Buy the Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Nissin
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
78% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(7), Durable(7), Easy to use(8), Fast recycling(9), Good power output(8)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(7), General purpose(7), Night photography(6), Photojournalism(5), Portraits(5)
Describe Yourself:
Photo enthusiast(4)
 
I've said it before, flash is awesome !
By Scott B.Verified Reviewer from The Colony, Texas on 3/27/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Any type of event, Fill Flash, General Use, Indoor Outdoor, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits, Weddings
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

I just purchased my 2nd Di-866 flash 3 weeks ago and as I said back in 06/2010, you can't beat this speedlite. I took it to compare against Canon's580exII & the Di-866 is a millimeter or 2 bigger all the way around. Shooting continuously at full power the flash will fire every 2 to 3fps ! That's a fast recycle ! Some say it over exposes, neither of mine do it ! Some say the sub-flash is not auto it is manual. But all flashes with a sub-flash are set manual. The sub-flash has a 5 to 6 F/stop manual adjustable range. The Di-866 has a high speed sync mode from 1/320th to 1/8000. Di-866 has a total of 3 different wireless triggering modes from AV mode to Manual mode to E-TTL mode as Master or Slave. AWESOME ! Go to [@] to see how it compares to other flashes. Nissin has a optional battery magazine/holder where you can pre load 4 batteries and be ready to switch out the drained batteries for some freash ones. Like speed loading a 6 shooter revolver. You can also use a Nissin OR Canon optional external battery power pack that holds 6 or 8 batteries if you don't want the optional magazine type battery holder and you could easily double your shots if not even more ! I have bought now 2 Nissin Di866 for not too much more than the cost of 1 Canon 580exII speedlite ! This Nissin Di866 is awesome.

 
Great for the Price
By JamesStaffordPhotographyVerified Purchaser from Lake Worth, Fl on 1/13/2011
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

I use the flash for events and outdoor shooting.

 
Awesome unit ! Better than Canon !
By Scott B.Verified Reviewer from The Colony, Tx. on 6/18/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

This Unit is awesome and easy to use ! Way better than the Canon 430exII or 580exII ! And a lot less expensive. Plus the color display that rotates vertical or horizontal and don't forget the fill in sub-flash ! Two things that the Canon's don't have. I will buy another as soon as I can ! Don't miss out, save some money and go ahead and buy this unit !

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
I wanted to like this flash.
By NicoleVerified Reviewer from Minnesota on 4/21/2010
Pros:
Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Cons:
Noisy, Plastic Cheap feeling, Quit working
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

This flash sounded perfect for what I wanted. Good output. Ettl both on and off-camera (with the new pocket wizards). About half the price of Canon's 580II. However, it was not to be.

I went through two of these flashes. First was DOA and the second died in about 2 weeks of minimal use. Great concept. Terrible product.

 
my new flash
By MachellVerified Purchaser from The Colony Texa on 4/11/2010
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

I love this product and can't wait to put it to regular use.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Professional Quality well worth buying!
By Dr. CVerified Purchaser from Lawrenceville, GA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Powerful Output, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

I use this flash for general use. I find it great for an off-camera fill flash.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
better than the big boys
By Bobby PVerified Purchaser from Edison, NJ on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

no more fumbling with batteries, all go in same direction. When new set is needed battery holster pops in and out

[1 of 4 customers found this review helpful]

 
slave firing stopped working
By mainemonty from Portland Maine on 11/18/2009
Pros:
Powerful Output
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

Liked the power but I needed it to work in commander mode with my sb600 and D90...my unit stopped doing this after 2 weeks...so I returned...the guy at the store said people had been returning this model because of over-heating

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
great value
By doubleVerified Reviewer from New York, NY on 8/13/2009
Pros:
Auto rotate color display, Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Firmware update, Great price point, Master slave compatible, Powerful Output, Quick exchange battery, Usb connector, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

great piee of flash. never seen something like that before. has an auto rotate color display like my iphone! realy cool - and easy to use and pro performane. works perfetly with any other flash as master or slave. compare the price to sb 900 or 580.

[9 of 9 customers found this review helpful]

 
its a lexus badged as toyota
By flasher from los angeles, CA on 7/30/2009
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable, Easy To Use, Fast Recycling, Powerful Output, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky, Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Photojournalism, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Nissin Nissin Di866 Digital Flash for Canon Digital SLR & Powershot Hotshoe Cameras, Guide #198, with Zoom, Bounce & Power Ratio Features:

so far better than 580EXII :)

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.