Buy the Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft. image
 
(based on 11 ratings)
Brand: Metz
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
4.6 stars
(based on 11 reviews)
91% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(9), Durable(8), Easy to use(5), Fast recycling(9), Good power output(8)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(8), General purpose(10), Night photography(9), Photojournalism(7), Portraits(10)
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast(6), Semi-professional(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By Pentax EnthusiastVerified Purchaser from Minneapolis, MN on 8/9/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

I use the flash as P-TTL flash both on camera and wireless and in addition with wireless triggers in full manual mode. I have found the second reflector great for when using bounced flash to fill in eyes in portrait shots. Menu is easy once you learn its structure. Camera remembers settings when turned back on.

Only glitches I have discovered so far is that the camera built in flash has some difficulty in triggering it in wireless mode but if I use 360 as commander I have no problem.

Images shared by: Pentax Enthusiast

Bounced flash in P-TTL mode (with sec. ref.)

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

 
By all accounts an excellent flash, but?
By Uncle Bern'sVerified Reviewer from Cape Town, South Africa on 7/13/2009
Pros:
Durable, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

As an ardent Metz 45-CT1/CT4 user for many years, and after extensive research before deciding on a flash for my Nikon D3, I went with the 58AF-1N only to have the flash ready light not come on after 10 weeks of light use. All other info. is displayed on LCD. Although Metz Germany are taking their time to reply to my problem, I sincerely hope the problem is not serious and that I can add to all the rave reports when the problem is resolved?
In all the reviews I have seen, only one other 58AF-1 user was unhappy after reporting 2 new units "blown out"?

 
I like it!
By KenVerified Purchaser from Greensboro,NC on 6/26/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Cons:
Expensive
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Getting started
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

So far-very good

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Strong and Consistent
By PrestoVerified Purchaser from Jacksonville, AL on 5/4/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

When looking for a flash for my K20d, there were basically two choices. I was looking at the Pentax 540 and this flash. I did a lot of research and asking around about the best one for my uses. This flash kept coming up as the best, under the stipulation "if you have the money". When Metz offered the rebate on it, it became the stand out choice, and I'm glad I got this one. Knowing what I do now, I would pay the extra for this one without the rebate.

It is very powerful. I can bounce it off of most ceilings and still cover just about any room. The secondary fill flash also helps with this. I had no idea that the little secondary flash would be so useful, either. When bouncing the primary flash for portraits, you can set the secondary flash just strond enough to fill under the chin and nose, and eliminate the dark eye sockets from the subject.

When shooting outdoors, the flash is powerful enough to fill for portraits, even in strong sunlight.

I like the wide angle diffuser and bounce card that are hidden in the head as well. I don't have to carry around an index card and tape it to the head.

The only real drawback is the sheer size of the unit. It's a big flash. I don't mind the size and weight, though. It's just something to think about.

Overall, I think this is probably the best Pentax dedicated flash you can buy at the moment, and I have been very satisfied.

 
Worth the money
By SquareriggerVerified Purchaser from Virginia on 4/8/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

I owned the Pentax 360 and was looking for a flash with more power. I looked at the Pentax 540 and the Metz. The Metz was just a better product. It does all functions flawlessly and is very well built.

 
Solid Gear
By squareriggerVerified Purchaser from virginia on 4/1/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

I narrowed down my choices to the metz and the pentax 540. The Metz is just a better piece of kit.

 
amazing and fun flash
By steveeboyVerified Purchaser from Philly on 3/6/2009
Pros:
Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

Just got back into photography and this flash blew my mind with its integration with the camera--Pentax k100d, versatility, and ease of use. With both TTL cord and some ebay remote triggers, I have been having a field day doing some advertising work--shooting beer bottles, night time stuff, etc.
It will take an amateur like me years to really exploit this flash. Very impressed with its power and capabilities compared to my old-school Vivitar 2600!

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Shoot like a pro with Metz 58 AF
By Rod4RodgerVerified Purchaser from Atlanta, Georgia on 1/14/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Clean, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

I have taken about 2000 digital negatives with the Metz A58-1PS flash and my Pentax K10D camera. I process the DNGs with Adobe Camera Raw into high quality JPG prints. This flash is so precise that I rarely have to adjust white balance, brightness, or contrast. The recycle time is very good on new alkaline batteries, especially at shorter ranges. The unit is very high quality and using it was institutive after only a quick read through the manual. This flash will make photographers with limited technical knowledge shoot like the pros.

Shooting candid shots indoors using a Pentax 18-55mm zone lenses and the bounce feature with the reflector screen I was able to take three or four exposures on “auto feed” before the flash misfired due to lack of charge. The pictures were sharp with excellent color saturation and had no harsh shadows.

As a fill flash the exposure is nearly perfect and even at very wide angle there were no dead spots or dark edges. I shot several family portraits using the same 18-55mm zoom set to about 45mm with the flash pointed directly at the subject. The range was about ten to twelve feet on an overcast day and the fill results were excellent.

I shot a number of promotional pictures for the high school orchestra under florescent lights with the zoom set all the way to 18mm wide angle and direct flash to fill the shadows. The orchestra was spread out over an area about 75 feet wide by about 25 feet deep and I was about 40 feet away on a tall ladder. The pictures were sharp with excellent color. The flash spread more evenly from side to side and front to back than I expected. This required the full output so the recycle times were noticeable but still very short on new batteries. The white balance was not perfect but I credit that to the florescent lights and camera settings. It was easily corrected with the automatic setting on the Adobe Raw software.

I used the Metz flash with my K10D and 100-300mm Tamron zoom lenses to shoot candid shots of the orchestra kids for their annual. The power of the flash and automatic response to lenses position allowed me to capture excellent shots from long range. I got equally high quality results using the 18-55 Zoom at closer range. The shots ranged from fill to near complete darkness and all were equally high quality.

I shot a number of candid photos of a local rock band in a night club setting on three separate occasions. The results were so good that the band asked to use them in their promotional adds and on you-tube and a number of the ladies and couples in the audience asked for portraits. I credit the consistent quality of the flash with the great hit the contact sheets from earlier shows made and the requests for portraits and promo shots. So far the portraits made with the Pentax 18-55mm zoom, Pentax K10D, Metz A58-1PS flash, and Adobe Camera Raw have been as impressive as all the other pictures I have taken with this flash.

It is worth the money for the serious amateur/semi-professional. As I said, “This flash will make photographers with limited technical knowledge shoot like the pros.” I shoot better pictures than a lot of professionals and this is one of the finest pieces of equipment I have ever used, and I recommend even serious professionals give it a serious look.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Great Flash
By hojo802 from Los Angeles, CA on 4/29/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Cons:
Menu
Best Uses:
Back-Up, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Sports Photography
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

I have owned the Pentax 360 and 540 exclusively. I thought they were good; fairly good exposure but ocassional misses. Now that I have this flash, I have abandon those and use this Metz Flash exclusively. Since using this flash, I have not have a poor exposure shots. Every shot is right on. The unit is quiet. The only complaint I have is the menu. Everything has to be set in the menu, unlike the 360 and 540.

[4 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good lightning, solid build
By spotVerified Reviewer from Swiss on 4/16/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Fast Recycling, Quiet
Cons:
SoftbuttonsMenu
Best Uses:
General Use, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

I own a Pentax 540 and this flash. I would recommend the Metz over a Pentax. It feels better built and is more versatile than the Pentax. It also has a second flashlight and is a bit stronger.

Great PLUS: This flash can read the ISO and F Settings from the Cam when put in A Mode, so there is no need to do these settings manually in the flash when using A Mode.

On the negative side: All settings are done with "Softbuttons" in Menues (Pentax direct access) and this flash does only fire a Slave in P-TTL (Pentax can fire in M).

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Simple to use - Excellent Results
By The Crazy PhotographerVerified Reviewer from Indiana on 3/6/2008
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easily Interchangeable, Easy To Clean, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Quiet
Best Uses:
General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Metz Metz 58 AF-1PS Digial Shoe Mount Flash for Pentax & Samsung Digital SLR's, with PTTL, Wireless function & USB Upgradable, Guide Number 190, ISO 100 ft.:

I was looking for something to supplement the flash that is on my K10d and found a flash unit that far exceeds my expectations. Simply put the results I've gotten using the Metz 58 af-1 for my Pentax is absolutely a wonderful piece of technology.

I handle the photography for a local high school marching band, everything from competitions to photography for spirit wear. The results are phenomenal.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.