Buy the Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting. on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting. image
 
(based on 8 ratings)
Brand: Sigma
Located in: Flash/Lighting, On Camera and Slave Flashes, Shoe Mount Flashes
Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
2.9 stars
(based on 8 reviews)
50% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(4), Fast recycling(5), Lightweight(7), Strong construction(3)
Cons:
Inconsistent output(4)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(4), Lighting(3), Photography(5)
 
Quality Flash for Budget Photographer
By Walking Pine TreeVerified Reviewer from Fort Worth, TX on 5/13/2007
Describe Yourself:
Enthusiast going Pro
Pros:
Batteries Last a while, Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.:

I have had this product for about a month and I think it is a Quality Flash for a low price.

I have used the Sigma EF-500 flash for a wedding, and it lighted the alter part or the church very well. The output seems to be consistent, or at least very close. The rate of recycling couldn't keep up with 3 fps, but is still has a fast recycling rate. The flash is somewhat noisy, but not that Noisy. The flash comes with a stand and a small bag.

This flash doesn't have a LCD, but it never says anywhere that it does. This Sigma flash seems to very modern and upto date to me.

I give the Sigma EF-500 flash 4 stars because it is Good Stuff, and it could be better. It could of had a PC outlet or an outlet for a Cord to go to a bigger battery or to the wall for those really long shoots.

This Sigma EF-500 flash is very good, with lots of features packed in, for a low price.

 
Good buy for the money.
By JackVerified Purchaser from Joliet,ILL on 2/17/2007
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Photography, Wedding photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.:

I recently purchased this flash to do a wedding because my other flash didn't have enough power for the dark church. The Sigma had plenty. The pictures looked fine and most of all the bride and her family were very happy. I would buy any Sigma product without hesitation.

 
Works Fine
By JKAVerified Reviewer from Kokomo, IN on 2/14/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Lighting, Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.:

I've had this flash for more than 3 years. It's never failed me. I also had a Canon 380EX. I sold the Canon 380EX because it did not perform as well as the Sigma. I've used this flash on the 20D, Digital Rebel, 10D, Rebel XT, and Rebel XTi. It performed fine on all these cameras.

 
it works as expected.
By Alex the cat.Verified Purchaser from Las Vegas on 2/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Casual user
Pros:
Consistent Output, Fast Recycling, Lightweight, Strong Construction
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Night Photography
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.:

I'm satisfied.

 
Spend the extra bucks for a Nikon!!
By Gadget MasterVerified Purchaser from Vallejo, Ca. on 2/12/2007
Describe Yourself:
Hobbyist/Enthusiast
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Inconsistent Output, Weak Construction
Best Uses:
Lighting, Photography
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.:

13 months after purchase, the unit stopped working. It worked good while in operation but will not purchase this item again due to very short life span. In contrast, I have had my Vivitar 283 for over 3o years and it still great works.

 
Sigma Flash
By Photog DaveVerified Purchaser from Bakersfield, CA on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Cheap, Lightweight
Cons:
Inconsistent Output, Reliability, Slow Recycling
Best Uses:
Amateur photographers, Light use
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.:

This flash does not have consistent output. Sometimes it darts light spots instead of lighting up the subject area. Sometimes it stops working all together. Basically, you get what you pay for. It's cheap, so if you're only using it once in a while, it's fine. But, for professionals, just pay the extra for the Speedlite. That's what we just upgraded to.

 
Not what I expected
By victor jVerified Purchaser from San Diego, CA on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Fast Recycling
Cons:
Heavy, Inconsistent Output
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Photojournalism
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.:

Having used Sigma products in the past I was dissapointed with the performance of this flash. I should have spent the extra hundred bucks for the super 500.

 
Not a good performer
By PhotosByCoelhoVerified Purchaser from San Antonio Texas on 2/5/2007
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Inconsistent Output
Best Uses:
Photography
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Sigma Sigma EF-500 ST - DG Shoe Mount Flash for Nikon AF -D, Guide Number of 165 feet / 50 meter at 105mm Setting.:

Very disappointed in the performance of this unit. I will look further and do more research to buy another flash that I can count on for consistent performance. Mechanical performance is noisy and slow with too many errors, having to restart falsh. Not pleased at all with this unit.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.