash. Very happy with the quality of pictures produced. Skins tones do look natural and colors even. Helps to eliminate dark shadows. It is ugly but it does the job.

 
Excellent Item!!! Works as advertised!!
By JemlnlxVerified Purchaser from New York, NY on 7/22/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Performance, Lightweight, Quality Construction
Cons:
Falls of my 430EX Often, Flimsy Design
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors
Describe Yourself:
Tech Savvy
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

This diffuser is awesome. You will definitely notice a big difference from using hard flash and even with a stofen-type product. The only complaint is that the opening doesn't fit tight against my 430EX flash and tends to fall off from time to time.

 
Great Diffusion!
By EvelynVerified Purchaser from Massachusetts on 6/25/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Quality Construction
Cons:
none
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Describe Yourself:
Mom of photo student
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

this is for my son, he is a SCAD photography student and he loves this.

 
beautiful results
By Kimmie BVerified Purchaser from Merrillville, IN on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Cons:
Kind of hard to get on
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

I labeled this product "kind of hard to get on" but that could also be because it is new and needs time to loosen up. I'm not sure yet. Otherwise it is a great product and I'm glad I purchased it.

 
Good Lighting Gear
By EdgarVerified Purchaser from Monterey Park, CA on 12/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits, Wedding/Event Photography
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II is a clip-on diffuser that softens the light of an external flash unit. Although some expensive umbrellas and reflectors are available, spending a lot is not necessary. Gary Fong C3 does the job beautifully. This add-on is more portable than umbrellas and other reflectors, yet provides a nice diffuse lighting effect.

 
A little overrated
By JlynnVerified Purchaser from Illinois on 9/5/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Clean
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

It needs to have some way to stay on the flash instead of just sliding on. It falls off if you tilt the camera downwards. It's not exactly what I expected...but I haven't been able to use it in a portrait setting yet, so I will be able to better judge it then.

 
Great Product
By adamnclumpVerified Purchaser from Phoenix, AZ on 7/23/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output
Best Uses:
Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

This was a great purchase. I just used it at wedding that would have been impossible without it. My only complaint is that I wish it had a some kind of velcro or strap to hold it tighter.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Love this thing!
By FotoSynthesis from NY on 3/12/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Cons:
can fall off easily
Best Uses:
General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

I really love this thing! I used it in very low light setting and the photos I took came out great. It really provides a nice amount of light. No one turned out looking like a deer in headlights. All the colors were soft and the objects in the background seemed to disappear. I would definitely recommend this product!

 
Highly Recommend!
By JapChinMommyVerified Purchaser from Tennessee on 2/21/2008
Pros:
Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

I used this diffuser with my Canon EOS XTi's 430EX flash to take some inside pictures. It took away the yellow-eye of my dogs! People appreciate the flash not going off in their eyes as well! It softened my pictures. Very impressed with the way the pictures turned out using it!

It also makes a great lantern when put over a small flashlight while the electricity is out! :)

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Tupperware move over!
By Dr HacnbushVerified Purchaser from Dix Hills, NY on 2/6/2007
Best Uses:
Lighting, Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Reliable, Softens Light, Strong Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

The first test picture I took was a candid of my 8 year old son doing his homework. Soft shadowless light. One of the best flash pictures I have ever taken. If I could only go back and reshoot all the other pictures taken without a light diffuser.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Large, but effective
By Finn McCoolVerified Purchaser from Spokane, WA on 2/5/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting
Pros:
Lightweight, Softens Light, Strong Construction
Cons:
Bulky
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

I've been using this for general photography and some product photos. It's large, but a very effective diffuser and softener.

[3 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
dont be fooled
By Denny's Digital PhotographyVerified Reviewer from werren, ar on 12/1/2006
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting
Pros:
Convenient Interface, Lightweight, Softens Light

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

when i first opened the pakage i thought " well i just wasted [...] bucks" then after watching the instructional video that came with it, i decided to give it a try on my next shoot. i was blown away by how good it works. come to find out it was the best [...] bucks ive ever spent, not the worst. cant wait till my next wedding>

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
A photographer's best flash friend
By DesVerified Reviewer from Duluth, GA on 11/22/2006
Best Uses:
Lighting, Night Photography, Photography, Photojournalism, Sports Photography
Pros:
Lightweight, Softens Light
Cons:
Bulky

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong C3 Cloud Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

This tool is unbelievable. The shadows nearly disappear and the skin texture of the subjects are so natural with this inverted dome. [...] This is a must have tool for weddings and studio-on-the-go photography.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.