Buy the Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes on http://www.adorama.com Print This PagePrint This Page
Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes image
 
(based on 10 ratings)
Brand: Orbis
Located in: Flash/Lighting
Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes
Review Snapshot®
Avg. Customer Rating:
 
3.9 stars
(based on 10 reviews)
80% of respondents would recommend this to a friend.

Customers most agreed on the following attributes:

Pros:
Consistent output(3), Easy to use(5), Lightweight(8), Versatile(4)
Cons:
Heavy / bulky(5)
Best Uses:
Fill flash(4), General purpose(3), Portraits(9)
Describe Yourself:
Pro photographer(3), Semi-pro photographer(3)
Was this a gift?:
No(3)

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Nice Ringflash for Certain Applications
By bs-photographyVerified Purchaser from Birmingham on 3/7/2011
Pros:
Easy to Use, Lightweight
Cons:
Takes Up Free Hand
Best Uses:
Candids, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

This product works great when used as intended, for quick and easy shadowless photography. I've used it to shoot candids at parties and events, but primarily as portrait photography when a ringflash look is desired. Had hoped to use the attachment arm to free up my left hand, however, I've found it much easier to hold the unit in my left hand which makes manual focus impossible as others have stated. The unit fits snuggly on both SB-600 and SB-900, but when attached to the arm and a tripod the flash tends to easily bend under the weight, making it hard to get perfectly centered up around the lens. A high quality, long sync cable is a must.

 
Expensive piece of plastic that rocks
By DerekVerified Purchaser from Fort Collins, CO on 3/6/2011
Pros:
Easy To Pack, Easy to Use, Lightweight, Reliable
Cons:
Bulky, expensive
Best Uses:
Macro, Portraits, Sports/Action, Weddings/Events
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

This is a very useful if expensive piece of plastic. It's use is very intuitive, very easy to do. Just get an ettl/ittl cord and you're all set to really get cracking. This works awesomely for macro shots- I frequently hold it to the side to provide directional lighting. The same goes for portraits- it provides a very nice even light, on axis or off, that wraps beautifully. I should note that I've damaged mine through dropping it, and customer service with Orbis was awesome. I asked about proper repairs and they got back to me very fast and sent me a new strap (one of my original clips failed, causing this particular drop). I don't think the product is weakly made, but it's a big piece of hollow plastic so be somewhat gentle. There are lots of DIY ringflashes out there, and some of them work decently, so if you're on a tight budget look around. Otherwise this is a great tool.

[1 of 1 customers found this review helpful]

 
Luving new Light
By Anthony BrownVerified Purchaser from Wappingers Fall New york on 10/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Night Photography, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Was this a gift?:
No
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

Different at first but once you get a feel for it. You soon fall in luv with the light it produces. Then once you learn to put it off camera you have a great soft light source.

Images shared by: Anthony Brown

K.S. off camera on light stand

Image Thumbnail

K.S. Normal setup using ETTL

Image Thumbnail
 
Great supplement for portrait photograph
By VijayVerified Purchaser from Gainesville VA on 4/11/2010
Pros:
Great pictures
Cons:
Bulky, Flimsy mount, Not Interchangeable, Stay close to subject
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Semi-pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

Cumbersome mount . . . but once mounted, pictures taken from close proximity turn out great!

Due to the dispersion factor one needs to adjust the e/v / exposure compensation settings to +1 or +1.5.

Cannot easily swtich between taking portrait pictures to regular pictures on the fly.

Also adjusting the zoom could become an issue.

ONE SHOULD USE an alumimum mounting bracket - to avoid cursing.

Images shared by: Vijay

Catch light could be an issue . . .

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

Great quality

Image Thumbnail

Tags: Using Product

[0 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
Orbis ring flash was a real disappointme
By Roy, the otherbestmanVerified Purchaser from Leland, Ms on 1/12/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Cons:
Difficult to use
Best Uses:
Photojournalism
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
No, I would not recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

would not fit over my lenses as I expected. Quality of light was disappointing

[2 of 2 customers found this review helpful]

 
Good for the price, Some inconvenience
By Bob and his toysVerified Purchaser from Chatham, NJ on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Durable
Cons:
Bulky, Heavy
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

Orbis Ringflash works well with Canon 580 flash and 5D Mk II with 24-70 lens, giving nice shadowless photos. Have also used it with Sigma 50mm f1.4. Primarily I use the RingFlash with the Orbis bracket which adds to its convenience. It's a little loose and can move switches on the lens such as changing from auto to manual focus while obstructing the manual focus ring. The looseness doesn't affect the photos, though. For the money, it's OK and I would recommend this item provided that you pay attention to annoyances from the floppyness.

 
Love this ring-flash
By JimVerified Purchaser from Brackney, PA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Lightweight
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Photo Enthusiast
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

Love the effects of this ring-flash

 
Great product
By psbVerified Purchaser from VA on 1/10/2010
Pros:
Consistent Output, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
Bulky
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, General Use, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Pro Photographer
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

Outstanding product for portraits.

[3 of 3 customers found this review helpful]

 
The Orbis is "o"mazing!!
By Marcus of Boyd PhotographyVerified Reviewer from Berlin, NJ on 9/23/2009
Pros:
Durable, Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Best Uses:
Fill Flash, Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

I love it! My clients love it! The Orbis Ring Flash is one of the best (if not the best!) photo accessories I have ever used. The effect of a ring flash that usually costs three or four times more by using your existing hot shoe flash… Priceless! Set up is simple & easy to pack with your gear. There are so many uses for this product, great innovation! I cant' wait to get my hands on the Orbis Arm next!

[5 of 5 customers found this review helpful]

 
Spectacular!
By PSB from Virginia on 5/18/2009
Pros:
Easy To Use, Lightweight, Versatile
Cons:
"arm" not available yet
Best Uses:
Portraits
Describe Yourself:
Professional
Bottom Line:
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend

Comments about Orbis Orbis Ring Flash Attachment, for Use with Existing Flash / Strobe, "One Size" Fits Most Flashes:

Buy it. There's not much else to say. For the price, one can't do any better.

Powered by PowerReviews
Copyright © 2011 Adorama All Rights Reserved. Do not republish contents.