Buy the Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System. image
 
(based on 9 ratings)
Brand: Gary Fong
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 9 reviews)
86% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Best Uses:
Fill flash(4), General purpose(3), Lighting(4), Portraits(3)
Pros:
Lightweight(6), Softens light(4)
Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional(3)

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simplify Your Life
By f/stopVerified Purchaser from Beaufort, NC on 4/8/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Improves Performance, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Shooting Indoors, Shooting Outdoors
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

If your not a gaget collector and want a broad range of excellant performance from a single device, then the lightsphere is a must. With most wedding shoots, you don't have much time for equipment changes. For all lighting conditions use the lightsphere and shoot RAW when ever you can.

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
One Incredible Piece Of Equipment
By F StopVerified Purchaser from Beaufort, NC on 3/30/2009
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

There are many diffusers on the market.This system is all you need for consistantprofessional photographs. [...].A Top Shelf Piece Of Equipment...A Top Shelf Instructional Guide for the Beginner to The Demanding Professional.

Images shared by: F Stop

Image Thumbnail

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Makes flash look like natural light!
By StarrToDowlerVerified Purchaser from High Point, NC on 1/2/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight
Best Uses:
General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits, Wedding/Event Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

I've used several types of flash diffusers in the past, but the Lightsphere is by far the best with the most consistent results.

 
Wow, it really works!
By keruiboVerified Purchaser from Ann Arbor, MI on 7/11/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable
Best Uses:
General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

I've always avoided using flash because I don't like the lighting effects. However, using this device is really simple and the results are fantastic. I'll no longer be leaving my flash at home!

The only downside is that the device doesn't fold or collapse for storage.

[1 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
not so sure...
By vermont photogVerified Purchaser from vermont on 6/15/2008
Cons:
index card better/cheaper
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

not sure this is worth much. easy to install, easy to fall off. sucks battery power. no better than the built in flash bounce card horizontally, might be better vertically but hard to say. too large to fit easily in gear bag.

 
Love It
By KimVerified Purchaser from Texas on 9/26/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography
Pros:
Lightweight, Softens Light
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

I really enjoy the way it soften the skin on my clinets faces

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Undecided about its worth
By Trudy from Townsend, DE on 7/14/2007
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting
Pros:
Flexiblestrong, Lightweight, Softens Light
Cons:
Bulky, Too expensive
Describe Yourself:
Semi-professional

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

After reading all the comments I felt sure this was the diffuser for me...then after receiving it and watching the CD I immediately ordered the cloud and the orange top....I was convinced by Gary's demonstration on the CD the power of this dome. Now I'm not too sure, I've did samples for comparison using only flash bouncing off ceiling, angle flash, with dome w/out top and then with top...I do notice that w/the top I see less shadows...which is great...I'm not all that sure though if the little difference I'm seeing is worth the price of this moderately made butter looking container that I'm sure most only cost cents to make...the orange top does put a hint of tungsten lighting to the picture adding warmth...in all fairness, I have to still explore with it. I guess simply I don't see the results Gary had in showing his pictures and the differences before and after as I do...his are remarkably great differences as mine are so slight at times, it is hardly noticable. Then again he probably was using a very expensive camera as mine is a Cano0n 30D, which isn't too shabby either. All and all, I'm still trying to decide if I think it is worth it, especially since I now own both cloud and clear and both tops.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Poorly Made...
By Ojo from NYC on 2/2/2007
Best Uses:
Lighting
Pros:
Lightweight, Softens Light
Cons:
Weak Construction
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

This item is great only because there is no other item like it. However, it is poorly made. For $[...] the finished quality of this simple plastic item should be more consistent and well made (a Hassleblad lens shade is $105, but at least it is well made). With this, you get a good one sometimes, other times you may one that is a bit warped, or the top dome does not fit in due to irregular rim (bad mold?). GARY, are you checking the quality control on these?

[15 of 15 customers found this review helpful]

 
Amazing, portable studio lighting!
By Scott Robert [...]Verified Reviewer from Los Angeles, California on 9/14/2006
Best Uses:
Best light diffuser, Fill Flash, Lighting, Night Photography, Photography, Photojournalism, Sports Photography
Pros:
Lightweight, Lotta bang for your buck, Reliable, Softens Light, Strong Construction

Comments about Gary Fong Gary Fong P3 Clear Lightsphere II, Inverted Dome Flash Diffusion System.:

I've used this product since it's inception and now it is such an integral part of my professional workflow. I am a wedding photographer that often works alone and I need camera outfits that are lightweight convenient and versatile. I travel the country and I can't afford the space to take cumbersome equipment with me. The Lightsphere gives me beautiful soft, diffused light anywhere! It is like using a studio soft box right on top of my camera. I use it off camera too for amazing results with just one 550ex flash. See link below. The Lightshpere is a integral part of my signature style. I don't dare leave home without it!


[...]

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.